Author Topic: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread  (Read 15512746 times)

Online mnementh

• Super Contributor
  • *Hiding in the Dwagon-Cave*
Re: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread
« Reply #26775 on: March 08, 2019, 03:49:29 pm »
@mnem: screw those huntron prices. You could get a better engineer for that much more cash.  BTW you got me started on STM32 now. After much googleage I found this: http://kevincuzner.com/2016/05/22/dev-boards-where-were-going-we-wont-need-dev-boards/ ... and they have 12 bit ADCs which solves a bit of a problem I have at the moment.

Don't expect too much from those ADCs. While I have no experience with STMs, I'm happy when I get 10 usable bits from my RX ADCs (they're also 12 bit). The lower bits are fine for gathering entropy, though.  ;D

Oversample all the problems away  :-DD

I’ve got some 12 bit microchip ADCs which aren’t as noisy. I was going to use one of them before. I’ve looked at ST but I still can’t be arsed. I can do it with an AVR with virtually zero toolchain or further knowledge investment. AVR will talk to the ADC and go to sleep until the ADC is ready.

I’ve got 0.1dB resolution over a dynamic range of 70dB so 10 bits is probably fine TBH.

Yup. This is a known issue with the ADCs in pretty much all general purpose microprocessors; the noise inherent in being made on the same die as the working horsepower, especially on GPIO format ports. As bd sez... oversample the hell out of it, narrow the bandwidth to just what you absolutely need, and live with 8-10 bits of actual resolution from a "12-bit" ADC. If you need more, go external ADC over SPI bus. But then you get into crazy filtering code and shit, where your "signal" can be as much artifact as real ADC.  |O

mnem
No... not I2C... just think of the bits... all the poor little bits.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2019, 03:53:33 pm by mnementh »