Author Topic: how do you remove a stuck tektronix 5-series TM504 plugin?  (Read 7447 times)

Offline linux-worksTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • netstuff
how do you remove a stuck tektronix 5-series TM504 plugin?
« on: March 27, 2014, 01:23:02 am »
I bought a tm504 tektronix chassis from ebay and one of the modules has a broken off puller, at the bottom of the module.  I'm hoping there's a way to get it out of the chassis somehow?

I'm brand new to this chassis series, this is the first I've touched one.  does that pull tab thing also function as a power-on switch for the module?  the one module that is still stuck in the chassis does not seem to fully power on; one light comes on but I don't see an led 7seg display showing any life signs.  so I'm not sure if that pull tab is just a mechanical thing or if it also has electrical use as well.

Offline MarkL

• Supporter
Re: how do you remove a stuck tektronix 5-series TM504 plugin?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2014, 02:02:36 am »
I've never seen a module where the latch controls anything.  You're supposed to always turn the power off before inserting or removing a module.

I would take the bottom cover off the chassis and try to disengage the latch with a small screwdriver.  I have a TM503 and it looks doable.

• Super Contributor
    • netstuff
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2014, 02:10:21 am »
ok, I just confirmed the module does at least basically work and the latch does not do anything other than a mech lock.

I was advised to remove the bottom plate so I'll try that and see if I can get the latch to move.

Offline calin

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2014, 05:21:27 am »