// //

eevBLAB #37 – Youtube Copyright Trolls

Dave got hit with seven Copyright Content ID claims for background music used in his video, from a company called Adrev a.k.a “Adrev for Rights Holders”

2ND UPDATE: (From SmartSound)

Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We actually do not use AdRev, or any other company, for Content ID, but we do work with them to release incorrect copyright claims. Since all of our music is royalty-free, flagging our own music would be counter-productive for us. These claims do come up for some music in our library that was originally licensed from the original composer on a non-exclusive basis. This music is indeed royalty-free when purchased from us, but the composer may also be selling the music through other methods that are not royalty-free, and YouTube cannot tell the difference, so it flags the video. These claims are quickly released using the methods listed on our website here: http://www.smartsound.com/support/supportFAQ/#RFM_youtube

However, the music tracks that you reference in the video, “Clear Vision” and “Wild Chase”, are actually owned exclusively by SmartSound and should not be in Content ID at all. In fact, these are 2 of the 5 free tracks that are included with our Sonicfire Pro software that anyone can download for free. It seems that someone has taken these tracks and uploaded them to Content ID and claimed them as their own and is now trying to collect revenue. We take this very seriously and are already working to remove the fraudulent claims for these tracks. SmartSound music is 100% licensed to be used on monetized YouTube videos, and even though Content ID will flag first and ask questions later, we have found that AdRev and other similar companies are usually quick to remove the claims when they are incorrect. Disputing the claim through YouTube never seems to get very far, but using the advice from the link above and notifying AdRev directly through the link in our FAQ should resolve the issue in a timely manner.

Again, thank you for bringing this to light. This is a case of someone fraudulently claiming our music as their own, and we will get to the bottom of it immediately. If you have any questions please feel free to let me know.

Best regards,
SmartSound Software, a label of Eins Medien GmbH

P.S. I have also heard from the head of SmartSound. All claims have been released now but I received another 3 new claims overnight. They should get sorted too.

About EEVblog

Check Also

eevBLAB 106 – ChatGPT & AI Has Changed EVERYTHING

ChatGPT has changed everything in the space of a month.2023 will be the year of …