Author Topic: Should I replace my Siglent SDS2014X Plus oscilloscope with SDS3014X HD?  (Read 3825 times)

Online bdunham7

• Super Contributor
I'm not a professional. 12-bit high resolution will help me capture fine details. Since I'm not an pro, I prefer not to be misled by the values I see on my measuring device. After all, it's just a "tool" to assist me. I am just looking for better "tool". I have many reason, but isn't only 12 bits reason enough?

Maybe, maybe not.  How often do you use the 10-bit mode on your present SDS2000X+?  And when you compare it to the 8-bit mode, do you think "gee that's a lot better but I'd be willing to pay a lot more for further improvement"?  If so, 12-bit is definitely for you.  If you don't use the 10-bit mode or can't tell the difference clearly enough to matter, then 12-bit won't change your life.  For me, given the limited resolution of the screen itself (which is the same on both scopes) the place where more bits matters enough for me to care is when I'm using the vertical zoom feature to look at something.  Do you use vertical zoom?

I wish I were rich, but I'm not. Nevertheless, I haven't seen anyone become richer or poorer by saving on the price difference we're talking about here.

Perhaps on one instrument, but if you apply that same thinking to the rest of your bench and end up with a few more digits on your DMM, better specs on your AWG, etc etc you might end up with a substantial "investment". 
A 3.5 digit 4.5 digit 5 digit 5.5 digit 6.5 digit 7.5 digit DMM is good enough for most people.

Online Martin72

• Super Contributor
  • Testfield Technician
I swear the SDS2000X+ has gated measurements. I've used the feature before, at least when the scope is stopped.  If I'm thinking of the right thing, it lets you set the start and end times of an interval over which the measurement is computed.

It gets even better:
For example, all lecroy scopes have gated meauserements.