Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 51677 times)

Nx-1997 and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #150 on: April 15, 2020, 04:43:00 pm »
klausES,

I found the SCPI command that EasyDMM is using. Try the attached,  the SCPI command works on my SDM3065X so it should work on the SDM3055.

[attach=1]
« Last Edit: April 15, 2020, 06:05:03 pm by MikeLud »
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #151 on: April 15, 2020, 06:14:43 pm »
Will test it after eating and then write.  ^-^
Thank you for your work, which I highly appreciate  :-+
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #152 on: April 15, 2020, 07:00:54 pm »
All three sensor types switch correctly on the SDM3055 and work perfectly.
Many thanks  :-+
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #153 on: April 15, 2020, 07:10:22 pm »
Great news

All three sensor types switch correctly on the SDM3055 and work perfectly.
Many thanks  :-+
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #154 on: April 15, 2020, 07:16:08 pm »
HKJ,

Hold off on using this file with your next updating. In the next day or two I will update all three files for the Siglent meters and post them when completed

klausES,

I found the SCPI command that EasyDMM is using. Try the attached,  the SCPI command works on my SDM3065X so it should work on the SDM3055.

[attach=1]
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1428
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #155 on: April 15, 2020, 07:34:04 pm »
HKJ,

Hold off on using this file with your next updating. In the next day or two I will update all three files for the Siglent meters and post them when completed

Ok, I was just looking at updating.

If 55 & 65 are very similar you can put them in one file and use #meta and some #metadef tags at the top. With these tags you can change lines, remove lines from the definition and change text in the definition, but you cannot add to it. See IT85xx for an example. I also use it in KeysightDMMs.txt, but only at a very basic level. Note: Only use it if they are very similar or the result gets too confusing.
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #156 on: April 15, 2020, 08:11:15 pm »
HKJ,

I will try to complete them tonight, the 45 & 55 can be the same, the 65 will be different
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #157 on: April 15, 2020, 08:29:46 pm »
If other windows are open in Win and in the foreground and you bring the task of this software to the fore,
the button frame remains in the background (must be extracted separately each time).

Could you instruct the "Buttons" frame to step into the foreground together with the main window ?

Or (better in my opinion) integrate the frame with the buttons in the main window e.g. the buttons one above the other on the right side ?
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #158 on: April 15, 2020, 09:43:04 pm »
HKJ,

Attached are updates for the Siglent SDM's and a screen shoot of the modes.

[attachimg=4]

[attach=3]
[attach=1]
[attach=2]
« Last Edit: April 15, 2020, 10:40:09 pm by MikeLud »
 
The following users thanked this post: klausES

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1428
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #159 on: April 16, 2020, 04:56:54 am »
If other windows are open in Win and in the foreground and you bring the task of this software to the fore,
the button frame remains in the background (must be extracted separately each time).

Could you instruct the "Buttons" frame to step into the foreground together with the main window ?

Or (better in my opinion) integrate the frame with the buttons in the main window e.g. the buttons one above the other on the right side ?

With the "Popups" button you can lock the popups to "On top" state. It would not work to integrate them in the main frame. The number and size of popups varies, depending what is connected to TestController.
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1428
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #160 on: April 16, 2020, 05:04:29 am »
HKJ,

Attached are updates for the Siglent SDM's and a screen shoot of the modes.

They will be included with the next version.
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1428
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #161 on: April 16, 2020, 11:18:33 am »
Next version is up (V0.32).
It includes:
  • Support for Brymen USB and some rebrands (Greenlee & Elma), do it work on anything but windows?
  • Only one of the above meters at a time for now
  • Update profiles for Siglent bench meters (Thanks to MikeLud)
  • Mode & Setting windows will move to top when main application is selected (Idea from KlausES), I cannot decide if I like it or not, what do other mean (Problem is when multiple popups are overlapping)? I can move it to a configuration item.
  • The program size increased rather dramatically due to the HID libraries.

I did a special implementation of the USB driver, this means it will work with fast sample rates, but the data will, of course, not get updated faster than the meter works. It will just return the last value multiple times, until a new value is received or timeout.

 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, masterx81, PushUp, tubularnut, Marco1971, MikeLud, klausES

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #162 on: April 17, 2020, 08:02:12 am »
Nice touch, that you even integrated the Elma brand! ;-)

As I am no linux expert, I haven't managed that TestController detects my Brymen 869s/Elma 829s on Ubuntu or Raspbian itself so far.

However, it works via VirtualBox within Linux:
Ubuntu > VitualBox (by adding Brymen Superior DMM [8605] to the usb filter list) > Windows = works fine

I think I miss the step to integrate the connection into /lib/udev/rules.d and /etc/udev/rules.d somehow?

[ 1601.026449] hid-generic 0003:0820:0001.0008: hiddev0,hidraw0: USB HID v1.11 Device [Brymen Superior DMM] on usb-0000:00:14.0-3.2/input0


This is, what my Ubuntu shows:

lsusb
Bus 003 Device 016: ID 0820:0001 "no description"

...there is no description in contrast to Keysight:
Bus 003 Device 022: ID 067b:2303 Prolific Technology, Inc. PL2303 Serial Port

...or Fluke:
Bus 003 Device 024: ID 0403:6001 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232 USB-Serial (UART) IC


dmesg
[ 1600.914292] usb 3-3.2: new full-speed USB device number 16 using xhci_hcd
[ 1601.018853] usb 3-3.2: New USB device found, idVendor=0820, idProduct=0001, bcdDevice=86.05
[ 1601.018855] usb 3-3.2: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[ 1601.018856] usb 3-3.2: Product: Superior DMM
[ 1601.018857] usb 3-3.2: Manufacturer: Brymen
[ 1601.018858] usb 3-3.2: SerialNumber: Ñ錶
[ 1601.026449] hid-generic 0003:0820:0001.0008: hiddev0,hidraw0: USB HID v1.11 Device [Brymen Superior DMM] on usb-0000:00:14.0-3.2/input0

dmesg | grep 0820:0001 | tail -n 1 | sed -e "s/.*\(hiddev[0-9]\).*/\1/g"
hiddev0

dmesg | grep 0820:0001 | tail -n 1 | sed -e "s/.*\(hidraw[0-9]\).*/\1/g"
hidraw0


 :-//
Due to the massive "EEVblog forum attachement bug", I am now using an external picture hoster, till it is solved...
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1428
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #163 on: April 17, 2020, 09:11:42 am »
Try starting in debug mode and look for this:

 Found usb device: \\?\hid#vid_0820&pid_0001#8&a33cbf4&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}

If it finds the usb device, but the path is missing it will never work on that OS (and I will have to do some more work to see if I can fix it).
 
The following users thanked this post: Marco1971

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #164 on: April 17, 2020, 01:18:54 pm »
HKJ,

I think you can remove the below line in the fist post. Thanks for sharing this great program with us and also the great site you have. :-+

Thanks,
Mike

"If anybody have ideas about how to log from USB/HID connected meters, please tell. I have played with a Brymen, but it did not work (I did never get any data). Maybe there is more than one error in their documentation."

I have been working on a program that can log from multimeters, electronic loads, power supplies and some other stuff.

It is still an alpha version, but it works fairly well. I am interested in comments, ideas and error reports.





Read more about it and download it from here: http://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerIntro%20UK.html

If anybody have ideas about how to log from USB/HID connected meters, please tell. I have played with a Brymen, but it did not work (I did never get any data). Maybe there is more than one error in their documentation.



My current list of supported devices as of V0.32 are (not all are tested):
Agilent 34401A, Agilent U1252B, Agilent U1272A, B&K Precision BK8500, B&K Precision BK8502, B&K Precision BK8510, B&K Precision BK8512, B&K Precision BK8514, B&K Precision BK8518, B&K Precision BK8520, B&K Precision BK8522, B&K Precision BK8524, B&K Precision BK8526, Brymen BM521s, Brymen BM525s, Brymen BM821s, Brymen BM822s, Brymen BM827s, Brymen BM829s, Brymen BM867s, Brymen BM869s, Elma BM525s, Elma BM821s, Elma BM829s, Elma BM869s, Fluke 187, Fluke 189, Fluke 287, Fluke 289, Fluke 87, Fluke 8846A, Fluke 89, Greenlee DM-810A, Greenlee DM-820A, Greenlee DM-830A, Greenlee DML-430A, HKJ Discharger, HKJ SS-Relay, HKJ ThermoAndMore, HKJ ThermoSensor, Hewlett-Packard 34401A, Itech IT8511+, Itech IT8511A+, Itech IT8511B+, Itech IT8512+, Itech IT8512A+, Itech IT8512B+, Itech IT8512C+, Itech IT8512H+, Itech IT8513C+, Itech IT8514B+, Itech IT8514C+, Itech IT8516C+, Keithley 2280S-32-6, Keithley DMM6500, Keithley DMM7510, Keysight 34461A, Keysight 34465A, Keysight 34470A, Keysight U1231A, Keysight U1232A, Keysight U1233A, Keysight U1251A, Keysight U1252A, Keysight U1252B, Keysight U1253A, Keysight U1271A, Keysight U1272A, Keysight U1273A, Keysight U1273AX, Keysight U1281A, Keysight U1282A, Keysight U1461A, Mastech MS8040, Mastech MS8218, Rigol DP811A, Siglent SDG2122X, Siglent SDM3045X, Siglent SDM3055, Siglent SDM3065X, TTi CPX400DP, TTi QL355P, TTi QPX1200SP, Tenma 72-7730, Tenma 72-7732, Tenma 72-9380A, UNI-T UT61E, UNI-T UT71A, UNI-T UT71B, UNI-T UT71C, UNI-T UT71D, UNI-T UT71E, Vici VC8145, VirtualRampGenerator, VirtualSinusGenerator, VirtualSquareGenerator, Voltcraft VC-920, Voltcraft VC-940 COM, Voltcraft VC-960
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1428
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #165 on: April 17, 2020, 02:23:04 pm »
HKJ,

I think you can remove the below line in the fist post. Thanks for sharing this great program with us and also the great site you have. :-+


Yes and no, I got some good help that works on Windows, but I do not know about Linux/Mac yet.
 

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 69
  • Country: de
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #166 on: April 17, 2020, 05:22:11 pm »
You are too modest! No manufacturer has ever made such a brilliant peace of software...and TestController is not older than a month or so!  :-+

My PayPal reactivation takes some time due to covid-19, but as soon as I am able to confirm my account, I will send you a little "thank you" to: info@lygte-info.dk

My try to debug Brymen wasn't successful, but I will have a try the next days...  :-/O

Best wishes!
Due to the massive "EEVblog forum attachement bug", I am now using an external picture hoster, till it is solved...
 

Online HKJ

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1428
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #167 on: April 17, 2020, 06:02:25 pm »
You are too modest! No manufacturer has ever made such a brilliant peace of software...and TestController is not older than a month or so!  :-+

Nearly 10 years ago I made some logging software, it was command line only and with scripting for controlling the connected devices. This software has been running nearly 24/7 on a couple of computers since. It is that software I am working on a update for and this time I decided to make it public.
The initial release showed basically what I wanted from it, the following releases has fixed some bugs and refined the function and also added a few ideas I got (Some with external help). I still have equipment I need to include and also some functionality.

For now I also try to help people thats making definitions for other equipment. I also includes all the definitions I can get. The help will be reduced when I have made more documentation and the program is more mature.
The thread title with multimeters is misleading, but I believed "multimeters" was better heading than "devices" and writing "multimeters, power supplies, electronic loads and other devices" was way to long.
 

Offline klausES

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 202
  • Country: de
  • restore Sony ES/Esprit era
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #168 on: April 17, 2020, 09:51:43 pm »
I would also like to thank you very much for your work.  :-+

...The thread title with multimeters is misleading, but I believed "multimeters" was better heading than "devices" and writing "multimeters, power supplies, electronic loads and other devices" was way to long.

How about the thread title ... can log from many measure (or Test) equipment ?
regards klaus. "Art is when you can't do it ... because if you can, it's not art"
 

Offline jord4231

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: au
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #169 on: April 19, 2020, 02:28:50 am »
I'm Still learning and I know its not much of a contribution but for anyone interested I've started working on one for the rigol dm3058e I've attached it here.
So far it will read the values and change the modes. Hopefully it can be useful for someone or maybe someone who needs it can add to it / complete it.
When I click current Values it cycles through all the modes in the dmm and read the value. Not sure how to make it so I can log one value with it it cycling through the rest. I need to do a bit more reading bit of a learning curve for me. Thanks again
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #170 on: April 19, 2020, 03:42:45 am »
jord4231

To stop the cycles through all the modes you can try changing the #askValues line to just do a read, see below.

Code: [Select]
#askValues READ?
« Last Edit: April 19, 2020, 03:46:26 am by MikeLud »
 
The following users thanked this post: jord4231

Offline jord4231

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: au
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #171 on: April 19, 2020, 04:07:28 am »
That did not seem to work, Other than just deleting the ask commands I don't want each time in the txt file is there a way to just log say voltage ?
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #172 on: April 19, 2020, 04:16:46 am »
jord4231,

Try this file.

[attach=1]
 
The following users thanked this post: jord4231

Offline jord4231

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 41
  • Country: au
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #173 on: April 19, 2020, 04:21:09 am »
jord4231,

Try this file.

[attach=1]
Thanks MikeLud no joy :(
 

Offline MikeLud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 210
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #174 on: April 19, 2020, 04:28:52 am »
jord4231,

Ignore the last file, try this file.

[attach=1]
 
The following users thanked this post: jord4231


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf