Author Topic: Program that can log from many multimeters.  (Read 489425 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1425 on: January 27, 2021, 03:17:26 pm »
:write: LOAD:CRANge (value);[300];CURR:IMAX (value=="HIGH"?32:3.1)
Thanks HKJ.
How can you dynamically change the limit values? For example in the photo.
Perhaps via a global variable or is there another way?

At the current time it is not possible to use variable limits.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1426 on: January 27, 2021, 03:27:12 pm »
Thank you for the code and definition.  I am seriously considering changing over my software, but I am reluctant to tear up my already working command interpreter.  Maybe I will clean up and finish this version and switch it over to SCPI in the next revision.

So am I correct in thinking there is not an easy way for testcontroller to parse my output without querying?

Yes, TC has a couple of different drivers to handle different formats, but none of them are designed for multiline formats.

You may be able to do something with the ascii driver by defining the newline as a h and defining a #rxMask
This feature is undocumented at the current time, but used in the "Electronic Load XY-FX25.txt" driver.
 

Offline Adrian_Arg.

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • Country: ar
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1427 on: January 27, 2021, 08:58:22 pm »
What will be the problem? ChartT, Histogram, ramge tabs are disabled when I connect the ut61c Unit, not when it runs in demo mode.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1428 on: January 27, 2021, 09:42:09 pm »
What will be the problem? ChartT, Histogram, ramge tabs are disabled when I connect the ut61c Unit, not when it runs in demo mode.

You have to log (or load) some data first to enable these tabs.
 

Offline Adrian_Arg.

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 429
  • Country: ar
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1429 on: January 28, 2021, 12:00:12 am »
 :-// :-//
 

Offline gby

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1430 on: January 28, 2021, 01:39:13 am »
Hi HKJ,

Having an issue with the deviceWrite function.  I am using the #driver ascii serial driver over a real serial port.  Below is a short demo program:

Code: [Select]
=var drive=getDevice("Servo")
="Found servo drive "+drive+"."
= deviceWrite((drive),"Command "+2)
= deviceRead((drive),"Command "+2)

and here is the DOS debug window result:

Code: [Select]
=var drive=getDevice("Servo")
="Found servo drive "+drive+"."
;; Found servo drive S200.
= deviceWrite((drive),"Command "+2)
;; S200: Tx <S200Command 2>
= deviceRead((drive),"Command "+2)
;; S200: Tx <Command 2>
;; S200: Tx <txrxnBin? 2 \x13\x64\x15\x08>
;; COM1: TxBin: <.d..> 13 64 15 08
;; COM1: RxBin: 64 08
;;2148

The deviceRead works fine but the DOS debug trace shows deviceWrite as
   S200: Tx <S200Command 2>
which is putting the device name "S200" inside the command.  Since the device file has no SCPI "S200Command" command, then nothing is transmitted.  So, either the deviceWrite command is not symmetric in syntax to the deviceRead or there is a bug with deviceWrite.  I am running Ver 1.51.

No hurry since I can use the deviceRead command for now.

PS  Thanks for the updates in Ver 1.51.  I really appreciate the fix, functionality enhancement for the serial interface.  The the binConv() function is handy too.
 

Offline jk2017

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1431 on: January 28, 2021, 05:55:05 pm »
HKJ,

I guess I didn't describe my problem well. When it's working, Test Controller can read correct values from JL24 using AC protocol. So, I think the device definition is fine. I attached a photo of JL24's screen and serial dump I just took just in case.

My problem is, Test Controller does not always start reading values from JL24. It recognizes JL24 (as AT3010) but does not start reading values. I wait for a few minutes, but it will not read values. So, I shutdown Test Controller, restart it, and I repeat the process. Then, once in 20 times or so, Test Controller starts reading values from JL24. Once it starts reading values, it will keep reading correct values from JL24.

Thanks,
-JK
 

Offline jk2017

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1432 on: January 29, 2021, 04:34:30 am »

Hello jk2017,
You have succes with DL24P.
Please can you share your device file for it.
I have faulty readings. Some values are correct,
some not all digits and some complete wrong.
I couldn't fix it myself.
Thanks anyway.

I just use the device that came with TC. I didn't change anything, and it works flawlessly for my DL24P.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1433 on: January 29, 2021, 08:33:48 am »
putting the device name "S200" inside the command.  Since the device file has no SCPI "S200Command" command, then nothing is transmitted.  So, either the deviceWrite command is not symmetric in syntax to the deviceRead or there is a bug with deviceWrite.  I am running Ver 1.51.

No hurry since I can use the deviceRead command for now.

It will be fixed in next version.

PS  Thanks for the updates in Ver 1.51.  I really appreciate the fix, functionality enhancement for the serial interface.  The the binConv() function is handy too.

It is always possible to ask for functions and I will consider it.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1434 on: January 29, 2021, 08:38:36 am »
My problem is, Test Controller does not always start reading values from JL24. It recognizes JL24 (as AT3010) but does not start reading values. I wait for a few minutes, but it will not read values. So, I shutdown Test Controller, restart it, and I repeat the process. Then, once in 20 times or so, Test Controller starts reading values from JL24. Once it starts reading values, it will keep reading correct values from JL24.

My only guess is that my initialization do not wait long enough for the first answer. In next version I will increase the timeout from 1.5s to 2.5s.

Please report if it works fine when I upload next version, then I will add JL24 as a duplicate of AT3010
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1435 on: January 29, 2021, 10:26:34 am »
:-// :-//

Press the log button, select 1 second. The tabs will be enabled after a second or two.
 
The following users thanked this post: Adrian_Arg.

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1436 on: January 29, 2021, 12:16:18 pm »

Hello jk2017,
You have succes with DL24P.
Please can you share your device file for it.
I have faulty readings. Some values are correct,
some not all digits and some complete wrong.
I couldn't fix it myself.
Thanks anyway.

I just use the device that came with TC. I didn't change anything, and it works flawlessly for my DL24P.

Thanks for reply jk2017.
I am getting wrong values with DL24.
I tested the PX100 logging software from:
https://github.com/misdoro/Electronic_load_px100
and have good values then.
Don't have the programming skills to correct it by myself.
See pictures from:
1 - commandline data from PX100 program,
2 - PX100 mainscreen, with correct values,
3 - commandline data from Testcontroller program,
4 - Values from Testcontroller program.

Not complaining anyone, just to inform.

Thanks HKJ and other for the work and additions.

Bad englisch, sorry for that.

Edit: for who can handle it, I can't, attached the binary protocol
used by the programmer of the PX100 software.
https://github.com/misdoro/Electronic_load_px100/blob/master/protocol_PX-100_2_70.md


« Last Edit: January 29, 2021, 03:35:11 pm by Pukker »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1437 on: January 29, 2021, 03:49:15 pm »
I am getting wrong values with DL24.
I tested the PX100 logging software from:
https://github.com/misdoro/Electronic_load_px100
and have good values then.

Interesting, according to the documentation for the px100 software it uses a completely different protocol.
If somebody could capture some of it (I need something to test with) I will try to implement it.
I prefer to get hex dumps and not binary files of protocols.

I need both transmitted and received messages, this can be done with Termite in forward mode and hex enabled (Link: https://www.compuphase.com/software_termite.htm). Note: It requires 3 serial ports.
 

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1438 on: January 31, 2021, 10:09:05 am »

Interesting, according to the documentation for the px100 software it uses a completely different protocol.
If somebody could capture some of it (I need something to test with) I will try to implement it.
I prefer to get hex dumps and not binary files of protocols.

I need both transmitted and received messages, this can be done with Termite in forward mode and hex enabled (Link: https://www.compuphase.com/software_termite.htm). Note: It requires 3 serial ports.

Attached a log file and a picture of values from PX100 software.
made it with Eltima Serial Port Monitor, because I didn't get Termite to work.
Don't know if it is helpfull, just a try.

Started Serial Port Monitor, started and stopped PX100 software and exported the dump file.

I hope with permisson of Misdoro (author of PX100 software)
« Last Edit: January 31, 2021, 10:13:16 am by Pukker »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1439 on: February 03, 2021, 11:40:03 am »
V1.52 is up
This is a minor update with a new driver for ATorch electronic loads
   Added: ATorch PX100 protocol for electronic loads.
   Changed: Timeout for connecting to Atorch protocol changed from 1.5s to 2.5s
   Fixed: deviceWrite, it included the device handle in the string.

Thanks to Pukker for the hex dumps.
The new driver is in the file ATorchPX100Devices and it contains a PX100 device.
The limits is probably wrong and must be adjusted.
For other ATorch devices duplicate the #metadef section and adjust the name and parameters accordingly.
Also remember to remove duplicate devices from AtorchDevices file.

