Author Topic: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function  (Read 2715 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: it
R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« on: November 16, 2018, 07:26:56 pm »
Hello, I got this video to upload to YouTube by R&S. It seems the upcoming new FW release will add the bode plot function.

https://youtu.be/d7PgJkAOVMw
Technical Support
 

Offline nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 19971
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2018, 07:38:23 pm »
Well I'll give the 'boadie' plot tool a spin when the new RTM3000 firmware is released.  :)
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 
The following users thanked this post: simone.pignatti

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: it
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2018, 07:41:41 pm »
I hope not, R&S miss that functionality but they have the HW to run it. I try to be positive till I will become depressed  :-+
Technical Support
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 417
  • Country: us
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2018, 08:51:19 pm »
:popcorn:

-Rich
 

Offline ppeterl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: se
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2018, 09:43:36 pm »
Available on the RTB2000 (and RTA4000) as well. Woot! I assume it will come with the pending 2.201 firmware update...Rick didn't mentioned it in this thread https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-killer-scope-a-true-game-changer-from-rs-rtb2002-rtb2004/msg1928278/#msg1928278| Let's hope its not another $$$ option though.

--/Peter
 

Offline IlDrago

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: it
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2018, 09:36:19 pm »
Available on the RTB2000 (and RTA4000) as well.
I was thinking the same thing ...

@Rich, can you tell if it´s included to the next releases?
 

Offline Doug_T

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #6 on: November 23, 2018, 02:16:04 pm »
Am I missing something or did this YouTube vid get pulled? 
 

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: it
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #7 on: November 23, 2018, 02:18:43 pm »
... we still have the video but R&S asked us to take it down ... I hope we can make it public again asap ... very sorry for it  :palm:
Technical Support
 

Offline ppeterl

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: se
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2018, 05:11:24 am »
My guess is that R&S pulled the feature at the last minute, so we won't see that video again for a while. We know that the new firmware is in testing right now, at least the RTB2000 version. So maybe it was found not to be stable enough for release this time? I guess we'll know when 2.01 (RTB2000) comes out.
 

Offline Mr. Scram

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9663
  • Country: 00
  • Display aficionado
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2018, 05:24:57 am »
... we still have the video but R&S asked us to take it down ... I hope we can make it public again asap ... very sorry for it  :palm:
Busted! ;D
 

Online Performa01

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 916
  • Country: at
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2018, 08:04:48 am »
... we still have the video but R&S asked us to take it down ... I hope we can make it public again asap ... very sorry for it  :palm:

Doesn't that sound familiar?!   :-/O

I consider this a good thing. Maybe it means that R&S takes the topic seriously, rather than providing just a "me too" feature and copying some educational toy.
 

Offline Hydron

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 511
  • Country: gb
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2018, 10:42:06 am »
The rtb2k firmware is about 2 weeks late now - maybe they found a bug bad enough to delay for another spin? Haven't heard anything for a while.

I must say I was pleasantly surprised to hear about the bode plot function given the other new stuff already announced to be in the upcoming firmware - quite a lot of goodies for one release compared to previous updates. I have another instrument that can do bode plots so this feature isn't urgent for me, but certainly a nice addition if/when it arrives!
 

Offline Rich@RohdeScopesUSA

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 417
  • Country: us
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #12 on: November 26, 2018, 03:12:45 pm »
Hi Folks - we do have a *very good* low frequency response analysis solution coming soon.  I'm sure the video will be reposted as we get closer to intro - likely in the January timeframe.  Details are still being finalized so I can't give you any more info than that.  I can say that it won't work yet in the imminent release for the RTB2000 (supposedly out this week - sorry for the delay).

-Rich
« Last Edit: November 26, 2018, 03:28:35 pm by Rich@RohdeScopesUSA »
 

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: it
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2019, 01:20:46 pm »
Hello! the video is up again and now the option K36 Frequency response analysis (Bode plot) is available for:
- RTB-K36
- RTM-K36
- RTA-K36
We are updating our website with the latest data sheet, brochure and user manuals.

Today I upgraded the FW of my RTB demo unit with the latest FW 02.202 and it seems to work just fine.
New FW is also available for RTM and RTA, all at R&S website.

New Features of V02.202:
● New 'Cut Waveform' feature for Option RTB-B6 Function generator allows user to select a portion of
captured oscilloscope waveform in the arbitrary setup.
● New burst feature for option RTB-B6 Function generator allows user to specify a fixed number of
waveform cycles.
● Number of math equations increased to five, and number of operators increased including
differentiation and integration.
● Option RTB-K36: New Bode plot application allow the instrument to perform gain and phase testing.
● Oscilloscope simultaneously displays cursor results with measurement statistics.
● New capability for user to independently set offset and positon values. User can assign top vertical
knob to control either position or offset.
● Enhanced FFT usability.
Technical Support
 

Offline Fred27

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 636
  • Country: gb
    • Fred's blog
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2019, 04:33:54 pm »
I can't see any new firmware for the RTM3000. I assume it may take a day or two to make it up there. (RTB2000 seems to be there.)
 

Offline simone.pignatti

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: it
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2019, 04:39:23 pm »
I can't see any new firmware for the RTM3000. I assume it may take a day or two to make it up there. (RTB2000 seems to be there.)
oh snap ... you are right ... maybe in few days

some new app notes:
APP NOTE "Analyze passive low frequency components" https://goo.gl/SaamUa

APP NOTE "Power supply control loop response measurements (Bode plot)" https://goo.gl/jC6fUU

APP NOTE "Power supply rejection ratio measurement (PSSR)" https://goo.gl/jtuwvu

view/download data sheet Picotest J2021A https://goo.gl/xjJMck
Technical Support
 
The following users thanked this post: MikeP

Offline Fred27

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 636
  • Country: gb
    • Fred's blog
Re: R&S RTM3000 Bode Plot function
« Reply #16 on: January 22, 2019, 10:58:13 pm »
Firmware 1.400 is now available for the RTM3000. No K36 Bode plot option appearing automatically. As mentioned in the RTB2000 thread, it seems that if you're eligible then you'll have to ask for a key.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf