Author Topic: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread  (Read 15237843 times)

Mortymore, xrunner, msliva, nfmax and 29 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline beanflying

• Super Contributor
  • Toys so very many Toys.
Re: Test Equipment Anonymous (TEA) group therapy thread
« Reply #40075 on: September 29, 2019, 01:53:35 pm »
No need to fisticuffs just rational real world experience compared to 'being generous' over stated BS from someone with about zero real world use is and currently remains the issue.

I was thinking on this much earlier in the day about the first soldering iron and the kits I tried assembling. Sometimes it got the job so hot the tracks fell of and the odd early IC failed. These days with practice, real world experience and use flicking on my modern irons and even with aging eyes and shakey hands from the coffee intake I can manage a reasonable job on 0603's if I have to. Doesn't mean I want to do it for a living but it is easy with modern gear and practice.

3D printing is similar but the rate of advancement and simplicity of use compared to only a few years ago is dramatic and with some actual use and practical application the results are fairly good and fairly easy to achieve and getting better all the time.

I will drop my settings up tomorrow to for the Ender and CR-10S to suit the new version of Prusa Slicer (brand new version of sli3erPE). Won't be perfect but it will be close for the same printers and PLA or PETG, most likely just tweak the retraction settings by +-1mm for a start but otherwise will get you rolling. I resisted changing from the old sli3erPE for a while but easy to save out your settings and then upload them into the current and much improved one https://github.com/prusa3d/PrusaSlicer/releases
Coffee, Food, R/C and electronics nerd in no particular order. Also CNC wannabe, 3D printer and Laser Cutter Junkie and just don't mention my TEA addiction....

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor