Author Topic: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?  (Read 206901 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kr5j

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #275 on: January 31, 2017, 09:11:33 pm »
Finally was able to view the GPS L1 signal with the SSA3021X. Settings were:

Frequency: 1575.42 MHz
Span: 70 MHz
Amplitude: -97.80 dBm, Pre-Amp On, Atten = 0 dB, Scale: 1 dB/Division
Trace: Max Hold
BW: RBW = VBW = 100 kHz

See screen save.
 

Offline kr5j

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: us
Re: GPS Signal viewwed on a SSA3021X
« Reply #276 on: January 31, 2017, 09:32:33 pm »
I forgot to add the signal was from an amplified GPS antenna (looks like a small puck) by using a BNC T adapter so that the DC power could be connected to the antenna.
 

Offline KE5FX

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1108
  • Country: us
    • KE5FX.COM
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #277 on: January 31, 2017, 10:00:41 pm »
GPS signals are usually below the thermal floor.  Can you turn the antenna upside down or otherwise block it to verify that's what you're seeing?   You may be looking at the excess noise of the preamp, viewed through a SAW filter that's also inside the active antenna.
 

Offline kr5j

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #278 on: February 01, 2017, 03:46:43 am »
I will try that tomorrow and get a screen save. I have another spectrum analyzer which shows the same waveform but it is an Agilent unit and has a much lower noise floor than the Siglent so the amplitude is more pronounced. We'll see if the scan looks the same or is flat when I flip the antenna over. Thanks for the idea.
 

Offline nugglix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 209
  • Country: de
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #279 on: February 01, 2017, 07:58:10 am »
Looks like this is not the right thread.
 

Offline kr5j

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #280 on: February 01, 2017, 10:18:03 pm »
Yep its just noise through a filter!
 

Offline KE5FX

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1108
  • Country: us
    • KE5FX.COM
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #281 on: February 01, 2017, 10:20:50 pm »
Yep its just noise through a filter!

Look on the bright side, you've "hacked" your spectrum analyzer to turn it into a noise figure meter! :)  It's on-topic after all.
 
The following users thanked this post: casinada

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3142
  • Country: cn
  • Born with DLL21 in hand
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #282 on: February 02, 2017, 08:30:55 am »
Yep its just noise through a filter!

Look on the bright side, you've "hacked" your spectrum analyzer to turn it into a noise figure meter! :)  It's on-topic after all.

Technically this have nothing to do with hack - nothing. Exept that he used hacked SA. Without hack result is exactly same in this case.  Hack do not change any single thing what is affecting in this case AFAIK. If you have "alternative truth" in this matter I am happy if I hear it.
;)
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
-
Harmony OS
 

Offline nugglix

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 209
  • Country: de
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #283 on: February 02, 2017, 10:57:18 pm »
What feedback?
It's all described above.

And yes, it's solely your decision, you can't hold the "community" responsible is case of failure.
 

Offline videobruce

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #284 on: February 04, 2017, 06:09:36 pm »
Until firmware 7.07 flawless, and easy
"Easy"????
Easy for who, a VERY select few?  ???
 

Online Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 952
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #285 on: February 04, 2017, 06:14:51 pm »
@videobruce: What do you need?

Regards,
Vitor

Offline videobruce

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #286 on: February 04, 2017, 07:35:52 pm »
WE don't need more u-boob videos.  What, no one reads anymore?

Ever try to highlight videos??   :--
 

Offline Kitt

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #287 on: February 08, 2017, 04:53:50 am »
Hi everyone - My 3021 arrived 2 days ago and is still in the box.  No time to even open and check it.  I ordered it with TG.  As soon as I get chance I will take a look and see what its firmware is.  I suspect it is 8.01, so will be back with questions once I am ready to try and liberate it.

Cheers.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16965
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #288 on: February 08, 2017, 06:21:45 am »
Hi everyone - My 3021 arrived 2 days ago and is still in the box.  No time to even open and check it.  I ordered it with TG.  As soon as I get chance I will take a look and see what its firmware is.  I suspect it is 8.01, so will be back with questions once I am ready to try and liberate it.

Cheers.
Welcome to the forum.

I think it will be 8.01, the last unit I got from the factory was 8.01.
Evidently it's not a problem, just do your homework and don't be in a hurry.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline pe1oxp

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: nl
  • ~ Life is too short for QRP ~
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #289 on: February 09, 2017, 08:55:19 pm »
Our Chinese friend did some good work again, a new version of his Instructions to modify the SSA3021x is ready.
This Instructions replaces V0.3!
Thanks!

File MD5 sum: 007bc1ae20eb6835f993cbdd9ce64bd5
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, ekeppel, maurolon

Offline videobruce

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 376
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #290 on: February 09, 2017, 09:56:42 pm »
He sure knows how to spread things out..................
Too bad none are available 'till March 1 here.  :--
Quote
we checked with the warehouse in SOLON OHIO, and they have been experiencing delays due to the Asian holidays.
 

Online tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16965
  • Country: nz
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. NZ Siglent Distributor
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #291 on: February 09, 2017, 10:31:16 pm »
Our Chinese friend did some good work again, a new version of his Instructions to modify the SSA3021x is ready.
This Instructions replaces V0.3!
Thanks!

File MD5 sum: 007bc1ae20eb6835f993cbdd9ce64bd5
Don't you mean HER ?  ;)
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
 

Offline sq6emm

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: pl
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #292 on: February 15, 2017, 01:47:54 pm »
Anyone knows "magic keys" that will allow to enter calibration menu in SSA? Something similar to magic keys on Rigol DSA?
 

Offline Mark11

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: hr
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #293 on: February 19, 2017, 07:12:13 pm »
I want to backup all the files from my SSA3021X, just in case.  ;)

I have installed MobaXterm and can telnet to SSA but I have not any experience with telnet.

Could someone give me ''for dummies'' instructions how to copy directories with all the files from SSA to USB.

Thanks.
Martin
 

Online Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 952
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #294 on: February 19, 2017, 07:27:18 pm »
Please get familiar with Telnet/Busybox/Linux (in reverse order), first.

It is easy to cause damage through a simply typo - remember that you are logged in as root!

The command you need is "mv", but you may need to use options like "-r" for recursive. But: you cannot just copy the relevant folders of the Siglent software, as the USB disk is mounted inside the application folder and hence it would be a catch-22.

Get the document everyon is talking about in the last few pages of this thread and read it carefully: it explaines everything in detail, even for people less experienced.

Cheers,
Vitor
 
The following users thanked this post: Mark11

Online kcbrown

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 391
  • Country: us
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #295 on: February 19, 2017, 08:39:42 pm »
The command you need is "mv", but you may need to use options like "-r" for recursive. But: you cannot just copy the relevant folders of the Siglent software, as the USB disk is mounted inside the application folder and hence it would be a catch-22.

If it's got anything close to a recent command set, then "cp" should have a "-x" option that will prevent it from traversing across filesystems.  With that option (hence, "cp -rx ..." instead of "cp -r ..."), you should be able to copy the relevant folders of the Siglent software to the USB drive.

Do a "cp --help" to see the options it supports before trying the above, just to be sure.  If it's actually using BusyBox then it probably won't support the "-x" option.
« Last Edit: February 19, 2017, 08:42:39 pm by kcbrown »
 
The following users thanked this post: Mark11

Online Bicurico

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 952
  • Country: pt
    • VMA's Satellite Blog
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #296 on: February 19, 2017, 08:44:24 pm »
Please allow me to correct myself. For a backup you obviously want to do a cp and not a mv.

 
The following users thanked this post: Mark11

Offline Mark11

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: hr
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #297 on: February 20, 2017, 07:54:18 am »
Thanks Vitor and kcbrown.
I am going to read.
 

Online TurboTom

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 704
  • Country: de
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #298 on: February 20, 2017, 08:12:26 am »
Mark11 -

the "cp" command lets you only access those partitions that are mounted in the file system. Moreover, the files to be copied must not be access restricted. But it's well worth to have a file copy of the calibration directory and the original configuration / license files of your machine. For a complete safety backup, it's prudent to use the "dd" command like I explained here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hack-of-sigllent-spectrum-analyzer-ssa3021x/msg1109033/#msg1109033. You won't be able to access individual files easily but it's possible to revive a machine with a broken file system.

I join in with Bicurico's recommendation to make yourself familiar with Linux (and especially the console commands) at least a little since it's quite easy to break something... On the other hand, almost everything can be fixed as well, that is if you know how it's done  ;).

Cheers,
Thomas
 
The following users thanked this post: Mark11

Offline dpenev

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 144
Re: Hack of Sigllent spectrum analyzer ssa3021X?
« Reply #299 on: February 20, 2017, 11:04:55 pm »
Hello,

I have decide to make a backup of my Analyzer, just in case.
All mtd partitions copies OK except the rootfs

It is on 100.01.02.07.07

root@am335x-evm:~# dd if=/dev/mtdblock7 of=/usr/bin/siglent/usr/mass_storage/U-disk0/mtdblock7-P0707.img
dd: /dev/mtdblock7: Input/output error 

the ubi device copies without issue.

dd if=/dev/ubi0_0 of=/usr/bin/siglent/usr/mass_storage/U-disk0/backup/ubi0_0-P0703.img

I have tried with and without ecomb  and still the same issue.
With ecomb killed I can read more data from the rootfs.
I have tried several times (without ecomb) and the Input/output error appears on the same place (I get each time the same 37760KB file)

In the boot log I don't see issue with the ubi mounting

[    0.310511] UBI: attaching mtd7 to ubi0
[    0.310530] UBI: physical eraseblock size:   131072 bytes (128 KiB)
[    0.310541] UBI: logical eraseblock size:    126976 bytes
[    0.310550] UBI: smallest flash I/O unit:    2048
[    0.310560] UBI: VID header offset:          2048 (aligned 2048)
[    0.310570] UBI: data offset:                4096
[    0.721635] UBI: max. sequence number:       4
[    0.736210] UBI: attached mtd7 to ubi0
[    0.736223] UBI: MTD device name:            "File System"
[    0.736233] UBI: MTD device size:            43 MiB
[    0.736242] UBI: number of good PEBs:        344
[    0.736250] UBI: number of bad PEBs:         0
[    0.736258] UBI: number of corrupted PEBs:   0
[    0.736266] UBI: max. allowed volumes:       128
[    0.736274] UBI: wear-leveling threshold:    4096
[    0.736282] UBI: number of internal volumes: 1
[    0.736291] UBI: number of user volumes:     1
[    0.736298] UBI: available PEBs:             0
[    0.736307] UBI: total number of reserved PEBs: 344
[    0.736316] UBI: number of PEBs reserved for bad PEB handling: 9
[    0.736326] UBI: max/mean erase counter: 1/0
[    0.736334] UBI: image sequence number:  447755961
[    0.736445] UBI: background thread "ubi_bgt0d" started, PID 479

So all this is strange. Anyone observing something similar?

I am afraid I may have a nand flash issue which may reveal on the firmware update.   

Thanks
Dimitar
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf