Author Topic: rf amplifier AD9850  (Read 2157 times)

Offline xargonTopic starter

rf amplifier AD9850
« on: January 06, 2018, 11:34:08 am »
Hi guys I'm working on a project using a AD9850 DDS module to transmit signals to devices running on at least three separate frequencies (lets say 27Mhz, 38Mhz & 49Mhz). The AD9850 is being driven by a micro-controller and so far everything is working as expected. The only issue I now have is I only get about 5-10 meters of working signal range using a piece of wire as an antenna straight from the AD9850 output. I studied basic transistor amplifier circuits many years ago but I'm not sure where to start in designing an amplifier that can work at those three separate frequencies or where to start designing three separate amplifiers for each frequency range (I can be flexible here).

Basically if someone told me something along the lines of 'common emitter stage for some gain feeding into a common collector stage for more output power' I should be able to come up with something, but not sure what the simplest option is, or what type of setup to even begin looking at, software is more my thing these days.....

My other issue was how do I treat the load being a simple piece of wire for an antenna, I don't understand how to quantify it for design, as in it's not a 50ohm load or similar.

Thanks for any help/ideas :).

Offline danadak

• Super Contributor
  • Reactor Operator SSN-583, Retired EE
Love Cypress PSOC, ATTiny, Bit Slice, OpAmps, Oscilloscopes, and Analog Gurus like Pease, Miller, Widlar, Dobkin, obsessed with being an engineer

Offline orolo

• Frequent Contributor
Re: rf amplifier AD9850
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2018, 07:22:13 pm »