Author Topic: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers  (Read 627058 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28383
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2300 on: June 12, 2023, 09:05:46 pm »
Please take VNA discussion to the correct threads.  :horse:

FYI I currently don't have SVA1000X or SNA5000A demo models for tests as they have been sold to a customer and it seems the replacement SVA1032X (my fav) is presold before it arrives.  ::)

However I will take properly written up reports to Siglent for them to check although without the same instrument it's not possible to precheck your reports.
Feel free to make initial contact via PM after which we can share emails.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: RoV, RobbiTobi

Offline Mick B

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2301 on: June 22, 2023, 07:36:03 pm »
Hello TV84, I updated a new SSA3021X Plus and got to the part where we run the Python script, I keep getting an error "indentationError line 35: (do you know how to fix this?)
this is the online one. https://www.online-python.com/PX3v0J8nbs  or am I just doing somethin wrong?
« Last Edit: June 22, 2023, 07:39:39 pm by Mick B »
 

Offline tubularnut

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 225
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2302 on: June 22, 2023, 07:59:15 pm »
Python is very strict with regards to indentation, replace lines 25 onwards with this:

Code: [Select]
def gen(x):
    h = hashlib.md5((
        hashkey +
        Model.ljust(32, '\x00') +
        opt.ljust(5, '\x00') +
        HOSTID.upper().ljust(32, '\x00') +
        '\x00'*48).encode('ascii')
    ).digest()
    key = ''
    for b in h:
        if (b <= 0x2F or b > 0x39) and (b <= 0x60 or b > 0x7A):
            m = b % 0x24
            b = m + (0x57 if m > 9 else 0x30)
        if b == 0x30:
            b = 0x32
        if b == 0x31:
            b = 0x33
        if b == 0x6c:
            b = 0x6d
        if b == 0x6f:
            b = 0x70
        key += chr(b)
    return key.lower()

for opt in otheropt:
    print('{:5} {}'.format(opt, gen(HOSTID)))
 
The following users thanked this post: Mick B

Offline Mick B

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 80
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2303 on: June 22, 2023, 09:03:41 pm »
Thank you for the fix. I found a copy of this file from the last time I did this and used that. The problem is for new users, the online file is corrupt, I don't think I can edit the file that's online.  :-//
 

Offline tomud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 169
  • Country: pl
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2304 on: June 22, 2023, 11:39:17 pm »
Thank you for the fix. I found a copy of this file from the last time I did this and used that. The problem is for new users, the online file is corrupt, I don't think I can edit the file that's online.  :-//

this is exactly a problem with the online python interpreter that degrades the script (whitespace which is essential in python). Unfortunately, they broke something and after saving the script for sharing, we have this effect.

Here I am changing a link to another online python that works. Another way is to download the script and run it on your computer (requires python 3 installation)

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ssa3000x-spectrum-analyzers/msg4355635/#msg4355635
« Last Edit: June 22, 2023, 11:46:23 pm by tomud »
For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple neat and wrong...
 
The following users thanked this post: 807, Mick B

Offline Finity

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2305 on: June 23, 2023, 04:04:30 pm »
Have a SSA3021X plus improved to SVA1032, with all options now permanent. Many thanks to TV84 and others for the help.
Currently running firmware SVA 3.2.2.5.1R1. Does flashing the newer firmware 3.2.2.60R7 remove the options, or do they stick around after updating to the latest?

Thanks in advance :-+

Edit:If this needs to be posted in the SVA thread, I can do so. Not sure where to post with a “hybrid/improved” device.


Moved to SVA thread.
« Last Edit: June 23, 2023, 06:19:08 pm by Finity »
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28383
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2306 on: July 04, 2023, 08:55:44 pm »
Defpom gets a SSA3021X Plus..... < how long will it stay as that ?

Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 
The following users thanked this post: 807

Offline William_K

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 31
  • Country: se
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2307 on: July 15, 2023, 08:38:50 pm »
Just saw this enormous thread, but can a brand new SSA3021X-Plus still be cracked this day?

And I guess to buy one directly from Siglent is perhaps not a good idea if you want to have any small chance to crack it, aka all the options? So better from somewhere else and I think I have an idea.

And if I get it right so to crack it, it MUST be changed to a SVA1032X, there is no other way? Not only a SSA3021X-Plus and crack that to all options and still the same sort of speak?

Is there a page with all the steps to do? My python skills are non existent :( but I'm good at following steps. :)

 

Offline 807

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2308 on: July 15, 2023, 09:18:39 pm »
Just saw this enormous thread, but can a brand new SSA3021X-Plus still be cracked this day?

