Author Topic: SSA2021X - 20 dB attenuator sufficient?  (Read 2953 times)

Offline fnaumannTopic starter

• Contributor
SSA2021X - 20 dB attenuator sufficient?
« on: January 13, 2024, 02:27:29 am »
I recently bought an expensive toy - a Siglent SSA2021X spectrum analyzer. I don't want to harm this not only because of the high purchase price. Hence my question, for simple tests and measurements on a Breadboard and with a signal generator in the 5 to 12V DC range, is a 20 dB attenuator sufficient as protection?

SSA2021X RF input
50V DC max - I have as additional protection a DC blocker
+30dBm max - which is one Watt (if I remember right)

With -20 dB from my external Siglent attenuator (20dB@4GHz) the SSA2021X should not be damaged till +50dBm ? Or is this false?

With my Oszilloskope the matter is much more relaxed, with 1 MΩ Input (instead 50Ω on the SSA), and the 1:10 probe you are relatively safe here with voltages not exceeding 24 V. I have no practical experience with specific RF performance. I don't want to analyze transmitters either, but rather interference signals in circuits, RF noise in my home office (switching power supplies, lamps).
« Last Edit: January 13, 2024, 02:40:34 am by fnaumann »

Offline Kim Christensen

• Super Contributor
Re: SSA2021X - 20 dB attenuator sufficient?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2024, 03:28:40 am »
With -20 dB from my external Siglent attenuator (20dB@4GHz) the SSA2021X should not be damaged till +50dBm ? Or is this false?

Partially true. +50dbm is 100 watts, so your 20db attenuator would also have to be rated for 100W. If it's not, and it burns out when you put 100W into it, you might get more than +30dbm into your SA.

12VDC into 50 ohms is 2.9 watts, so that would damage the typical 1W attenuator, but your SA is rated for 50Vdc with the DC blocker so it should be OK in that scenario.

The following users thanked this post: pdenisowski, fnaumann

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2024, 08:33:06 pm »