Author Topic: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes  (Read 157378 times)

nelson_mendes and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online nctnico

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 17657
  • Country: nl
    • NCT Developments
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #200 on: December 14, 2018, 03:35:38 pm »
Paper, Movable type printing, GunPowder, The compass, Alcohol, Clocks, Tea Production, Silk, Umbrellas, Iron Smelthing, Bronze, Kites, Growing food in rows, Toothbrushes, and paper money.   
:palm: The Egyptians build pyramids long before that. Look at them today. Roman empire: same story. You have to look at the more recent history to see why the Chinese need to catch up so much when it comes to engineering and producing a good product.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.
 

Online BravoV

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6102
  • Country: 00
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #201 on: December 14, 2018, 04:06:52 pm »
Certainly not in this thread. Take it elsewhere please?

+1

C'mon guys, please, this is technical thread, please take your hate on the Rigol's product and also xenophobic stuffs  :palm: out of here, again, please.

Also for the Rigol competing parties, you know who you are, even you keep pretending to be casual end user, it isn't nice to keep bashing this product in this particular "technical" discussion if you don't have any interest on it.

Totally understand you feel really threatened by this Rigol's move, that probably may affect your sales on Rigol competing brand scope that you're selling, again, this is not the right place.

"Constantly" bashing this product and Rigol brand ? Please, again pretty please, vent it here at the official Dave's video blog thread ..

 -> EEVblog #1146 - New Low Cost Rigol MSO5000 Oscilloscope
« Last Edit: December 14, 2018, 04:08:23 pm by BravoV »
 
The following users thanked this post: Sparky, TopLoser

Offline TK

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1119
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #202 on: December 14, 2018, 04:31:22 pm »
Rigol needs to recover the $$$ from the custom ASIC R&D and using them in as many models as possible makes a lot of sense
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9980
  • Country: 00
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #203 on: December 14, 2018, 05:43:15 pm »
I think its helpful in the background information for working out why Rigol have released a product in the way they have.

Simple: They've been allowing hacks for many years now and know the economics, numbers and demographics of the people doing it.

They know it makes business sense to sell oscilloscopes that way.

ie. They'd rather sell one of these to hacker and make $100 than watch that same hacker buy a Siglent.

PS: What would be the BOM on one of these? I bet they still make a couple of hundred bucks even if they sell one for $999.

(and most people will  pay $999 for a "four channel" model just to get four decent probes)
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 860
  • Country: pt
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #204 on: December 14, 2018, 10:56:44 pm »
Rigol needs to recover the $$$ from the custom ASIC R&D and using them in as many models as possible makes a lot of sense

Indeed, the FW has references and looks like it can be used for:

DS/MSO5000, DS/MSO7000, DS/MSO8000 and DS/MSO9000

The app can even be called with the parameter -ds8000 but I have no feedback on what are the consequences besides slightly changing the Info Version menu. If anyone discovers that, please share.

« Last Edit: December 14, 2018, 11:07:40 pm by tv84 »
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1854
  • Country: gb
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #205 on: December 14, 2018, 11:06:28 pm »
Is the same firmware used on the 5000 and 7000 models or do we need to wait for a 5000 version update to know that?

Keysight 2000 and 3000 series used same firmware so I guess it’s possible?
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1854
  • Country: gb
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #206 on: December 14, 2018, 11:22:18 pm »
Interesting times ahead... Rigol seem to have their future planned round this chipset so frequent updates should be assured.

I’m hoping to get access to a 3 GHz signal generator soon, have the ‘fully featured’ 5074 sweep it with the enabled AFG and see what the response is.
 

Offline Commodore8888

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 27
  • Country: us
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #207 on: December 15, 2018, 12:08:53 am »
Confirming the rather funny ssh root/root situation.

Couple DS7000s we got at work today. Walked right in. SCP'd some nice screen saver images over while I was in there. Being they're work machines, I didn't want to run right into using --fullopt. Instead, prolly spend Monday picking through what that touches.

Eyeballing a DS5000 right now. Dim screen reports have me a little worried though. It's a different screen than the 7k, so can't use it for reference (which, in person, is fairly decent screen wise).

Those BW strcpy's are a little funny. 4G.....Rigol seems pretty optimistic in the future it seems :P
Mike D
 

Offline tv84

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 860
  • Country: pt
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #208 on: December 15, 2018, 08:52:23 am »
Couple DS7000s we got at work today. Walked right in. SCP'd some nice screen saver images over while I was in there. Being they're work machines, I didn't want to run right into using --fullopt. Instead, prolly spend Monday picking through what that touches.

You don't need to make any change. Just get in, kill the app and launch it with the parameter. It's "safe", it's a feature.
 

Offline mrpackethead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2799
  • Country: nz
  • D Size Cell
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #209 on: December 15, 2018, 10:46:32 am »

the root/root is the default user/pass that Xilinx use in their linux distributions.    It appears Rigol did'nt bother to change it.


Confirming the rather funny ssh root/root situation.

Couple DS7000s we got at work today. Walked right in. SCP'd some nice screen saver images over while I was in there. Being they're work machines, I didn't want to run right into using --fullopt. Instead, prolly spend Monday picking through what that touches.

Eyeballing a DS5000 right now. Dim screen reports have me a little worried though. It's a different screen than the 7k, so can't use it for reference (which, in person, is fairly decent screen wise).

Those BW strcpy's are a little funny. 4G.....Rigol seems pretty optimistic in the future it seems :P
On a quest to find increasingly complicated ways to blink things
 

Offline martin.hoeer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #210 on: December 16, 2018, 09:42:10 pm »
@TV84

Please let me know where to enter /rigol/shell/start.sh and the other stuff. I tried ultrasigma and Putty but was not successfull.

Martin
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1854
  • Country: gb
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #211 on: December 16, 2018, 10:30:05 pm »
I downloaded PUTTY and connected to the IP address that my MSO5000 displayed on the interface info page. Use SSH on default port 22.

Enter the ‘root’, ‘root’ as username and password.

Usual linux ‘cd /rigol/shell’ command to get to the correct directory

Then ‘vi start.sh’ to edit the file

Google VI to find out how to edit the file, it’s not that bad.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2018, 06:25:35 pm by TopLoser »
 
The following users thanked this post: Sparky

Offline orion242

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 697
  • Country: us
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #212 on: December 17, 2018, 01:59:52 am »
Somewhat of a disappointment.  Was hoping to hear the long story on breaking this guy.

Now with info at hand, I'm left wondering do I go MSO7x or MSO5x.  I had the original 1054 and when the 'Z' came out, quickly swapped out.  So 5x or 7x has me ready to again upgrade in the Rigol path.  Would be nice to see Dave address current state of things.

Sells scopes, IMO.   I may not need it at the hobby level, but I want it at the price....  Bigger screens, big plus alone.  Should be able to get a few bucks for what I have currently.  Its an interesting path to market.
« Last Edit: December 17, 2018, 02:11:42 am by orion242 »
 

Offline MrW0lf

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 921
  • Country: ee
    • lab!fyi
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #213 on: December 17, 2018, 09:53:05 am »
Now with info at hand, I'm left wondering do I go MSO7x or MSO5x.

Note that 7 has just as slow FFT as 5 looking ad random demo videos. Far slower than Zynq based or PC scopes. At price point they sell 5 it is more less understandable but for 7 bit weird. Dunno if it can be made better with firmware tweaks or processing power is just not there.

 

Offline mrpackethead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2799
  • Country: nz
  • D Size Cell
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #214 on: December 17, 2018, 10:51:52 am »
The GEL file format for this interation may be differnet from previous versions;    ( https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-dsxxxx-gel-firmware-file-format/msg982910/#msg982910  ).     The python scripts that were used previously dont' seem to make much sense.