And I guess to buy one directly from Siglent is perhaps not a good idea if you want to have any small chance to crack it, aka all the options? So better from somewhere else and I think I have an idea.

And if I get it right so to crack it, it MUST be changed to a SVA1032X, there is no other way? Not only a SSA3021X-Plus and crack that to all options and still the same sort of speak?

Is there a page with all the steps to do? My python skills are non existent :( but I'm good at following steps. :)
I bought my SSA 3021X Plus in April & it upgraded with no problems. From reading this thread, I also thought that it had to be upgraded to an SVA first, but it doesn't. I've increased the frequency and enabled all the options whilst keeping it as an SSA. Go to the post by tomud linked below. Either run the online script or download the attachment to run it locally on your pc.

All you need to do is enter the Host ID from the analyzer & remove the # symbol from the #Model = 'SSA3000X_Plus' line. Also Refl needs to be replaced with CAT in the otheropt line.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-ssa3000x-spectrum-analyzers/msg4355635/#msg4355635
« Last Edit: July 15, 2023, 09:29:27 pm by 807 »
 
The following users thanked this post: William_K

Offline tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3221
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2309 on: July 15, 2023, 09:28:11 pm »
I bought my SSA 3021X Plus in April & it upgraded with no problems. From reading this thread, I also thought that it had to be upgraded to an SVA first, but it doesn't. I've increased the frequency and enabled all the options whilst keeping it as an SSA.

But it's still not a SVA...
 

Online TheDefpom

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 708
  • Country: nz
  • YouTuber Nerd - I Fix Stuff
    • The Defpom's Channel
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2310 on: July 15, 2023, 09:34:35 pm »
I got a unit in late June, latest major firmware revision of .6 not .5, downgraded and did the options first, then did the conversion to SVA, so yes it still works.
Cheers Scott

Check out my Electronics Repair, Mailbag, or Review Videos at https://www.youtube.com/TheDefpom
 
The following users thanked this post: William_K

Offline 807

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2311 on: July 15, 2023, 09:37:13 pm »
I bought my SSA 3021X Plus in April & it upgraded with no problems. From reading this thread, I also thought that it had to be upgraded to an SVA first, but it doesn't. I've increased the frequency and enabled all the options whilst keeping it as an SSA.

But it's still not a SVA...

No. My main upgrade was the 3032 (3.2GHz) option really. Wasn't interested in turning it into a VNA. Thought I might as well enable the other options though.
 

Offline tomud

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 169
  • Country: pl
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2312 on: July 16, 2023, 10:32:27 am »
I bought my SSA 3021X Plus in April & it upgraded with no problems. From reading this thread, I also thought that it had to be upgraded to an SVA first, but it doesn't. I've increased the frequency and enabled all the options whilst keeping it as an SSA.

But it's still not a SVA...

Yes exactly. Here the buyer has to answer whether he needs the VNA option that is added after conversion to the SVA model. If someone does not need the VNA option, just enable all options in SSA, including increasing the band to 3.2GHz.
For every complex problem, there is a solution that is simple neat and wrong...
 
The following users thanked this post: 807

Offline William_K

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 31
  • Country: se
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2313 on: July 17, 2023, 12:42:28 am »
Thanks guys! :)

But well April, is that close enough? I hope.

Might think could use the VNA for an antenna one day but it will not be for everyday use at all and a lot more stuff to get, filters will be more, so just good to have VNA otherwise? But way more complex to make what it seems.

So I actually also get 3.2GHz even if I don't upgrade to VNA? That is great, missed that one. Any higher with VNA?

Do the TG still work on the upgraded 3000-series for filter characterization? And I could do exactly the same on the 1000-series VNA, or?
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 28383
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2314 on: July 17, 2023, 12:54:56 am »
Any higher with VNA?
No, different HW.

Quote
Do the TG still work on the upgraded 3000-series for filter characterization? And I could do exactly the same on the 1000-series VNA, or?
The TG option is permanent in all models.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos
 

Offline 807

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2315 on: July 17, 2023, 09:31:02 am »
...So I actually also get 3.2GHz even if I don't upgrade to VNA?...

Yep. That's what I have done. See my before/after attachment.

Before upgrade, it's a 3021 with just the TG option enabled. After upgrade, it's a 3032 with all the options enabled.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2023, 09:35:25 am by 807 »
 

Offline William_K

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 31
  • Country: se
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2316 on: July 17, 2023, 02:21:37 pm »
I have not ordered the analyzer yet but that is sweet! Thanks to all of the involved for doing this possible! :-+

The .py file is changed and Refl is replaced with CAT. anything else in that file?

How then to run this python file to fix the analyzer? I'm on a Window OS. :(
 

Offline 807

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2317 on: July 17, 2023, 04:59:12 pm »
The easiest way is to click on the link in tomud's post (that I linked to above), & use the online python script. That way, you can get the keys without having to download anything. You can do a dummy run by uncommenting the #Model = 'SSA3021x_Plus' line & leaving the Host ID as all zeroes. When you execute the program, the keys will be shown on the right side of screen. Your own Host ID will be found on the system/system info page of the analyzer.

If you want to do it locally on your Windows pc, then download the attachment in tomud's post. You will then need to download & install Python on your pc. This includes a program called IDLE which you can use to edit & run the script.

When you have the keys, go to system/system info/Load Option on the analyzer to input the keys that matches the options you want.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2023, 05:02:56 pm by 807 »
 

Offline William_K

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 31
  • Country: se
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2318 on: July 17, 2023, 05:28:46 pm »
Aha so that's how it works, thanks! :) I thought you had to connect to the analyzer or anything but I guess that's more if you want SVA.

By the way if i upgrade it to 3032 can I then whenever I want upgrade that to the 1000-series in some way or is it permanently locked to 3032 since it was not done the right way in the beginning?

And do I need to do the 3032 key first and then all or just all is enough?
« Last Edit: July 17, 2023, 05:34:43 pm by William_K »
 

Offline 807

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 246
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2319 on: July 19, 2023, 10:40:14 am »
Aha so that's how it works, thanks! :) I thought you had to connect to the analyzer or anything but I guess that's more if you want SVA.

By the way if i upgrade it to 3032 can I then whenever I want upgrade that to the 1000-series in some way or is it permanently locked to 3032 since it was not done the right way in the beginning?

And do I need to do the 3032 key first and then all or just all is enough?

As I didn't want VNA features, I didn't choose the "All" key. I just put the relevant keys in one at a time (EMI, AMK, CAT, DMA, AMA, 3032). The other keys are for different models.

I assume that I can upgrade to SVA if I install the VNA key, but I don't need that option right now. I'm happy enough with a 3.2GHz Spec An with all the options enabled.  :-+

...and it will also need to be cross flashed with the SVA firmware of course.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2023, 10:57:44 am by 807 »
 

Offline mtnzap73

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 30
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2320 on: July 19, 2023, 10:35:39 pm »
A shoutout to tautech for helping me decide to go for the SSA3021X Plus! The forum was of course helpful.
Also a thumbs-up to Techno-Test, for the highly responsive process. They are located in Montreal, with fully bilingual staff.
Their response to emailed questions, with the right info was superior.
 

Offline William_K

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 31
  • Country: se
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2321 on: July 24, 2023, 10:38:20 am »
Quote
...and it will also need to be cross flashed with the SVA firmware of course

Thanks. Can it be flashed back to a ordinary one without SVA or that will be permanent?

And I think I saw some disadvantage with SVA like BW or something? Or maybe I was incorrect with this, or?
 

Online RoV

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 176
  • Country: it
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2322 on: July 24, 2023, 12:50:19 pm »
Thanks. Can it be flashed back to a ordinary one without SVA or that will be permanent?
And I think I saw some disadvantage with SVA like BW or something? Or maybe I was incorrect with this, or?

Regarding flashing back to SSA I don't know. Regarding BW don't worry: it is a VNA mode specific limitation, in SA mode the instrument is identical to an SSA.

Offline Bicurico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1714
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2323 on: July 24, 2023, 01:41:11 pm »
You can flash it back, but you need to adjust the Product ID, in order to be able to flash the SSA+ firmware. Basically you do the opposite cross-conversion, from a SVA1032 to the SSA3021+. The steps are the same, but the other way around.

There is no reason to do so: your warranty is voided anyway, as there will be remanescent information that points to the conversion having been made at some point and in SSA mode you have exactly the same functionality as with a SSA+ model.

If you are really paranoid about this, you could do a backup of the complete flash and then, when you want to restore the original state, you could flash the backup back. Correct me, if I am wrong, but this, however, is not totally free from risk, as the flashing routine might encounter a fault in your flash IC, preventing the completition of the flashing and rendering you with a brick.

Finally, there seems to be the possibility to restore a bricked device by means of a special recovery USB image. This is not public, though.

Summed up: get the SSA3021+, do the crossflash and generate keys for all options. Sit back and enjoy.
 
The following users thanked this post: 807

Offline William_K

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 31
  • Country: se
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #2324 on: July 26, 2023, 12:37:01 am »
Thanks for the info! About as i thought. So due the price I think I'll wait 3 years when the guarantee has went out to flash it then, because I'm not that keen on to buy a new one if its goes south.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2023, 04:57:18 am by William_K »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf