Author Topic: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO  (Read 577929 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8392
  • Country: gb
  • Country: gb
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #400 on: February 27, 2014, 09:19:53 pm »
@RichardK,

I have thanked you for your efforts previously but wanted to say thank you again for the amazing progres you have been making. I am no coder, so have no idea how much work is involved in producing your software application, but I feel sure it will be a lot ! Your superb efforts, and the speed with which you have developed this software are greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Aurora
 

Offline jun

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #401 on: February 28, 2014, 01:09:24 am »
Hello, I am new to electronics, and wanted a cheap oscilloscope so I can see if this is a field I want to invest in. However after receiving it today I found out that the software that came with it doesn't work with my computer. So I would like to thank you for your work on this software (and for enabling me to debug my circuits!) So far it works fantastically and if I happen to find any bugs I will let you know.

Thanks again,
     -Jun
 

Offline DarrenS

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #402 on: February 28, 2014, 12:37:36 pm »
@RichardK

I just wanted to add my thanks to everyone else's for the work you've done on this software so far.

I'm just getting into the hardware side of things (my day job is software engineering specialising in UI development for financial markets which I've been doing for the last 20+ years) and I wanted a cheap entry level scope. I was initially put off the 6022BE because of the rubbish stock software until I came across this thread and the work you've been doing. As a direct consequence of your Open6022BE software I bought the hardware :)

Keep up the good work and I look forward to seeing the project on sourceforge/github if all goes to plan.

Thanks,
Darren
 

Offline sandos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #403 on: February 28, 2014, 07:23:21 pm »
It now works very well for me too!

There is one thing which is worse compared to the stock software: triggers go crazy at 48Mhz, and this I know, but with stock it always start working again at 16Mhz. In your software I have to slow down a lot for triggering to be reliable again.
 

Offline sandos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #404 on: February 28, 2014, 07:45:01 pm »
Also, surely this should behave a lot more like the logic analyzers based on ez-usb, ie. once below the USB speed threshold you have an "infinite" buffer on the PC end, and that should mean 24Mhz.

I wonder if the http://sigrok.org/wiki/Fx2lafw firmware could be made to run on this? I understand the chip is in the same family...
 

Offline Mark_O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: us
  • Country: us
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #405 on: February 28, 2014, 10:03:25 pm »
I did add a loaded question though about the pre-trigger acquisition  >:D

Are you sure?  I searched for 6022BE issues, and didn't see it.  Just someone trying to find drivers.

I did register there, but wasn't able to submit my application.  I had to 'sumbit' it.  ;)  1+1 = 10.
 

Offline pickle9000

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2132
  • Country: ca
  • Country: ca
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #406 on: February 28, 2014, 10:06:41 pm »
 

Offline Mark_O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: us
  • Country: us
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #407 on: February 28, 2014, 10:12:22 pm »
As a direct consequence of your Open6022BE software I bought the hardware :)

I am quite sure you won't be the last to say that.  As the word spreads, I'm confident Hantek will sell a lot more of these units than they were in the past.
 

Offline Mark_O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: us
  • Country: us
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #408 on: February 28, 2014, 10:15:04 pm »
It's there

http://www.hantek.org/asken/iaskdetail.aspx?id=2014022803412937

Thanks, pickle!  I see that Hantek's web software works about as well as their DSO software.  ;)

http://www.hantek.org/asken/iasksearch.aspx?word=6022BE&submit=Search does NOT find it. 

Though it can be plainly seen if you navigate to the "DSO-5200 USB" Section.  Gee, why didn't I think of that?
 

Offline Mark_O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: us
  • Country: us
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #409 on: February 28, 2014, 10:19:55 pm »
Also, surely this should behave a lot more like the logic analyzers based on ez-usb, ie. once below the USB speed threshold you have an "infinite" buffer on the PC end, and that should mean 24Mhz.

The units you're referring to are single-channel.  (Two channel units do NOT run at 24MHz.)  Remember, the 6022BE is running two channels, so 16MSa/sec sampling is at 32 MB/sec.  (Also, there is no 24 MHz option in the Hantek DLL.  It goes directly from 48MHz to 16.)
 

Offline Mark_O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: us
  • Country: us
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #410 on: February 28, 2014, 10:27:11 pm »
There is one thing which is worse compared to the stock software: triggers go crazy at 48Mhz, and this I know, but with stock it always start working again at 16Mhz. In your software I have to slow down a lot for triggering to be reliable again.

How far do you have to slow down?  (And is it really the slowing down that stabilizes it?  Or just that some time has passed, and the buffers have had time to flush?  Probably not related, but thought I'd ask.)
 

Offline sandos

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #411 on: February 28, 2014, 10:38:38 pm »
Also, surely this should behave a lot more like the logic analyzers based on ez-usb, ie. once below the USB speed threshold you have an "infinite" buffer on the PC end, and that should mean 24Mhz.

The units you're referring to are single-channel.  (Two channel units do NOT run at 24MHz.)  Remember, the 6022BE is running two channels, so 16MSa/sec sampling is at 32 MB/sec.  (Also, there is no 24 MHz option in the Hantek DLL.  It goes directly from 48MHz to 16.)

I am aware, but does disabling a channel on the 6022 not mean its single-channel, or is the USB part unaffected maybe?

 

Offline Mark_O

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 937
  • Country: us
  • Country: us
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #412 on: February 28, 2014, 10:58:51 pm »
The units you're referring to are single-channel.  (Two channel units do NOT run at 24MHz.)  Remember, the 6022BE is running two channels, so 16MSa/sec sampling is at 32 MB/sec.  (Also, there is no 24 MHz option in the Hantek DLL.  It goes directly from 48MHz to 16.)

I am aware, but does disabling a channel on the 6022 not mean its single-channel, or is the USB part unaffected maybe?

No, disabling a channel on the 6022 UI doesn't make it single-channel (unfortunately).  AFAICT (from my reading some time back), the Hantek DLL has no option to disable either channel, so, as you say, the USB part is unaffected.  It would be nice if you could double the speed by turning off one channel.  But the driver that gets loaded into the 6022BE would also have to support that transfer mode.

Perhaps I missed something, and Richard will tell me I'm FOS.  :D
« Last Edit: February 28, 2014, 11:01:32 pm by Mark_O »
 

Offline RichardK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #413 on: March 01, 2014, 02:11:40 am »
The units you're referring to are single-channel.  (Two channel units do NOT run at 24MHz.)  Remember, the 6022BE is running two channels, so 16MSa/sec sampling is at 32 MB/sec.  (Also, there is no 24 MHz option in the Hantek DLL.  It goes directly from 48MHz to 16.)

I am aware, but does disabling a channel on the 6022 not mean its single-channel, or is the USB part unaffected maybe?

No, disabling a channel on the 6022 UI doesn't make it single-channel (unfortunately).  AFAICT (from my reading some time back), the Hantek DLL has no option to disable either channel, so, as you say, the USB part is unaffected.  It would be nice if you could double the speed by turning off one channel.  But the driver that gets loaded into the 6022BE would also have to support that transfer mode.

Perhaps I missed something, and Richard will tell me I'm FOS.  :D

The software acquires both channel data at the same time, from the application, to the HTMarch.dll all the way down to the driver... Trust me, I went down the rabbit hole and almost didn't make it back out  :scared:

When you "disable" a channel, all you are doing is simply not rendering the data anymore... The software is still acquiring it and storing it into memory, it's just not calling the Draw Wave function until you enable the channel again.

As far as I know, down to the driver level, it's not possible to get only one channel's worth of data, they come bundled.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2014, 04:43:50 am by RichardK »
 

Offline KindleFlame

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #414 on: March 03, 2014, 02:28:53 am »
Another thanks to RichardK from a newcomer, I guess. I'm an international ece student needing a cheap portable scope, and this scope might just be on the edge of measuring SPI traces.

And honestly, I'm buying it only because of your contributions to the software, making it usable. Thanks! Tell me if I can buy you a beer somewhere.

On something more helpful and the only contributions I can make, minor typo.  :D
« Last Edit: March 03, 2014, 03:13:48 am by KindleFlame »
 

Offline RichardK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #415 on: March 03, 2014, 03:56:49 am »
I noticed that the Voltcraft DSO-2020 is the exact same thing as the 6022BE, and the software looks identical, however due to code like below:

Code: [Select]
HANDLE GetDeviceHandle(WORD DeviceIndex)
{
 char Src[63];
 char FileName[63];
 memset(&Src, 0, 63u);
 memset(&FileName, 0, 63u);

 //Create Device Identifier
 sprintf(Src, "d6022-%d", DeviceIndex);
 strcat(FileName, "\\\\.\\");
 strcat(FileName, Src);

 HANDLE Hnd = CreateFileA(FileName, GENERIC_WRITE, FILE_SHARE_WRITE, NULL, OPEN_EXISTING, NULL, NULL);
 if(Hnd != (HANDLE)-1 && Hnd)
 {
CloseHandle(Hnd);
return NULL;
 }

 //Return Handle
 return Hnd;
}

Even though the hardware, firmware and software are pretty much identical, the code used to get the device handle for a 6022BE will fail when it's looking for a DSO2020 due to the different hardware IDs.

If I ever get the HTMarch.dll fully reversed engineered (I have partially reversed it so far) then I can make Open6022BE support the re-branded hardware as well.

I downloaded the Voltcraft DSO-2020 software and all the files ironically have the same names, HTDisplayDll, HTMarch, etc... however the HTMarch.dll has the different Hardware ID: "d2200-%d"
« Last Edit: March 03, 2014, 04:37:27 am by RichardK »
 
The following users thanked this post: apparentvj

Offline frenky

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 965
  • Country: si
  • Country: si
    • Frenki.net
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #416 on: March 03, 2014, 07:56:15 am »
Hi.

Perhaps this will help... Cypress usb chip reads VID/PID from EEPROM chip.
It's easy to read and change this VID/PID values: http://www.jwandrews.co.uk/2011/12/saleae-logic-analyser-clone-teardown-and-reprogramming/

I've done it successfully on my usb scope Hantek 5200A (because it stopped working) and it has the same usb chip & eeprom setup, just different values.
 

Offline Matchless

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: za
  • Country: za
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #417 on: March 03, 2014, 11:53:39 am »
RichardK,
              I have a list of some little funnies I have noted to date. I am running Win8 and your latest binary. Some are just typos, some are issues that I have had from start, but have listed all as they still seem to be a problem:

1) If full screen is selected the GUI does not display the menu, tool bar and button bar.
Pressing the Esc button returns correctly to smaller display with toolbars and controls panel.
Clicking the small top left hand icon and selecting Restore the display is smaller, but no toolbars or controls are shown,
you have to right click on the display and select Windows Mode to get your toolbar and controls back.

2) Noise issue on base noise with probes grounded still exist:
  Settings: Both probes grounded to front ground lug, set to X1, 500uS, both channels 20mV set Zoom to level 19
                 Ch1                     Ch2
   20mV     Noise              No Noise
   50mV     Noise              No Noise
  100mV    Noise              No Noise
  200mV    Noise spikes   Noise spikes
  500mV    Noise              Noise
      1V       Noise              Noise
      5V       No Noise         No Noise
    10V       No Noise         No Noise
 
3) Autoset is not taking one to best settings option, always to 2.000uS only (I think you are aware of this)

4) Trigger Mode Dropdown box has only one selection. Why have a dropdown then?

5) Corporation is mistyped in About

6) Trigger Sweep One shot freezes waveform display, shows "Stop" and red led flashes on device. Unable to resume if setting is changed back
to Normal or Automatic, but resumes if Factory default is pressed after changing back to Normal or automatic. Pressing Autoset also restarts
the program after freezing.

8) When placing a cross, vertical or horizontal cursor line without Enabled, the cursors are placed, but needs two clicks on None to remove.
The automatic placing of cursors seem a bit funny with "Enabled".

9) Auto Setup (Toolbar menu) and Auto Settings (Icon) are the two different names for the same thing.

10) Waveform type is called Vector in the toolbar menu and Line in the icon button menu for the same thing.

11) Print preview screen underlines the words when typing in Notes, can the underline be removed?

12) Can colors be changed in Print Preview just for the printout?

13) When loading Factory settings the window asks to confirm and "wan't" is mistyped in this window.(already reported by OP)

Hoping this feedback helps you.

Thanks again for what you are doing!
Regards
Matchless
 

Offline RichardK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #418 on: March 03, 2014, 04:39:32 pm »
1) If full screen is selected the GUI does not display the menu, tool bar and button bar.
Pressing the Esc button returns correctly to smaller display with toolbars and controls panel.
Clicking the small top left hand icon and selecting Restore the display is smaller, but no toolbars or controls are shown,
you have to right click on the display and select Windows Mode to get your toolbar and controls back.

Not able to replicate.

Quote
2) Noise issue on base noise with probes grounded still exist:
  Settings: Both probes grounded to front ground lug, set to X1, 500uS, both channels 20mV set Zoom to level 19
                 Ch1                     Ch2
   20mV     Noise              No Noise
   50mV     Noise              No Noise
  100mV    Noise              No Noise
  200mV    Noise spikes   Noise spikes
  500mV    Noise              Noise
      1V       Noise              Noise
      5V       No Noise         No Noise
    10V       No Noise         No Noise

No idea why the stock software is behaving differently.

Quote

3) Autoset is not taking one to best settings option, always to 2.000uS only (I think you are aware of this)

I am aware, the Autoset is going to need to be tweaked at some point, it's very quirky right now.

Quote
4) Trigger Mode Dropdown box has only one selection. Why have a dropdown then?

I am just mirroring the stock software, for thoroughness... Maybe Hantek plans on implementing other trigger modes some day? Hopefully along with pre-trigger Acquisition.

Quote
5) Corporation is mistyped in About

Fixed.