Please post the updates here and I will include them in the next release.
 

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1440 on: February 03, 2021, 09:41:07 pm »
V1.52 is up
This is a minor update with a new driver for ATorch electronic loads
   Added: ATorch PX100 protocol for electronic loads.
   Changed: Timeout for connecting to Atorch protocol changed from 1.5s to 2.5s
   Fixed: deviceWrite, it included the device handle in the string.

Thanks HKJ
Works fine now. Handy DL24 and RD6012 in one program

Made a modification for some values, some cosmetic, some usefull for me.

Changed section is:

; A list of possible column name with unit and formatter (SI, Time, Int, D0..D8, X0..X8)
; Format: #value ColumnName Unit Format
#value Voltage V D3
#value Current A D3
#value Capacity Ah D3 
#value Energy Wh D1              *** Was D3, but last two digits not used and send by load and so display equal to display on the load.  25,6 in stead of 25,600
#value Temperature °C D0      *** Added, for me it is nice to check the temperature of the load in Testcontroller. Sends only full degrees.
#value Time Sec. D0                 *** Added, for me nice to see the real running time of the load in Testcontroller.

; How to poll for data, this is used for table and #values?
; Number of returned values must match number of columns defined with #value
; This is a single line command
#askValues voltage?;current?;capacity?;energy?;temperature?;time?;


attachements are
ATorchPX100Devices.txt (modded fileJ)
ATorchPX100DevicesJ_mod.txt (only modded section as above) 
« Last Edit: February 03, 2021, 10:41:39 pm by Pukker »
 

Offline jk2017

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1441 on: February 04, 2021, 01:17:39 am »
V1.52 is up
This is a minor update with a new driver for ATorch electronic loads
   Added: ATorch PX100 protocol for electronic loads.
   Changed: Timeout for connecting to Atorch protocol changed from 1.5s to 2.5s
   Fixed: deviceWrite, it included the device handle in the string.

Thanks to Pukker for the hex dumps.
The new driver is in the file ATorchPX100Devices and it contains a PX100 device.
The limits is probably wrong and must be adjusted.
For other ATorch devices duplicate the #metadef section and adjust the name and parameters accordingly.
Also remember to remove duplicate devices from AtorchDevices file.

Please post the updates here and I will include them in the next release.

Hi HKJ,

I have to regrettably inform you that V1.52 didn't work with JL24, either. Nothing seems to have changed. Please let me know if there is any troubleshooting I can do.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1442 on: February 05, 2021, 08:24:45 am »
I have modified the PX100 definition to include DL24 and DL24P, I have also changed a D3 to D1, but I have not included the time & temperature.
Pukker and everybody else that wants them are, of course, welcome to add them again to their version.

I have also added a interface definition, this means the load will work with the load scripts, including the included "Battery discharge test" and "Load current sweep"

With the JL24 I do not have any good ideas. Do it connect more often now or is it the same?
 

Offline PaWill68

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 117
  • Country: ru
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1443 on: February 05, 2021, 08:48:09 am »
Hi HKJ.
You have an example of how to add calculated values to a chart. For example energy or capacitance based on current and voltage.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1444 on: February 05, 2021, 09:30:17 am »
Hi HKJ.
You have an example of how to add calculated values to a chart. For example energy or capacitance based on current and voltage.

Press F1 on the Math page, you will then get this page: https://lygte-info.dk/project/TestControllerMath%20UK.html

There are a couple of examples on the page, including power, capacity and energy.

Calculated values can be added before logging or after logging, but not during logging. It is also possible to change the formula after logging, then the calculated value will be update from the changed formula.
 
The following users thanked this post: PaWill68

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1445 on: February 05, 2021, 05:25:19 pm »
I have modified the PX100 definition to include DL24 and DL24P, I have also changed a D3 to D1, but I have not included the time & temperature.
Pukker and everybody else that wants them are, of course, welcome to add them again to their version.

Thanks for the new file. hmm, Yes, I've included the time and temperature.
I am facing a strange problem when using two units at the same time.
DL24 and RD6012. When I connect one of them they work perfect.
When starting both of them I have dropouts in the readings from the DL24.
Voltage, current, capacity reading jumps from correct to zero and back.
Only when I connect to the two units. See pictures.
The RD6012 as source and DL24 as load. Readings from RD6012 are stable.
Experimented with Readdelays, but no improvement.
« Last Edit: February 05, 2021, 05:27:53 pm by Pukker »
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1446 on: February 05, 2021, 05:43:18 pm »
I am facing a strange problem when using two units at the same time.
DL24 and RD6012. When I connect one of them they work perfect.
When starting both of them I have dropouts in the readings from the DL24.
Voltage, current, capacity reading jumps from correct to zero and back.
Only when I connect to the two units. See pictures.
The RD6012 as source and DL24 as load. Readings from RD6012 are stable.
Experimented with Readdelays, but no improvement.

I have no good idea, in TestController the two devices runs in separate threads, i.e. they are not supposed to affect each other in any way.
 

Offline HKJTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2904
  • Country: dk
    • Tests
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1447 on: February 06, 2021, 04:23:05 pm »
I am facing a strange problem when using two units at the same time.
DL24 and RD6012. When I connect one of them they work perfect.
When starting both of them I have dropouts in the readings from the DL24.
Voltage, current, capacity reading jumps from correct to zero and back.
Only when I connect to the two units. See pictures.
The RD6012 as source and DL24 as load. Readings from RD6012 are stable.
Experimented with Readdelays, but no improvement.

I have no good idea, in TestController the two devices runs in separate threads, i.e. they are not supposed to affect each other in any way.

One idea, but probably not very good.
Try adding a:

#readingDelay 2

After the #askValues line.

 

Offline Pukker

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: nl
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1448 on: February 06, 2021, 08:34:13 pm »
I am facing a strange problem when using two units at the same time........


I have no good idea, in TestController the two devices runs in separate threads, i.e. they are not supposed to affect each other in any way.

One idea, but probably not very good.
Try adding a:

#readingDelay 2

After the #askValues line.

Thanks HKJ for your attention, but does not help.

I saw later that I have, with only DL24 connected, also have some dropouts.
random after 20 minutes, 13 minutes and so on. No consequent pattern.
With both connected much more.

I have 2 DL24's, one older 2-wire version and one 4-wire version.
Both the same behaviour. Another and faster laptop shows the same behaviour.
Changed USB-cables, same behaviour.
Test with Battery test script, so I can see and hear Beep when there is a dropout,
because DL24 stops and beeps.

B.T.W. Strange me, how more struggling, how more I like the program.
 

Offline jk2017

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 14
  • Country: us
Re: Program that can log from many multimeters.
« Reply #1449 on: February 06, 2021, 10:55:05 pm »

With the JL24 I do not have any good ideas. Do it connect more often now or is it the same?

It seems about the same. But I noticed a difference between DL24P and JL24. DL24P sends data once every second regularly. On the other hand, JL24 sends data 3 to 5 times every second. It's continuous and fast. I recorded short movies of Termite outputs for both.
DL24P:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/o9YzSxjNgBEb4frV8

JL24:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/12FtvHFSGrgES1FS9

When I save the data from both devices using Atorch E_Test software, I get something like the following. Columns are Time, Voltage, Amps, and Watts.

DL24P:
16:48:47            12.4                6.997               86.7628
16:48:48            12.4                6.998               86.7752
16:48:49            12.4                6.997               86.7628
16:48:50            12.4                7.003               86.8372
16:48:51            12.4                7.002               86.8248
16:48:52            12.4                7.002               86.8248
16:48:53            12.4                6.997               86.7628
16:48:54            12.4                7.003               86.8372

JL24:
15:05:23            112.4               5.359               604.7
15:05:24            112.4               5.359               604.6
15:05:24            112.4               5.361               604.8
15:05:24            112.4               5.361               604.8
15:05:24            112.4               5.361               604.9
15:05:25            112.4               5.362               604.9
15:05:25            112.4               5.362               604.9
15:05:25            112.4               5.362               605
15:05:25            112.4               5.362               605
15:05:26            112.4               5.363               605.1
15:05:26            112.4               5.363               605
15:05:26            112.4               5.363               605
15:05:27            112.4               5.364               605.1
15:05:27            112.4               5.363               605
15:05:27            112.4               5.364               605.2
15:05:27            112.4               5.363               605

Does this give you any clue?

Thanks,
-JK
« Last Edit: February 06, 2021, 11:57:18 pm by jk2017 »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf