Author Topic: suddenly unable power up Tektronix 2235 (analog) oscilloscope  (Read 24247 times)

Offline mmFooDTopic starter

• Contributor
I have a tektronix 2235 that I have been using for a couple of months now. I forgot to turn it off for a couple of hours this morning with the probe connected to measure ripple/noise from a switch mode regulator. When finally I turned it off I didn't notice anything suspicious but after a while when I tried to start it up again it didn't work.

Normally when pressing the power button the CRT makes that same, kind of static noise that old TV's does, for a second or two. Now my scope makes this noice but repeatedly for only a tenth of a second or so and the power led is also flashing in the same manner. It goes on like this without showing anything on the display until I turn it off.

So I left it for a while before trying to open it up to see if I could find some obvious error inside but for some reason the last screw was a very small torx which I didn't have at the time so I will have to fetch one tomorrow. But I was wondering if anyone have some idea as to what could be broken? Or at least what to look for.

I'd be very thankful for any help on this issue!
« Last Edit: August 05, 2017, 12:35:19 pm by mmFooD »

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: suddenly unable to start Tektronix 2235 (analog) oscilloscope
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2017, 10:17:32 pm »
Welcome to the forum.

Sounds like the PSU is in tick mode and some guidance can probably be found in this recent thred:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/tektronix-2232-scope-in-need-of-a-doctor/
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

Online David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2017, 10:46:05 pm »
The aluminum electrolytic capacitors in the power supply have probably worn out and are in need of replacement.