Author Topic: DIY Scalable Bench Power Supply Design  (Read 116381 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
Re: 0-20V 0-3A Bench Power Supply Design
« Reply #200 on: January 05, 2015, 02:11:41 pm »
Did you already find an appropriate P-ch mosfet for LTC3824?
Haven't looked but it shouldn't be difficult to find one. I only need to balance Rds(ON) and CGS. Higher input capacitance means more drive current for the LTC3824 but also lower Rds(ON) usually. A 100V MOSFET like the IRF9520 or IRF9530 should do.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline cd-i

« Reply #201 on: January 06, 2015, 02:58:07 pm »
Hello

I might be a bit "out of topic" since you are discussing about preregulators again, but I found some interesting current monitors that might be useful for you.
http://www.diodes.com/datasheets/ZXCT1082_87.pdf
Take a look maybe you can use these to simplify your design.

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #202 on: January 06, 2015, 06:34:08 pm »
Hello

I might be a bit "out of topic" since you are discussing about preregulators again, but I found some interesting current monitors that might be useful for you.
http://www.diodes.com/datasheets/ZXCT1082_87.pdf
Take a look maybe you can use these to simplify your design.
Had a look and ruled them out for the same reason I ruled out the INA168 - Error vs. VSENSE. If you take a look at the graph on page 7 this basically gives a 1:10 (maybe 1:20) range for current measurement, that's why I ended up with a discrete solution.

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #203 on: January 11, 2015, 09:55:26 am »
A few more simulations revealed that the linear part is an unstable mess and that's probably the last nail in the coffin for this project.

Offline prasimix

• Supporter
    • EEZ
« Reply #204 on: January 11, 2015, 10:08:47 am »