Author Topic: Should I get a Keysight DSOX6004A ?  (Read 16299 times)

Offline grg183Topic starter

• Contributor
    • Salitronic
Should I get a Keysight DSOX6004A ?
« on: August 20, 2021, 10:31:46 am »
I'm exploring the options for a 1GHz+ bandwidth oscilloscope for professional use (I am an electronics engineer and run a small professional electronics design business). I'll probably not be buying this until next year but I'm starting to evaluate the options.

Some main features that I am looking for are:
- 1GHz bandwidth, preferably upgradable to 2.5Ghz or more.
- 4 analog channels, digital channels a plus but not necessary
- jitter analysis
- eye diagrams
The main need for this oscilloscope is for high speed signal analysis. I have been working on high speed designs already but this is becoming increasingly common and demanding so I am looking to upgrade my equipment.

I am a bit of a Keysight fan, I own a Keysight MSOX3024T oscilloscope and a Keysight FieldFox N9923A VNA and have always been happy with their quality and support.
I also understand the value and importance of quality tools, I need my tools to be reliable and accurate, every time. I don't have time to waste troubleshooting problems with tools and or worse being misled by an inaccurate measurement.
I also have a Keysight N2790A high voltage differential probe and a Keysight N2893A current probe, which have a Keysight specific active interface. These probes alone cost around $6k so I would ideally like to be able to used them with the new scope too.
Having a 'brand name' oscilloscope is also beneficial for when I need to include it in reports or screenshots sent to clients, but it is not the deciding factor.
Unfortunately being a small business puts me in a sort of gray zone between markets, since I have the needs for a high end scope for professional use but while I can afford some of the brand names, I don't have money to throw away like big companies do.