Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1596571 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1505
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1425 on: May 19, 2015, 03:27:53 pm »
I just did a capture in Putty , and displayed with Bless (Linux Hexeditor)

My capture is 1.2MB in size , and has a BMP Header


So it seems the DS1054Z also sends bitmaps , and the Py program is converting to .png

/Bingo

 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1505
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1426 on: May 19, 2015, 03:44:32 pm »
@miguelvp
Did you modify Alec's VXI11 in order to run the program ?

I might give it a shot , but miss a "short stepguide" in order to install it (vxi11) , and the other ones he has.

/Bingo

 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1427 on: May 19, 2015, 03:49:46 pm »
@miguelvp
Did you modify Alec's VXI11 in order to run the program ?

I might give it a shot , but miss a "short stepguide" in order to install it (vxi11) , and the other ones he has.

/Bingo

No modification, I guess I modified the comment and forgot to take out the modified part.

As for installing, in the readme in:
https://github.com/alexforencich/python-vxi11

the installation is:
python setup.py install

Edit:
Also I did modify the ping to have a timeout other than the default one with -w 20 for 20 milliseconds for the ping.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2015, 03:52:03 pm by miguelvp »
 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1505
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1428 on: May 19, 2015, 04:43:20 pm »
New firmware version for the DS1054Z ??


The link here points to DS1ZUpdate_00.04.02.04.07.ZIP
http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

But inside that zip there's a directory named : DS1000ZUpdate_00.04.03.00.01

The Germans have tried it  (or at least one)
https://www.mikrocontroller.net/topic/360631#4127635

Strange that Rigol forgot to update the html page, with the new version inside the ZIP.

I hope that ISO9000 sometime will require that releasenotes should be embedded in the zip archive.
Maybe that would get Rigol to make them.


/Bingo
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 134
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1429 on: May 20, 2015, 06:08:29 am »
Hi,

Rigol DS1054Z
SW. 00.04.02 SP4
HW 0.1.1
With all updates incl. 5mV option.

Updated with the firmware link over my post. Auto-Calibration with the cold scope.

5mV option still not usable. Hardware version was 0.2.2 after reboot and cal. The bugs must be resoldered my board.  ;)
After a few restarts it's back to HW. 0.1.1 now. (the bugs seems still soldering.)
Checked maybe 5min. and I see no differents. More later, have to work.

« Last Edit: May 20, 2015, 06:10:02 am by Fennec »
 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1430 on: May 20, 2015, 07:41:03 am »
@miguelvp
Did you modify Alec's VXI11 in order to run the program ?

I might give it a shot , but miss a "short stepguide" in order to install it (vxi11) , and the other ones he has.

/Bingo

I got 4 seconds transfers via VXI-11, way faster than even a thumb drive attached to the scope.

I'm following this subtopic here:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/python-based-instrument-control/msg676772/#msg676772

This probably applies to other rigol tools as well that are slower on ethernet than using usb, like Marmad's RUU
 

Offline timofonic

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 904
  • Country: es
  • Eternal Wannabe Geek
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1431 on: May 20, 2015, 12:38:27 pm »
@miguelvp
Did you modify Alec's VXI11 in order to run the program ?

I might give it a shot , but miss a "short stepguide" in order to install it (vxi11) , and the other ones he has.

/Bingo

I got 4 seconds transfers via VXI-11, way faster than even a thumb drive attached to the scope.

I'm following this subtopic here:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/python-based-instrument-control/msg676772/#msg676772

This probably applies to other rigol tools as well that are slower on ethernet than using usb, like Marmad's RUU
I'm a total layman. Maybe the ethernet controller is connected by USB and causes a bottleneck?
 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1505
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1432 on: May 20, 2015, 08:55:36 pm »


I got 4 seconds transfers via VXI-11, way faster than even a thumb drive attached to the scope.


Great find  :-+ :-+ (debugging)

Now i'll have to install VXI-11 , also because i know Alex might have improved the linux-gpib support

/Bingo
 

Offline DarrylP796

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope - discount code needed
« Reply #1433 on: May 23, 2015, 02:16:57 am »
Can someone PM me the Tequipment.net discount code.  I need a new 'scope!

Thank you.

Darryl
 

Offline nanofrog

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5448
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope - discount code needed
« Reply #1434 on: May 23, 2015, 07:16:27 pm »
Can someone PM me the Tequipment.net discount code.  I need a new 'scope!

Thank you.

Darryl
PM sent.

BTW, wrong thread.  :o  :box:
 

Offline Vostro

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: za
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1435 on: May 25, 2015, 03:12:58 pm »
Recently I was trying to figure out why one of my RP2200 probes was completely unusable at 1:1 attenuation. The switch seemed to be a bit dicky so I took the plastic bit off and here is what I found.

I don't know whether this was done on purpose or it's just a flash from injection molding, but it seems to prevent the switch from sliding into the '1x' position properly. So I scraped this bit off and sanded the area with a small file, and guess what - my probe is usable at 1:1 once again!

Thanks for the tip, All 4 of my probes were 'jumpy' on the x1 setting but no problem on the 10x setting

I took the yellow selector knob off and cut away that bit of plastic.

Great news is that all 4 probes are perfectly stable at 1x setting now, much happier.

Regards
Just ONE more try...
 

Offline bingo600

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1505
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1436 on: May 27, 2015, 04:26:06 pm »
I have just RMA'ed my DS1054Z at Batronix  :(
I have had it just a week.

It locks up after a few hours turn on time , and all buttons are dead.
Sometimes it locks up showing the captured waveform , and sometimes it crashes and shows garbage on the screen, like the attached picture.

Will let you know how it goes   :'( :'( :'(

/Bingo

Followup here  :-\
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/batronix-a-mixed-ds1054z-rma-experience/
« Last Edit: June 06, 2015, 08:41:27 am by bingo600 »
 

Offline Dave Turner

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 439
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1437 on: May 27, 2015, 06:13:45 pm »
I wonder whether the continuing reports of dodgy probes is a result of success! I bought my 1074-S nearly 2 years ago and have encountered no problems with my probes (so far).
 

Offline kenw232

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1438 on: May 29, 2015, 04:06:59 am »
I don't want to read 500 posts.  Is the jitter problem, as well as any other bugs, fixed now for the DS1054Z?  Will I have to upgrade the firmware if its fixed, or will it come fixed?
 

Offline Solder_Junkie

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1439 on: May 29, 2015, 07:10:34 am »
A friend received his 1054Z last week and it came with the latest firmware (4.02?) and that fixes the jitter problem.
I don't know about fixes for anything else, it was also still "hackable" if that matters to you.
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3658
  • Country: de
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1440 on: May 29, 2015, 08:55:12 am »
I don't want to read 500 posts.  Is the jitter problem, as well as any other bugs, fixed now for the DS1054Z?  Will I have to upgrade the firmware if its fixed, or will it come fixed?
It should be sufficient to read the first post of this thread, where rolycat is maintaining a short FAQ section which answers this and other questions.
 

Offline Dave Turner

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 439
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1441 on: May 29, 2015, 07:46:48 pm »
kenw32 - that's partly why the thread is so long - OOPS  :-DD
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1866
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1442 on: May 29, 2015, 11:11:47 pm »
A friend received his 1054Z last week and it came with the latest firmware (4.02?) and that fixes the jitter problem.
I don't know about fixes for anything else, it was also still "hackable" if that matters to you.

Rigol posted new firmware at  http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0  with the fix for the jitter problem.

The zip filename shows version 00.04.02.04.07 but inside the directory name shows version 00.04.03.00.01.
I've been running the 04.02.SP4 version that I downloaded from the link above when it was first posted with no problems.  I have not tried the 04.03.00 version yet.  I saw a few posts else where that said version 04.03 works okay.  I'd like to hear what new changes that have been made in the new version if anyone finds out.

I wonder if Rigol has refined the PLL coefficients more?  I don't have the means to measure the PLL clock though.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 11:19:47 pm by MarkF »
 

Offline JimmyK

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1443 on: May 29, 2015, 11:33:07 pm »
I upgraded to 4.03 today and it kept all my hacked installed options.  Not sure if I was supposed to uninstall them first or not.  It kept 500uv which I should get rid of.  Not sure if I can reinstall another hacked options minus the 500uv over the top of what I already have or not...
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1866
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1444 on: May 30, 2015, 01:10:38 am »
JimmyK

You need to uninstall all options to remove the 500uV option by using the SCPI command :SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall, then reboot the oscilloscope.  The SCPI command must be sent via the USB or LAN port.

Then reinstall your desired options (use DSER for all options except 500uV option).
 

Offline JohnPen

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1445 on: June 01, 2015, 07:40:50 am »
I received my DS1054Z recently and I am very pleased with it. I have updated it to the latest F/W 04.03 with no problems but as I am new to the scope any changes to performance are not apparent.  It still works!  A problem I do have is using Ultra Sigma on Windows 7 64bit.  The s/w boots OK and recognizes the DS1054Z, via either USB or LAN, but does not react to SCPI commands except the IDN? which works OK.  Trying the :SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall command it fails with a timeout response 'insuffient time to complete'.  Extending the 'timeout' in advanced mode doesn't  help.  The Ultra Sigma s/w supplied refers to Version 2 on the CD but this is older than the downloadable s/w version on the Rigol website. I have tried both versions but neither works correctly. Does anyone know of a solution for this problem?

Thanks John
 

Offline MarkF

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1866
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1446 on: June 01, 2015, 09:14:51 am »
If you decide you want to write some code, my DS1074Z responds to TCP ports 5555 and 5566.  You should be able to telnet on those ports also.
 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1447 on: June 01, 2015, 09:18:48 am »
If you decide you want to write some code, my DS1074Z responds to TCP ports 5555 and 5566.  You should be able to telnet on those ports also.

https://hackaday.io/project/5807-driverless-rigol-ds1054z-screen-capture-over-lan

From this this same thread (reply #1426):
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-rigol-ds1054z-oscilloscope/msg675845/#msg675845

I modified it using alex.forencich's vxi11 to work on my non telnet able DS2000:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/python-based-instrument-control/msg676772/#msg676772
« Last Edit: June 01, 2015, 09:20:22 am by miguelvp »
 

Offline LaurentR

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 484
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1448 on: June 04, 2015, 06:08:59 am »
Anyone has lost USB connectivity upgrading to 04.03? Something weird going on here. Device is seen in Windows with proper IVI driver loaded, but not detected.
 

Offline LaurentR

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 484
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1449 on: June 04, 2015, 03:44:11 pm »
Anyone has lost USB connectivity upgrading to 04.03? Something weird going on here. Device is seen in Windows with proper IVI driver loaded, but not detected.

Only happens with the Keysight I/O Libraries installed. Works fine with NI-Visa only. Doesn't work with I/O Libraries also installed.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf