Author Topic: Test Equipment and the whole game  (Read 9903 times)

Offline noobiedoobieTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Test Equipment and the whole game
« on: March 13, 2021, 05:01:31 pm »
I am pretty new to the world of buying TE and I obviously I find it appalling and provocative when I look at how  :box: T&M equipment companies run their business and oh, obviously their prices.

Here are a few questions:

1. Why on earth and in this day and age do T&M companies(R&S, Keysight, Tek etc.) have this whole policy of selling only through their distributors? Its silly, what value are those schmuks adding to the process? Nil. When smartphone companies can sell millions of smartphones like vegetables online and honour warranty and customer greivances why can't these guys who sell utmost few 10,000s of gear at best in each country want to be in bed with distributors?
Next time when the Siglent CEO or some other top guy from such companies comes visiting maybe Dave can suggest this?

2. How does one negotiate with distributor schmuks? I guess that can only happen when we what their margins on the gear are? Can anyone add something here? also what is discount one can expect on the quotes they give 5%? 10? 1%?

I recently asked for quotes from few schmuks for an SA and it was ridiculous. For one brand, I could easily import the same from the country of origin, pay customs duties and still save enough money to buy a bench power supply but because there is only one distributor in the city for that company he doesn't bother about cutting some slack and he thinks the company exists solely because of his dealership.