Author Topic: List your test equipment "scores" here!  (Read 491134 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Berni

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2393
  • Country: si
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1175 on: February 05, 2017, 09:16:26 am »

Yes it has two options installed, 001 which is the OCXO and 050 which is the 1.3GHz C channel and DVM. the DVM part is a tad off compared to my FLUKE meter but seem to be able to measure voltage on the other input channels that go to 100Mhz , I wonder if it really measures AC at that frequency, that would be pretty slick... Time to RTFM i guess. [/size]Now only if this thing wold not take up a quarter of my bench.... But that may be solved by letting it to take off and fly .. it sounds like a jet plane ready to take off :) .

That just means you need a bigger bench or maybe a 19 inch rack. ;D I quite like having a slightly raised shelf behind by bench for keeping the test gear on.

I also like to change out any loud fans in my test equipment. The AC induction motor fans used in some old test gear are loud as heck, tho they do also move an insane amount of air. But something like this probably doesn't need that much air flow.
 

Offline AF6LJ

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2901
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1176 on: February 05, 2017, 06:33:11 pm »
Picked up an HP-8640 yesterday at the Palm Springs Hamfest.
Only problem is the counter int/ext switch is broken but the last owner wired it into the internal position.
Since I have two counters this is no big deal...
Hundred Bucks, not bad....
Sue AF6LJ
Test Equipment Addict, And Proud Of It.
 

Offline PaulAm

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 656
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1177 on: February 05, 2017, 10:18:39 pm »
Stacking order is very important!  That looks like a 5245L under the 8640.
 
The following users thanked this post: AF6LJ

Offline xrunner

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4150
  • Country: us
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>?
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1178 on: February 05, 2017, 11:04:34 pm »
Stacking order is very important!  That looks like a 5245L under the 8640.

Looks like the stack can go a little higher yet ...  :popcorn:
I am a Test Equipment Addict (TEA) - by virtue of this forum signature, I have now faced my addiction
 
The following users thanked this post: AF6LJ

Offline Cubdriver

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2363
  • Country: us
  • Nixie addict
    • Photos of electronic gear
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1179 on: February 05, 2017, 11:59:09 pm »
Stacking order is very important!  That looks like a 5245L under the 8640.

It is indeed.

-Pat
If it jams, force it.  If it breaks, you needed a new one anyway...
 

Offline AF6LJ

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2901
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1180 on: February 06, 2017, 03:50:56 am »
Stacking order is very important!  That looks like a 5245L under the 8640.

Looks like the stack can go a little higher yet ...  :popcorn:
I may have to reinforce the floor There is some more HP Iron in my future.
That is a project to talk about on another day.
The generator works... As noted above the counter switch is hardwared in the int position...
I wonder if someone makes copies of all those plastic gears.......
Sue AF6LJ
Test Equipment Addict, And Proud Of It.
 

Offline AF6LJ

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2901
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1181 on: February 06, 2017, 03:53:24 am »
Stacking order is very important!  That looks like a 5245L under the 8640.

It is indeed.

-Pat
It works best there...
Besides that thing is almost as heavy as the 8640...
Sue AF6LJ
Test Equipment Addict, And Proud Of It.
 

Offline Cubdriver

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2363
  • Country: us
  • Nixie addict
    • Photos of electronic gear
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1182 on: February 06, 2017, 04:19:25 am »
I wonder if someone makes copies of all those plastic gears.......

There's a guy on the HP mailing list that was selling brass replacements for it, but they were around $200 for the set, so I decided to roll the dice and hope the ones in mine stay together.  I can dig back and try to find his contact info if you'd like.

Conrad Hoffman has made cast replacements:
http://conradhoffman.com/HP8640B_gears.htm

And there was someone on E-bay a while back also selling cast resin ones, but I can't find anything with a quick search at this point.

FWIW...

-Pat
If it jams, force it.  If it breaks, you needed a new one anyway...
 
The following users thanked this post: AF6LJ

Offline AF6LJ

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2901
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1183 on: February 06, 2017, 12:57:24 pm »
I wonder if someone makes copies of all those plastic gears.......

There's a guy on the HP mailing list that was selling brass replacements for it, but they were around $200 for the set, so I decided to roll the dice and hope the ones in mine stay together.  I can dig back and try to find his contact info if you'd like.

Conrad Hoffman has made cast replacements:
http://conradhoffman.com/HP8640B_gears.htm

And there was someone on E-bay a while back also selling cast resin ones, but I can't find anything with a quick search at this point.

FWIW...

-Pat

Thanks Pat...
I'll pass on the brass, That is a bit pricey for me. 
The castings have my interest.....
Thank You.
Sue AF6LJ
Test Equipment Addict, And Proud Of It.
 

Offline Cubdriver

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2363
  • Country: us
  • Nixie addict
    • Photos of electronic gear
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1184 on: February 06, 2017, 04:21:03 pm »
Thanks Pat...
I'll pass on the brass, That is a bit pricey for me. 
The castings have my interest.....
Thank You.

 Glad to help, Sue - I wanted to get a set of the brass ones for mine just in case, then found that they'd cost more than I'd paid for the generator including shipping.  I decided at that point that I'd take my chances, and learn to cast if and when the time came.

-Pat
If it jams, force it.  If it breaks, you needed a new one anyway...
 
The following users thanked this post: AF6LJ

Offline GreyWoolfe

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3223
  • Country: us
  • NW0LF
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1185 on: February 06, 2017, 07:11:12 pm »
Scored one of the ITT GW-Instek DMMs.  Should arrive on Monday.  Can't wait.
That which doesn't kill you still requires a co-pay.
 

Online Ysjoelfir

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 420
  • Country: de
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1186 on: February 06, 2017, 08:45:03 pm »
I wrote to the guy selling the GW Instek DMMs from the ITT thing - very grumpy (and damn expensive) if you ask for shipping overseas... or was it just because I am one of those nasty germans? ._. Asked my relatives overseas how much the shipping would be - less then a third the seller wanted... so ne GW Instek cheapy for me :(
Greetings, Kai \ Ysjoelfir
 

Offline VK5RC

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2241
  • Country: au
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1187 on: February 06, 2017, 10:55:54 pm »
A slightly silly question,  as I collect quite a bit of gear,  I find it difficult to keep the 'accessories'  with the test gear eg manuals,  probes,  plug-ins etc,  I like a 'tidy stack'  and keep them plugged into a power board, which I only plug the power board  in to the mains when I  try to fire them up approx once a month or so.
How do you guys store your accessories and keep the link to the gear?
Nice stack Sue!
Regards Rob VK5RC
Whoah! Watch where that landed we might need it later.
 

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17621
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1188 on: February 06, 2017, 11:18:15 pm »
I usually keep equipment specific stuff in a plastic or cardboard box with some writing (or a label) on it which says to which piece of equipment the box belongs.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: VK5RC

Online Ysjoelfir

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 420
  • Country: de
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1189 on: February 06, 2017, 11:56:16 pm »
I have to admit that I don't keep every piece of accessory at the specific device. I rather prefer a single location where I store all the wires and probes and another place where I keep my documents. For wires I have accessory hangers from a local dollar store and the manuals are just sitting on a book shelve...
Greetings, Kai \ Ysjoelfir
 
The following users thanked this post: VK5RC

Offline guenthert

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 282
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1190 on: February 07, 2017, 06:38:54 am »
[..]
the DVM part is a tad off compared to my FLUKE meter but seem to be able to measure voltage on the other input channels that go to 100Mhz , I wonder if it really measures AC at that frequency, that would be pretty slick... Time to RTFM i guess. [/size]Now only if this thing wold not take up a quarter of my bench.... But that may be solved by letting it to take off and fly .. it sounds like a jet plane ready to take off :) .
Not sure about the B, but the HP5328A's DVM is DC only and yes, it's chief purpose is to aid in setting the trigger level.  While it's 6 digits, it drifts quite a bit (perhaps a better voltage reference would fix that?). 

Mine is annoyingly loud as well, so that I turn it on only when I know I'll need it.  Allegedly there are military versions, which are *really* loud.
 
The following users thanked this post: calin

Offline Berni

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2393
  • Country: si
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1191 on: February 07, 2017, 06:41:48 am »
I find that i don't have a lot of accessories that are strictly for one piece of equipment. But if i remove something from a instrument such as handles(for rack mounting) or perhaps extender cards for repairing it i will put it in a zip lock bag and write what equipment its for on the bag.
 
The following users thanked this post: VK5RC

Offline Vgkid

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2507
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1192 on: February 07, 2017, 07:10:47 am »
[..]
the DVM part is a tad off compared to my FLUKE meter but seem to be able to measure voltage on the other input channels that go to 100Mhz , I wonder if it really measures AC at that frequency, that would be pretty slick... Time to RTFM i guess. [/size]Now only if this thing wold not take up a quarter of my bench.... But that may be solved by letting it to take off and fly .. it sounds like a jet plane ready to take off :) .
Not sure about the B, but the HP5328A's DVM is DC only and yes, it's chief purpose is to aid in setting the trigger level.  While it's 6 digits, it drifts quite a bit (perhaps a better voltage reference would fix that?). 
If it is like the one used in the 5335, then it implemented a voltage to frequency converter. Checked the 5328B's manual, yep.
If you own any North Hills Electronics gear, message me. L&N Fan
 
The following users thanked this post: calin

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17621
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1193 on: February 10, 2017, 04:17:11 pm »
I got myself a Lecroy LC584AL (1GHz, 2Gs/s 1Mpts) scope from the broken test equipment asylum called Ebay. According to the seller it doesn't show a picture so it was cheap after making an offer. The display not working is not a problem because I'd replace the CRT with a TFT screen anyway. One of the reasons I got this old scope is that I want to sell my other (more expensive) Agilent scope but didn't want to be left without the 1GHz ability, some other features and last but not least: a second working scope. Unlike many scopes before the USB era the LC584 has a PCMCIA slot which should be able to hold a PCMCIA to compact flash adapter with a compact flash card. The compact flash card is equally usefull as a USB stick so file transfer between my PC and the scope should be painless.
This is the picture from the Ebay listing:

If my wife doesn't kill me when this thing arrives I'll take some pictures of the inside and (if the scope works) the TFT conversion.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2017, 04:20:21 pm by nctnico »
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Offline macboy

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1952
  • Country: ca
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1194 on: February 10, 2017, 04:45:50 pm »
I got myself a Lecroy LC584AL (1GHz, 2Gs/s 1Mpts) scope from the broken test equipment asylum called Ebay. According to the seller it doesn't show a picture so it was cheap after making an offer. The display not working is not a problem because I'd replace the CRT with a TFT screen anyway. One of the reasons I got this old scope is that I want to sell my other (more expensive) Agilent scope but didn't want to be left without the 1GHz ability, some other features and last but not least: a second working scope. Unlike many scopes before the USB era the LC584 has a PCMCIA slot which should be able to hold a PCMCIA to compact flash adapter with a compact flash card. The compact flash card is equally usefull as a USB stick so file transfer between my PC and the scope should be painless.
A CF to PCMCIA adapter works well with my Wavepro 960, but the scope is limited to a 500 MB partition regardless of card size.
(edit:) The optional PCMCIA slot on the Wavepro 960 supports both memory cards and PCMCIA/PCCard (ATA) hard drives. A CF card in a PCCard adapter looks like a hard drive, so the scope must support those for this to work.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2017, 01:59:37 pm by macboy »
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7887
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1195 on: February 10, 2017, 06:53:06 pm »
I got myself a Lecroy LC584AL (1GHz, 2Gs/s 1Mpts) scope from the broken test equipment asylum called Ebay.
...
If my wife doesn't kill me when this thing arrives I'll take some pictures of the inside and (if the scope works) the TFT conversion.

I hope you survive its arrival as I look forward to seeing the TFT conversion!
I TEA.
 

Offline elecdonia

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 38
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1196 on: February 11, 2017, 07:18:26 pm »
I picked up a very nice HP 3456A 6.5 digit multimeter on eBay.  Price was $22.50 (+ $60.00 for premium-grade packing and shipping).  I was surprised to win this auction!  I had expected the price to get well above my $150 limit.  But there was only one other bid.
The 3456A was in great shape physically and was partially functional right out of the box. Unfortunately it was rather inaccurate measuring +10V ( it read about 10.3V).  Oddly it was quite accurate with -10V.  After a bit of research I decided to check the power supply section and immediately located several dry electrolytic capacitors.  After replacing them the unit is working great.
Now I will need to get something calibrated:  My Geller SVR reads 10.00275 on this meter.  So that is a 275 ppm error.  But I've had the SVR for 10 years and it's never been calibrated.  I live near a big state university and know some people in their Electrical Engineering department.  Hopefully they have something more accurate (perhaps a 3458A), that I can check and adjust the calibration of my Geller SVR with.  After I confirm my SVR is generating 10.00000V then I'll tweak the 3456A.
But overall I am delighted!
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 07:21:13 pm by elecdonia »
 
The following users thanked this post: AF6LJ

Offline xrunner

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4150
  • Country: us
  • hp>Agilent>Keysight>?
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1197 on: February 11, 2017, 08:33:17 pm »
I picked up a very nice HP 3456A 6.5 digit multimeter on eBay.  Price was $22.50 (+ $60.00 for premium-grade packing and shipping).  I was surprised to win this auction!  I had expected the price to get well above my $150 limit.  But there was only one other bid.

Sweet grab there!
I am a Test Equipment Addict (TEA) - by virtue of this forum signature, I have now faced my addiction
 
The following users thanked this post: elecdonia

Offline Vgkid

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2507
  • Country: us
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1198 on: February 11, 2017, 09:32:02 pm »
I picked up a very nice HP 3456A 6.5 digit multimeter on eBay. 
Sweet grab there!
I agree, it is my most beloved bench dmm. You got your for a great price. I paid almost 10x for mine.
If you own any North Hills Electronics gear, message me. L&N Fan
 
The following users thanked this post: elecdonia

Offline scopeman

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 160
Re: List your test equipment "scores" here!
« Reply #1199 on: February 14, 2017, 04:09:23 am »
I got myself a Lecroy LC584AL (1GHz, 2Gs/s 1Mpts) scope from the broken test equipment asylum called Ebay. According to the seller it doesn't show a picture so it was cheap after making an offer. The display not working is not a problem because I'd replace the CRT with a TFT screen anyway. One of the reasons I got this old scope is that I want to sell my other (more expensive) Agilent scope but didn't want to be left without the 1GHz ability, some other features and last but not least: a second working scope. Unlike many scopes before the USB era the LC584 has a PCMCIA slot which should be able to hold a PCMCIA to compact flash adapter with a compact flash card. The compact flash card is equally usefull as a USB stick so file transfer between my PC and the scope should be painless.
This is the picture from the Ebay listing:

If my wife doesn't kill me when this thing arrives I'll take some pictures of the inside and (if the scope works) the TFT conversion.

Hi,

The front PCMCIA slot on this scope will only work with a battery replaceable type SRAM card (max capacity 4MB). Unfortunately CF cards of any type will not work. Now if you are lucky the scope has the HD01 option installed in the back of the instrument which will accept PCMCIA ATA up to 512MB flash cards or a SDCard with a PCMCIA adapter. This series of LeCroy scope is basically a souped up 93XX series in a different cabinet with a color (Sony Trinitron type) CRT and a PowerPC based CPU card.

It used the same main acquisition card as the 93XX series. It was much faster and could sport a larger amount of processing RAM than the 93XX at the expense of a much larger and heavier cabinet. Still a great scope. When you are working on this scope do not run it without providing additional cooling if you have the covers off. Also do not be tempted to install a "quieter" fan unless it equals the same CFM as the one you are removing. If you overheat the A/D's and other LeCroy heat sinked parts there is no hope to find replacements as these scopes are long out of support.

Typical problems:

There is a thermal cutout switch in the power supply that is known to be an issue.

The power connectors that plug into the Main Acquisition PCB overheat

The usual bad capacitors in the PS. Replace with good quality Low ESR Nichicon, United Chemicon or Equiv. Watch out for the one that is on the printer board. Something like 3000uF. It's across the 5V supply (a blue Philips part) and if shorted the power supply will not power up. Replace it even if it looks good. I have seen many of them fail.

There is also a circuit in these scopes that had the design intent of automatically switching from 120/240. That circuit is problematic. There is a service note on this that can be found in the files section of the Yahoo! LeCroy_Owners_Group on Yahoo! Groups (please join).

Manuals and PS schematics can either be found there or in the LeCroy Manuals section at www.ko4bb.com/getsimple

Watch out for conductive dust!

I hope you get the scope in good condition and have great success with it. Also conversion to an LCD may not be too hard if you can find one that fits as the interface to the internal Sony monitor is achieved with a standard internal VGA DB style connector.

Sam
W3OHM
Owner and Moderator of the LeCroy_Owners_Group on Yahoo! Groups and the back up group
LeCroy Owners Group on Groups.io


 
The following users thanked this post: CalMachine


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf