Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1543021 times)

modoran and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8300
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1700 on: September 21, 2015, 02:53:00 am »
No need for a code. Just use the online chat with them.
I TEA.
 

Offline UConn94

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 9
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1701 on: September 22, 2015, 03:08:34 am »
What Bitseeker said.

Last week, after reading the blog site here, I used the online chat with TEquipment, told the chat person about the high marks about TEquipment from here, and about the scope, and he gave me a discount from the posted price.  Shipped UPS ground.  The amazing thing was that the scope (I purchased the the DS1074z) arrived to my door step in less than 48 hours.  Thumbs up!

Already 'talking' with the scope using TCP - nice unit!
 

Offline rf-loop

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3144
  • Country: cn
  • Born with DLL21 in hand
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1702 on: September 22, 2015, 04:47:54 am »

It is not limited by hardware. (depends how want think)
Highest true sensitivity in DS1000Z is 5mV/div.
After then 2mV and 1mV/div is only digitally vertically "zoomed".
What you get more if you zoom more.

ADC have 8 bit. 256 theoretical levels. (if look more deeply not really even this, ENOB, analog front end noise etc)

2mV/div (simplification)  128 levels.
1mV/div  (simplification) 64 levels

do you want zoom more.
If you look this scope quite noisy front end (analog front end + ADC) noise, do you get something more if you zoom more.

It is totally other case IF there is good low noise amplifier before ADC so that with 5mV pp signal  it use ADC full scale. (around 10 div vertically on the display)

Finally: Lowest true sensitivity in DS1000Z is 5mV/div.

This is truth least in my DS1074Z.

Hi RF-Loop,
where you have this info from?

The reality is that 2mV/div is the lowest TRUE vertical sensitivity on DS1000Z!
ONLY 1mV/div is magification

Regards
Tom


https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/rigol-ds1074z-weird-signal-level-problem/msg563208/#msg563208


« Last Edit: September 22, 2015, 07:48:21 am by rf-loop »
If practice and theory is not equal it tells that used application of theory is wrong or the theory itself is wrong.
-
Harmony OS
 

Offline felixd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: pl
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1703 on: October 03, 2015, 09:01:31 am »
 :-+  :bullshit:

Just received my brand new DS1054Z. DSER options worked just fine!
Beauty!

Comparing to Owon SDS8102 100 MHz, 2GS/s, 2 Ch I still have...well...beautybeautybeauty :)

Photos
https://goo.gl/photos/RUQojot8zDEc7NMW9
« Last Edit: October 03, 2015, 09:09:31 am by felixd »
---
Pawel 'felixd' Wojciechowski
 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1467
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1704 on: October 03, 2015, 09:18:57 am »
Just received my brand new DS1054Z. DSER options worked just fine!
Beauty!

Congrats, good choice. Don't forget to update the firmware. Here's the link:

http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0
 

Offline felixd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: pl
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1705 on: October 03, 2015, 09:34:18 am »
Just received my brand new DS1054Z. DSER options worked just fine!
Beauty!

Congrats, good choice. Don't forget to update the firmware. Here's the link:

http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

But I already have latest one 00.04.03
One you've linked: DS1ZUpdate_00.04.02.04.07.ZIP

Edit: I've checked linked firmware header. It shows: DS1000Z.........00.04.03.01.05......
Hmmm...let me find my USB stick ;)
« Last Edit: October 03, 2015, 09:37:07 am by felixd »
---
Pawel 'felixd' Wojciechowski
 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1467
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1706 on: October 03, 2015, 10:04:38 am »
After the update, when you check system info, you'll see software version 00.04.03.SP1.
 

Offline felixd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: pl
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1707 on: October 03, 2015, 01:06:24 pm »
After the update, when you check system info, you'll see software version 00.04.03.SP1.

Yup, confirmed. Works fine ;)
---
Pawel 'felixd' Wojciechowski
 

Offline gmit77

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • !
  • Posts: 144
  • Country: it
    • Batter Fly
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1708 on: October 03, 2015, 04:39:07 pm »
hello hello hello!
we have just released a new bundle made by rigol ds1054z extech ex330 and hakko fx-888d
euro 439.99 + vat & free shipment to Europe (we ship from Italy)
http://www.batterfly.com/shop/bundle-ds1054z-ex330-fx888d
 :-+
Batter Fly
never stop innovating
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1709 on: October 04, 2015, 07:04:36 am »
Batronix (official rigol distributor) Euro 339 + VAT + free shipping within Europe. 100.- cheaper !
« Last Edit: October 04, 2015, 07:09:25 am by Fennec »
 

Offline cs.dk

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 635
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1710 on: October 04, 2015, 07:18:40 am »
Batronix (official rigol distributor) Euro 339 + VAT + free shipping within Europe. 100.- cheaper !

100€ cheaper??

He gives you a Hakko FX-888 and a multimeter with the scope.

The scope alone is 327,95€
« Last Edit: October 04, 2015, 07:55:48 am by cs.dk »
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 10480
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1711 on: October 04, 2015, 07:41:31 am »
Batronix (official rigol distributor) Euro 339 + VAT + free shipping within Europe. 100.- cheaper !

But no extech ex330 or hakko fx-888d...
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 119
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1712 on: October 04, 2015, 07:52:54 am »
Sry, my fault, I should drink my coffee before I write here :o)
 

Offline IlGuru

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: it
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1713 on: October 05, 2015, 08:37:06 am »
Don't forget to update the firmware. Here's the link:

http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

Where can I see the changelog file about this firmware? Which bugs does it fix?
 


Offline TorqueRanger

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 323
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1715 on: October 10, 2015, 05:03:14 am »
How hard would it be to restore a hacked DS1054Z to the factory setting and what would you need ???
 

Offline nanofrog

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5448
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1716 on: October 10, 2015, 05:36:21 am »
How hard would it be to restore a hacked DS1054Z to the factory setting and what would you need ???
You'll need a computer and USB cable in order to feed SCPI commands.

The command to uninstall the upgrades is ... :SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall (alternatively, you can also use :SYST:OPT:UNINST, as it's the letters in CAPS that = the actual command).
 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1467
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1717 on: October 10, 2015, 07:35:54 am »
How hard would it be to restore a hacked DS1054Z to the factory setting and what would you need ???
You'll need a computer and USB cable in order to feed SCPI commands.

The command to uninstall the upgrades is ... :SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall (alternatively, you can also use :SYST:OPT:UNINST, as it's the letters in CAPS that = the actual command).

That will only remove the options. In order to set it (partly) back to the factory settings, you have to send the command *RST.

However, I don't know a way to get the time limited trial options back.

And by the way, easiest way to manually send SCPI commands is via LAN.
Open a console and enter the command telnet 192.168.1.7 5555
Change the ip-address to the actual address of the scope.
You can test it by sending the command *IDN?
The scope will respond with an identification string that contains brand, model, serialnumber and software version.





 

Offline ThirtyThirtyWin

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
  • So much to learn!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1718 on: October 12, 2015, 09:32:34 pm »
I have a DS1054z that I hacked using DSFR, and so have the 500uV option installed.  I didn't know about the problems with it at the time.  I'm downloading Ultra Sigma now to do the SCPI commands to reset it, but I had a few questions.

Even though I have the 500uV option installed, the smallest volts/div I can go down to is 5mV/div.  Did Rigol eliminate the 500uV/div with SP4, since the 1054z hardware doesn't support it? I have 00.04.02.SP4 installed.  Is this the latest?

How is the 500uV problem affecting the performance of the scope?  If I never go down to 500uV/div would the problem affect higher volts/div?  Is the scope not performing well at 2V/div or 10V/div because of the 500uV/div issue?

Also, I just went to download the latest firmware on the Rigol site.  Am I looking at the "DS/MSO1000Z/-S: 00.04.03.01.05" for my scope?  Is this new firmware still hackable? I think I need to put in the correct hack of DSER, and upgrade the firmware, and I'm not sure in what order to do that.
 

Online edavid

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2949
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1719 on: October 12, 2015, 09:41:47 pm »
Even though I have the 500uV option installed, the smallest volts/div I can go down to is 5mV/div.  Did Rigol eliminate the 500uV/div with SP4, since the 1054z hardware doesn't support it?
You probably have the probe scale factor set to 10X

Quote
If I never go down to 500uV/div would the problem affect higher volts/div?
No.

Quote
I think I need to put in the correct hack of DSER, and upgrade the firmware, and I'm not sure in what order to do that.
Doesn't matter.
 

Offline hayatepilot

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 262
  • Country: ch
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1720 on: October 12, 2015, 09:44:38 pm »
Even though I have the 500uV option installed, the smallest volts/div I can go down to is 5mV/div.

You have the 10x option activated for the 10x probe.  ;)
Set it to 1x and it will go down to 500uV.

The newest version is 00.04.03.SP1, which is the version you downloaded from the Rigol site. Yes it is still hackable e.g. you keep all the installed options when you upgrade it.  :-+

Greetings
 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2004
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1721 on: October 12, 2015, 10:09:09 pm »
Did anyone ever figure out how to get into what Rigol calls "project mode".  On the DS2K/4K series you press the trigger menu button (set to edge) and then the buttons in the lower right followed by system.  Then system info shows more detail and version info.  I recall seeing a screenshot where someone got a DS1xx4Z in this mode once, but could never reproduce the keys to do it.
 

Offline ThirtyThirtyWin

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
  • So much to learn!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1722 on: October 12, 2015, 10:59:46 pm »
Awesome, thank you edavid and hayatepilot.  This forum is very active!

Oh, of course the probe is in 10x...  :palm:  Switching it to 1x does indeed get the scope to a funky looking 500uV.

I'm working on resetting the scope now.  Getting timeout errors when I try to send *RST and :SYST:OPT:UNINST.  Going to try sending the commands over telnet/LXI when I get back from class tonight.

Then I just need to wait to hear back from Rigol about the firmware upgrade.  Only company I've ever seen that doesn't just post the firmware as a download on their site, and instead makes you email them to request it.  :-//
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1927
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1723 on: October 13, 2015, 01:03:02 am »
Did anyone ever figure out how to get into what Rigol calls "project mode".  On the DS2K/4K series you press the trigger menu button (set to edge) and then the buttons in the lower right followed by system.  Then system info shows more detail and version info.  I recall seeing a screenshot where someone got a DS1xx4Z in this mode once, but could never reproduce the keys to do it.
I don't remember seeing such a screenshot, but if you ask the scope to save "Param" to a .txt file on the USB stick, then look at the text file, you'll see a lot of information on the scope's "software" which is what we are calling firmware, the actual "firmware" and "Boot" versions, and the scope's current settings.

Storage>Storage>Param, then Save, etc.

« Last Edit: October 13, 2015, 01:15:56 am by alsetalokin4017 »
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1927
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #1724 on: October 13, 2015, 01:11:10 am »
Awesome, thank you edavid and hayatepilot.  This forum is very active!

Oh, of course the probe is in 10x...  :palm:  Switching it to 1x does indeed get the scope to a funky looking 500uV.

I'm working on resetting the scope now.  Getting timeout errors when I try to send *RST and :SYST:OPT:UNINST.  Going to try sending the commands over telnet/LXI when I get back from class tonight.
Selecting Storage>Default resets the scope's user settings to the factory defaults, except for the Language (and installed Options). This is useful for clearing out a complicated multichannel setup, for example.

Pressing the 5th-from-top grey left menu button repeatedly during bootup resets everything including language (but not the Options) back to factory default. This is useful if the scope is frozen and won't respond to buttons or knobs.
Quote

Then I just need to wait to hear back from Rigol about the firmware upgrade.  Only company I've ever seen that doesn't just post the firmware as a download on their site, and instead makes you email them to request it.  :-//

The link to the Rigol "firmware" update has been posted several times in the thread. Most recently on the previous page of this thread. You don't need to email them or wait for it.

http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf