Author Topic: Help needed  (Read 5903 times)

Offline Allar8Topic starter

Help needed
« on: December 26, 2015, 11:26:56 am »
Hello guys,
I've read your forum quite a bit but it was very hard for me to find what I was looking for, so I decided to post and ask directly to people more expert than me, sorry if my question will be stupid or if there was alredy an answer somewhere.

I'm actually no expert in electronic so forgive me in advance, but I would like to measure the current used by many of my woodworking machines (mostly monophase) which varies according to speed and usage, so I need to make actual measures to understand how they behave.
I was trying to find a solution to this problem and it came to my mind that there are multimeters, or maybe clamp ammeters, who can log data and could help me analyze the current graph on a pc later and have a clearer idea of what is going on when I do certain tasks. However I came to the conclusion that all those devices work that way only when connected to a PC, which is something that I would like to avoid, and those with internal storage are really too expensive for me.
There's no way to log the data for example on a usb pen drive or something like that?
Or maybe there is an instrument that could make such measures and let me access to a way to store the measured data?
I hope to have expressed the matter in an understandable way, I'm an italian girl so english is not my mother language :)

Maybe you know something that could work for this job and could me a suggestion about what to do to solve the problem.
Thank you very much to everyone and merry Christmas to all!  ;D

Offline Denton.Hess

• Semiconductor Equipment Maintenance Tech
Re: Help needed
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2015, 12:11:53 pm »
No solution to offer at this time, as I am working on a similar type data logging problem.