Anyone got any tips. 


C:\Users\OEM\Downloads>python unpack.py rigolfirmware\firmware.gel.tar
instrument series:      fw4linux.sh
firmware version:
updateType:     0x00000000
found 0 files

writing /header  (40 bytes)

original filesize:      70021120
bytes processed:        40

C:\Users\OEM\Downloads>

On a quest to find increasingly complicated ways to blink things
 

Offline martin.hoeer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #215 on: December 17, 2018, 02:03:12 pm »
@TopLoser

Thank you for your description. With Putty, I can successfully connect to my MSO5104. It answers the command *IDN? correctly. But I have not been able to gain 'root' access to proceed with the other steps. Can you help me?

Thank you.

Martin
 

Offline Kean

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 895
  • Country: au
  • Embedded systems & IT consultant
    • Kean Electronics
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #216 on: December 17, 2018, 02:08:05 pm »
@TopLoser

Thank you for your description. With Putty, I can successfully connect to my MSO5104. It answers the command *IDN? correctly. But I have not been able to gain 'root' access to proceed with the other steps. Can you help me?

Thank you.

Martin

Are you connecting with SSH on port 22?  Sounds like you may be using port 5555.
 

Online Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9980
  • Country: 00
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #217 on: December 17, 2018, 02:33:23 pm »
Thank you for your description. With Putty, I can successfully connect to my MSO5104. It answers the command *IDN? correctly.

You're on the wrong port. That's not command shell access, it's SCPI access.
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1854
  • Country: gb
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #218 on: December 17, 2018, 03:59:57 pm »
Yes, use SSH on port 22.

Missed that info out as my scope is 5000 miles away at the moment. I’ve updated the post I made.
 

Offline riccardo.pittini

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 39
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #219 on: December 17, 2018, 05:52:11 pm »
Has someone tried to verify if the "upgrade" enables also the other two channels on the MSO5XX2?  ^-^
 

Offline martin.hoeer

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: de
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #220 on: December 17, 2018, 05:53:07 pm »
Guys,

thank you for your speedy replies.

With  Putty set to SSH and port 22, I get the reply 'login as:'.
When I enter 'admin', I get the following request: 'admin@'IP address of my scope' password:'.
When I enter 'rigol' I get the reply 'Access denied.'

I thought this was the standard user name and password to be used.

I appreciate your patience with me and look forward to your replies.

Martin
 

Offline darthcloud

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ca
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #221 on: December 17, 2018, 05:54:09 pm »
Come on read the thread..
 

Offline mrpackethead

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2799
  • Country: nz
  • D Size Cell
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #222 on: December 17, 2018, 05:58:23 pm »
when it says login as:   use root
when it asks for password:  use root

 

Guys,

thank you for your speedy replies.

With  Putty set to SSH and port 22, I get the reply 'login as:'.
When I enter 'admin', I get the following request: 'admin@'IP address of my scope' password:'.
When I enter 'rigol' I get the reply 'Access denied.'

I thought this was the standard user name and password to be used.

I appreciate your patience with me and look forward to your replies.

Martin
On a quest to find increasingly complicated ways to blink things
 

Offline TopLoser

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1854
  • Country: gb
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #223 on: December 17, 2018, 06:24:25 pm »
Has someone tried to verify if the "upgrade" enables also the other two channels on the MSO5XX2?  ^-^

No they haven’t, but tv84 thinks it won’t.  I’m not sure it’s worth saving 90 euros to find out the hard way. Buy the 4 channel model and you get 2 extra 350MHz probes and a warranty that covers all 4 channels.

But it would be interesting to have somebody verify it.
 

Offline imo

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1757
  • Country: 00
Re: Hacking the Rigol MSO5000 series oscilloscopes
« Reply #224 on: December 17, 2018, 07:10:40 pm »
when it says login as:   use root
when it asks for password:  use root
when it says "login as" use: root
when it asks for "password" use: root
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf