Author Topic: Help looking for a decent $100-$150 multimeter  (Read 9913 times)

Offline Peter_GTopic starter

Help looking for a decent $100-$150 multimeter
« on: July 04, 2016, 05:55:15 pm »
I am looking for a good quality DMM for about $100-$150 (though I may be willing to go a little higher if it makes a big difference).  As far as application I am a beginner electronics hobbyist mainly working on some Arduino and Raspberry Pi projects, so mostly small circuits and the like.  I want a meter that is going to last me a long time and as I get more advanced.

I have already spent many many hours watching videos, reading articles, and browsing forum posts here and have become quite overwhelmed.  I watched Dave's multimeter buying guide for beginners: https://youtu.be/gh1n_ELmpFI?list=PL4F0B97C59B1D509 and read Fluke's ABCs of DMMs: http://media.fluke.com/documents/2100079_6003_ENG_C_W.pdf, which sort of gave me a handle on what I'm looking for but the options are still staggering so I was hoping someone could give me a few suggestions.

I also tried looking through the multimeter spreadsheet: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/multimeter-spreadsheet/ on this forum, but again the volume of information to sort through and compare as a beginner is astounding.

Also, when browsing the spreadsheet one of the meters that looked acceptable to me was the Fluke 185.  So I tried looking it up and couldn't find it anywhere online, the only evidence I found that it even exists outside of the spreadsheet was this datasheet: http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/100023.pdf.  Is this some kind of super-rare meter or something?  I get that it's probably not being made anymore, but there wasn't anyone on eBay or Amazon or anywhere else even selling a used one.  (I don't really want to get a used meter anyhow, but I did find that peculiar.)