Quote
6) Trigger Sweep One shot freezes waveform display, shows "Stop" and red led flashes on device. Unable to resume if setting is changed back
to Normal or Automatic, but resumes if Factory default is pressed after changing back to Normal or automatic. Pressing Autoset also restarts
the program after freezing.

Not sure, have to investigate this further.

Quote
8) When placing a cross, vertical or horizontal cursor line without Enabled, the cursors are placed, but needs two clicks on None to remove.
The automatic placing of cursors seem a bit funny with "Enabled".

Unable to reproduce this issue... Not able to place any line-style cursors without Enabled, and when line-style cursors are Enabled, clicking None once removes them.

Quote
9) Auto Setup (Toolbar menu) and Auto Settings (Icon) are the two different names for the same thing.

Fixed.

Quote
10) Waveform type is called Vector in the toolbar menu and Line in the icon button menu for the same thing.

Fixed.

Quote
11) Print preview screen underlines the words when typing in Notes, can the underline be removed?

Just mirroring stock software, will add an option to remove underline.

Quote
12) Can colors be changed in Print Preview just for the printout?

Not yet, perhaps soon :)

Quote
13) When loading Factory settings the window asks to confirm and "wan't" is mistyped in this window.(already reported by OP)

Fixed.

Thanks for the feedback :)
 

Offline Matchless

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: za
  • Country: za
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #419 on: March 03, 2014, 05:24:27 pm »
Thanks,  I will try those that you cannot reproduce on another PC when an opportunity comes along. That full screen really has me puzzled.
Thanks my list is much shorter now :-+
Regards
Matchless
 

Offline Matchless

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: za
  • Country: za
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #420 on: March 03, 2014, 08:58:42 pm »
RichardK,
               I had a look at the cursors again and hopefully I have described the issue a bit better.

When placing a cross, vertical or horizontal cursor line without clicking "Enabled", the cursors are placed, but needs two clicks on None to remove.
Cross does not place a cursor without clicking “Enabled” the first time, but if you try a second time it places a cursor
Both horizontal and vertical place a cursor first try without clicking “Enabled” These cursors do not go away when you click “None”, but if you try clicking “None” a second time the cursors are removed.
The automatic placing of cursors seem a bit funny with "Enabled".

If you only click "Enabled" you get a Cross cursor without selecting Cross, Horizontal or Vertical?

Hope this helps you to reproduce this.

Thanks!




Regards
Matchless
 

Offline RichardK

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 157
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #421 on: March 03, 2014, 10:20:34 pm »
RichardK,
               I had a look at the cursors again and hopefully I have described the issue a bit better.

When placing a cross, vertical or horizontal cursor line without clicking "Enabled", the cursors are placed, but needs two clicks on None to remove.
Cross does not place a cursor without clicking “Enabled” the first time, but if you try a second time it places a cursor
Both horizontal and vertical place a cursor first try without clicking “Enabled” These cursors do not go away when you click “None”, but if you try clicking “None” a second time the cursors are removed.
The automatic placing of cursors seem a bit funny with "Enabled".

If you only click "Enabled" you get a Cross cursor without selecting Cross, Horizontal or Vertical?

Hope this helps you to reproduce this.

Thanks!

I just made some changes to that code so when you click Cross, Horizontal or Vertical and the Line mode isn't enabled, it will enable it for you.

This should clear up any issues. *fingers crossed*

I also made some changes to the fullscreen/restore code to sleep for a bit (to let threads catch up) and to let the main thread process any unhandled messages... This is the only thing I can think might correct it, but it's hard to tell if it's going to work or not because I am not able to replicate it here.
« Last Edit: March 03, 2014, 10:28:41 pm by RichardK »
 

Offline Matchless

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: za
  • Country: za
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #422 on: March 04, 2014, 06:43:26 am »
Thanks, I will test when the next binary is available!
Regards
Matchless
 

Offline pickle9000

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2132
  • Country: ca
  • Country: ca
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #423 on: March 04, 2014, 07:11:56 am »
Has anyone checked out the actual screen update rate and blanking time? I know it will vary. I'm not sure if the term "blanking time" is correct for a usb scope. I mean the minimum amount of time between captures.
 

Offline Matchless

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: za
  • Country: za
Re: Hantek 6022BE 20MHz USB DSO
« Reply #424 on: March 07, 2014, 05:23:20 pm »
I have tried to do some further work on the user manual for RichardK's OPEN6022BE. This is only the part that describes the use of the menu items. There are some items I am not clear on, due to my limited and very rusty experience with oscilloscopes. Those are in red and I will appreciate any feedback, especially some help with describing those functions still pending.
The Document is in .docx format.

Thanks in advance.

Download: http://jmp.sh/q0RHv19
Regards
Matchless
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf