Author Topic: Siglent SDS2000X Plus  (Read 759918 times)

Offline mawyatt

• Super Contributor
Re: Siglent SDS2000X Plus
« Reply #2500 on: March 13, 2021, 02:53:37 pm »
Not to clutter up the great dialog going on, I agree with 2N3055 assessment of what is being displayed, also good job of explaining  :-+

Best, 
Curiosity killed the cat, also depleted my wallet!
~Wyatt Labs by Mike~

The following users thanked this post: 2N3055

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
« Reply #2501 on: March 13, 2021, 03:08:40 pm »
The oem probe should behave the same.

As Thomas already mentioned in the video the +/-2ns jitter is normal due to the 500Mhz sampling frequency of the digital acquisition.
And of course you will see this jitter on all analog channels if trigger on a digital channel.

@Thomas
I believe your divider is overcompensated. In the video you got -16ns skew a about 4ns risetime, now at 13ns risetime it is only -8ns skew.
The skew should be independent of risetime at approximatly -4ns. This value is due to the missing coax extension between adapter and pods on the oem probe.
It can be eleminated by deskew setting of digital inputs.

edit:
@tubularnut
Just saw your reply. Seems like you also have -4ns with the oem probe. How long was the coax from tee to C1 input?
There is also jitter among the digital channels, I am not an expert and I assume the digital channel acquisition is serialized, so actual sample rate to determine possible jitter should be 500MSa/s divided by 16 (number of channels) or 50 nanoseconds?  I don't have the scope anymore to test, but it is what I observed once and I tried to compare it to higher end Agilent Logic Analyzers with 2GSa/s or more and still can see the jitter.

As I said, I am not an expert and just curious to see if my assumptions are correct.  I would appreciate any feedback from the gurus on this forum.

Offline oz2cpu

• Frequent Contributor