Author Topic: New Member, Please introduce yourself  (Read 1444730 times)

Offline Fir3Chi3f

• Contributor
Re: New Member, Please introduce yourself
« Reply #450 on: November 28, 2011, 07:58:02 am »
Hello! I am an Eastern Illinois University student and currently majoring in Philosophy and Computer Science. I found Dave's blog when my ex girlfriend asked me to fix her kindle and I looked up a video to open the darn thing. Turns out it was still under warranty and I didn't have to open it, but I've been going through almost all of his videos since. What got me hooked was the knowledge of each component and how they were all assembled.

Offline The_Penguin

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #451 on: November 28, 2011, 06:47:56 pm »
Hi all. I'm a Canadian computer geek by trade, but have been into electronics for (counting.....) 37 years!

I don't do much if any design work, and my circuit analysis knowledge is crap, but I'm a damn good solderer and am pretty good at component level repairs :)
I *have* made my own PCBs (toner transfer method)

Came here from a link in a repair forum about DMMs, and am hooked on Dave's videos.
Love 'em!  Keep 'em coming!
On my (messy) bench: Hitachi V-212 Scope, Fluke 77 DMM, Old Radio Shack DMM, older Radio Shack Analog MM, no-name Chinese variable supply, home-made curve tracer, ESR meter, home made 5V supply, home made 12v supply, crappy home-made function generator (Exar 2206 based I think). A 30 year old Weller WTCP station, and a Hakko 936.
I've always had a bit of a mental block with AC theory and ground loops etc. so even though I'm an old-timer, expect some n00b questions in the beginner forum :)

Offline willb

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #452 on: November 29, 2011, 03:47:40 pm »
Hello fellow EEV users!

I'm Will, 23, and I am located in Canada (Halifax, NS). I work in avionics and play with electronics on my own time at home. They say a picture is worth a thousand words... Here is my lab in my basement.

-Will