Author Topic: 4-layer PCB stackup for a pulse gen  (Read 867 times)

Offline metebalciTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
4-layer PCB stackup for a pulse gen
« on: April 02, 2021, 12:07:47 pm »

I am experimenting with a simple pulse gen design (oscillator IC + wideband opamp, tr<1ns). I need at least 2 VCCs (+5, -5 at the moment), a few 50-ohm traces, and edge mounted SMA. As far as I understand there are at least 3 possible ways to design PCB, and I am new to PCB design.

1) SIG-GND-GND-SIG: I tried this, and since the circuit is very simple and I did not put voltage regulators yet, it was enough to route both power and signals on layer 1.

2) SIG-GND-VCC-SIG: I guess then I divide the VCC layer into 2/3 sections for each VCC level I need.

3) GND-SIG-SIG-GND or something like this: I am not sure if this makes sense or have any pros over the options above. Also not sure how to properly mount the SMA connector at the edge in this case.

Which one would you prefer ? Particularly between 1 and 2.

Offline vad

• Frequent Contributor
Re: 4-layer PCB stackup for a pulse gen
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2021, 03:35:54 am »
SIG-GND-GND-SIG

Offline vad

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2021, 04:02:59 am »
I do not see much benefit in SIG-GND-VCC-SIG. There won’t be much added capacitance between VCC and GND in a 4-layer board (there would probably a thick core between layers 2 and 3).

Having solid GND next to each SIG plane always wins. Unless the board is a low density, placing components on external GND plane is also a compromise.

So SIG-GND-GND-SIG it is.

Online T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2021, 04:33:23 am »