Author Topic: Should I replace my Siglent SDS2014X Plus oscilloscope with SDS3014X HD?  (Read 3799 times)

Offline SercanTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi Folk!

I am an electronics hobbyist. I prefer the devices I use at home lab to be the most up-to-date ones that fit within my budget. Even if not every feature is necessary when purchasing devices, as I develop my electronic skills, these features become useful to me.

Anyway, last year, I bought the Siglent SDS2140X Plus oscilloscope. All software features of this oscilloscope are active except for PA. Moreover, I can achieve 500 MHz with a hack.

It has only been a year since I purchased this device when Siglent introduced their new HD series. I am interested in the SDS3104X HD model from this series. It offers advantages such as 12-bit hardware resolution, double the real-time sampling rate, and double the memory depth. I won't be able to afford the software options initially, but I assume I can unlock these features with a hack in the future.

Regardless of the price, what benefits do you think I would gain from switching to the SDS3104X HD? I'm curious about your valuable opinions.

2072363-0
2072369-1

The following users thanked this post: egonotto

• Contributor

Offline 2N3055

• Super Contributor
Sercan,

I think you are only one that can decide that.
I can see that you already seem to mostly know what differences "on paper" are.

My advice would be not to get "hang up" to comparing features.
There will be always some scope that "has more stuff" that the one you own.
By that logic, why not SDS7000A?

My way of thinking about these "dilemmas" of should I buy new shiny stuff is to rather think in terms of how "useful" they are to me. What does this mean?

For instance, is 500MHz Bw good enough for the stuff you do in your hobby, or you encountered (more than once !) situation when you needed 1GHz scope to finish your project?