Author Topic: New Rigol HDO1000 12-bit DSO - BUGs  (Read 18417 times)

Offline TKTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
New Rigol HDO1000 12-bit DSO - BUGs
« on: November 11, 2022, 03:45:35 pm »
I am starting a new topic where members can share their experience with the new Rigol HDO1000 and report / discuss BUGs in the hardware/software.

As first post, I am going to share my experience trying to decode UART and SPI protocols with the HDO1074 scope.  Of course this is the first version of the software and calibration sheet shows manufacturing date October 2022.

The scope froze and rebooted several times during the simple testing.  I cannot make it decode a simple UART signal @ 115200, 8N1.  The signal is from an Arduino Uno board and it is the sketch that prints the ASCII table.  It starts with the message "ASCII TABLE...".  The scope fails to decode the signal.  I tried on my MSO5074 and it decodes correctly the letter 'A' I am showing in the screenshot.

This is the screenshot: 1637030-0

UART Decoder also only allows timebase up to 20ms.  Any timebase 50ms and up the scope disables decoding functionality.  So you cannot capture many packets and zoom to see the frames.  Actually it completely disables the decoding option with timebase higher than 20ms.  Probably software cannot handle decoding large number of frames and Rigol decided to disable it to not affect other areas of the scope.

Decoder divides the screen in 2 sections if you open the event table.  You can put it side-by-side or top and down.  I cannot make the windows detach and move, resize.

Let's start the BUGs discussion from here
« Last Edit: November 11, 2022, 03:50:22 pm by TK »

The following users thanked this post: egonotto, 2N3055, Martin72

Offline JPortici

• Super Contributor
Re: New Rigol HDO1000 12-bit DSO - BUGs
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2022, 04:28:03 pm »