Author Topic: Server Error Reports  (Read 199694 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline amyk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6956
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #250 on: July 12, 2020, 03:23:37 am »
I just experienced this image bug with two posts here:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/old-cnc-machine-memory-board/

The image URLs are:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/old-cnc-machine-memory-board/?action=dlattach;attach=1021664;image

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/old-cnc-machine-memory-board/?action=dlattach;attach=1021660;image

Note that they are different, but the contents are exactly the same.

HTTP headers of the two for comparison:
Code: [Select]
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Server: nginx
Date: Sun, 12 Jul 2020 03:18:39 GMT
Content-Type: image/jpeg
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Connection: keep-alive
X-Frame-Options: SAMEORIGIN
X-XSS-Protection: 1
X-Content-Type-Options: nosniff
Content-Encoding: none
Pragma:
Content-Transfer-Encoding: binary
Expires: Mon, 12 Jul 2021 03:18:39 GMT
Last-Modified: Sun, 12 Jul 2020 01:40:14 GMT
Accept-Ranges: bytes
ETag: "10216643-711-2615G.jpg1594518014"
Content-Disposition: inline; filename="3-711-2615G.jpg"
Cache-Control: max-age=31536000, private
X-Backend: web1.eevblog.com

Code: [Select]
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Server: nginx
Date: Sun, 12 Jul 2020 03:18:53 GMT
Content-Type: image/jpeg
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Connection: keep-alive
X-Frame-Options: SAMEORIGIN
X-XSS-Protection: 1
X-Content-Type-Options: nosniff
Content-Encoding: none
Pragma:
Content-Transfer-Encoding: binary
Expires: Mon, 12 Jul 2021 03:18:53 GMT
Last-Modified: Sun, 12 Jul 2020 01:40:14 GMT
Accept-Ranges: bytes
ETag: "10216603 542 1174A.JPG1594518014"
Content-Disposition: inline; filename="3 542 1174A.JPG"
Cache-Control: max-age=31536000, private
X-Backend: web2.eevblog.com

It claims the filenames are different but the last-modified for the two are the same, as-is the timestamp-ish part of the ETag (which translates precisely to the last-modified.)
 

Offline PushUp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 92
  • Country: de
Re: Server Error Reports "Thread-Problems with uploaded attachements!"
« Reply #251 on: July 12, 2020, 08:28:40 am »
Thread-Problems with uploaded attachements!


As mentioned by TV84, this might be a big problem:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/new-rigol-16-bit-function-generators-dg800900-series/msg3122658/#msg3122658

As long as only pictrures are concerned, it is simply annoying, compared to the effort you had with making, downsizing (to meet the max. 5MB limit) and last but not least uploading the images to your post.

The problem:
The Thumbnail-Picture is still fine, but the link to it is wrong and leads to a completely false picture. It is somehow messed up with any (!!!) further reply you make in the forum, I guess?!

Here is an example:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/uni-t-ut181a-triplett-9065-trend-viewer-question/msg3132148/#msg3132148

The thumbnail of the first pic is correct, but it leads to the picture from my next reply, therefore it was somehow replaced by it, which leads to a mess, as described pictures are gone and the message gets useless...

Probably, it is better to use external image/file hoster, till the problem is solved to avoid a total mess?!


Cheers!
Due to the massive "EEVblog forum attachement bug", I am now using an external picture hoster, till it is solved...
 

Online SilverSolder

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3404
  • Country: 00
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #252 on: July 12, 2020, 11:19:54 am »

I wonder why some people get less problems...

One thing that might vary from user to user, is how the files are named.   Do you always give the image a unique name in every post (including, being unique across all posts)?

 

Offline dcac

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 236
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #253 on: July 12, 2020, 11:36:22 am »
When I post multiple pics they are usually from the same folder and therefor also has a unique name.

I wonder if the problem is more related to the amount of server traffic when you post the pictures/attachments.

 

Offline dcac

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 236
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #254 on: July 12, 2020, 11:39:12 am »
This is the 'element code' of my two mentioned posts/pics from a PC that opens same image from both - or shows the error.

When I get access to the PC I made those post from I do the same thing to see if any difference appear.

Code: [Select]
<a href="https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/show-us-your-mains-waveform!/?action=dlattach;attach=1021018;image" id="link_1021018-0" onclick="return ILAexpandThumb(1021018-0);"><img src="https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=240210.0;attach=1021020;image" alt="1021018-0" title="Show us your mains waveform!" id="thumb_1021018-0" style="width:100px;border:0;" data-pagespeed-url-hash="2538578502" onload="pagespeed.CriticalImages.checkImageForCriticality(this);"></a>

Code: [Select]
<a href="https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/show-us-your-mains-waveform!/?action=dlattach;attach=1021014;image" id="link_1021014-0" onclick="return ILAexpandThumb(1021014-0);"><img src="https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=240210.0;attach=1021016;image" alt="1021014-0" title="Show us your mains waveform!" id="thumb_1021014-0" style="width:100px;border:0;" data-pagespeed-url-hash="1545177425" onload="pagespeed.CriticalImages.checkImageForCriticality(this);"></a>

EDIT: well the code is exactly the same from the PC that can open correct image - no big surprise there but I'm still puzzled how it manage to fetch the correct image it does not seem to get it from Firefox cache.

EDIT2: so what I am essentially observing is this link:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/show-us-your-mains-waveform!/?action=dlattach;attach=1021014;image

will open correct image from the PC I posted/uploaded it from and show a sine wave in blue. But if I open it from any other PC it opens the image from my previous post and show a sine wave in red.

All thumbnails are shown correctly from all PC I've tested.
 
« Last Edit: July 12, 2020, 02:50:33 pm by dcac »
 

Online SilverSolder

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3404
  • Country: 00
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #255 on: July 12, 2020, 12:17:07 pm »
This is the 'element code' of my two mentioned posts/pics from a PC that opens same image from both - or shows the error.

When I get access to the PC I made those post from I do the same thing to see if any difference appear.

Code: [Select]
<img src="https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=240210.0;attach=1021020;image" alt="1021018-0" title="Show us your mains waveform!" id="thumb_1021018-0" style="width:100px;border:0;" data-pagespeed-url-hash="2538578502" onload="pagespeed.CriticalImages.checkImageForCriticality(this);">
Code: [Select]
<img src="https://www.eevblog.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=240210.0;attach=1021016;image" alt="1021014-0" title="Show us your mains waveform!" id="thumb_1021014-0" style="width:100px;border:0;" data-pagespeed-url-hash="1545177425" onload="pagespeed.CriticalImages.checkImageForCriticality(this);">

When I hit those two links (the img src links) from here, they are definitely different thumbnails.
 
The following users thanked this post: dcac

Offline rhb

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3082
  • Country: us
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #256 on: July 12, 2020, 01:04:40 pm »
I think it affects all attachments.  IIRC I had an Octave script that got posted as a jpg which I deleted when I couldn't open the image.

Reg
 

Offline amyk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6956
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #257 on: July 13, 2020, 01:46:03 am »
EDIT2: so what I am essentially observing is this link:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/show-us-your-mains-waveform!/?action=dlattach;attach=1021014;image

will open correct image from the PC I posted/uploaded it from and show a sine wave in blue. But if I open it from any other PC it opens the image from my previous post and show a sine wave in red.

All thumbnails are shown correctly from all PC I've tested.
From that link I am seeing a red sine wave.

Note: you should be able to do ctrl+F5 to force a reload from network and not cache, in most browsers. You can also directly access the network, with guarantee of no caching, by using utility like wget or curl.
 

Offline dcac

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 236
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #258 on: July 13, 2020, 01:55:16 pm »
EDIT2: so what I am essentially observing is this link:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/projects/show-us-your-mains-waveform!/?action=dlattach;attach=1021014;image

will open correct image from the PC I posted/uploaded it from and show a sine wave in blue. But if I open it from any other PC it opens the image from my previous post and show a sine wave in red.

All thumbnails are shown correctly from all PC I've tested.
From that link I am seeing a red sine wave.

Note: you should be able to do ctrl+F5 to force a reload from network and not cache, in most browsers. You can also directly access the network, with guarantee of no caching, by using utility like wget or curl.

Yeah I finally manage to clear the Firefox cache - though I had to clear it restart FF and then clear it again. Now the posting PC also fetches the wrong image which is the red sine wave. I didn't clear any cookies so these probably had no effect on this problem.
 

Online T3sl4co1l

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16027
  • Country: us
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #259 on: July 14, 2020, 06:24:33 am »
Also, can we have some way to disable Imgur embeds?

Say I post a link, a raw URL, not an img embed, and that's literally all I want.

There exists no combination of Imgur URL (gallery or direct link) that won't auto embed.  It's way too greedy.

Often I want to refer to links inline with text and this BIG MOTHERFUCKING EMBED interrupts my text, it's ridiculous.

YouTube embeds do the same thing, but there at least you can use a shortened link to evade it (IIRC?).

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!
 

Online BrianHG

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4678
  • Country: ca
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #260 on: July 15, 2020, 09:37:24 pm »
Image files and attached files corruptions going MAD.....

Example, 3 corrupt images on this thread page:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/fpga/fpga-vga-controller-for-8-bit-computer/msg3135492/#msg3135492
Scroll down, the errors are over a few posts...

Try expanding the timing diagram in this post:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/fpga/fpga-vga-controller-for-8-bit-computer/msg3121924/#msg3121924

try expanding the second image in this post:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/fpga/fpga-vga-controller-for-8-bit-computer/msg3111866/#msg3111866

Or this one:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/fpga/fpga-vga-controller-for-8-bit-computer/msg3111884/#msg3111884

This one has the wrong image:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/fpga/fpga-vga-controller-for-8-bit-computer/1075/

This one is also corrupt:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/fpga/fpga-vga-controller-for-8-bit-computer/msg3107130/#msg3107130

The top example now has 4 corrupt images.  Yes, 1 new one in the time I've been writing this message if you go to the first link and scroll up instead of down.  Those images were there fine yesterday.

Here is another one:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/fpga/home-made-systemverilog-3-word-zero-latency-fifo-documented-for-beginners/msg3123336/#msg3123336

In fact, over the last week, I've editing my posts, deleting & re-uploading images again & again.
Does anyone know what's been going on?
__________
BrianHG.
 

Offline amyk

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6956
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #261 on: July 16, 2020, 01:26:16 pm »
Also, can we have some way to disable Imgur embeds?

Say I post a link, a raw URL, not an img embed, and that's literally all I want.

There exists no combination of Imgur URL (gallery or direct link) that won't auto embed.  It's way too greedy.

Often I want to refer to links inline with text and this BIG MOTHERFUCKING EMBED interrupts my text, it's ridiculous.

YouTube embeds do the same thing, but there at least you can use a shortened link to evade it (IIRC?).

Tim
Quote my post or click this link to find out how to get around that. ;)
 

Offline tooki

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5640
  • Country: ch
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #262 on: July 18, 2020, 04:04:34 pm »
People! It’s a known issue, and it’s got nothing to do with your browser cache or anything, as it’s purely a server database problem. It seems to be triggered by interrupted posting.


In fact, over the last week, I've editing my posts, deleting & re-uploading images again & again.
Does anyone know what's been going on?
Yes.

See what the server admin has said, starting here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/website-error-reports/msg3107598/#msg3107598
 
The following users thanked this post: amyk

Online mnementh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9638
  • Country: ca
  • *Escaping The Suck*
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #263 on: July 23, 2020, 03:19:56 am »
A fellow eevBlog member has suggested a possible workaround:

I think there's a problem only with the first attachment slot. If you skip the first one and use the other one it appear to be working fine.


I'm going to try this for a few days and see if it makes any difference.

Cheers,

mnem
« Last Edit: July 23, 2020, 03:21:39 am by mnementh »
 

Online mnementh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9638
  • Country: ca
  • *Escaping The Suck*
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #264 on: July 24, 2020, 04:01:14 pm »
Update: So far, this method seems to be working. Even survives being interrupted by "There has been a new post" warning and a 4.1MB .pdf.

Will followup again in a day or three.

mnem
 :popcorn:
 

Offline dcac

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 236
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #265 on: July 25, 2020, 12:21:09 pm »
I'm getting 404 error trying to access this thread:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/eevblog-121gw-multimeter-issues

 

Offline joeqsmith

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6860
  • Country: us
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #266 on: July 25, 2020, 03:41:13 pm »
Obviously the photo links continues to not work.   I tried to delete a picture that was inserted in one post but was being referenced in another.  This had no effect.  So I blew away the entire post which also had no effect.

I'm not sure if they keep metrics on who posts the most pictures but I suspect I abuse it far more than most.   I wonder if I were to start deleting my old posts/images would it help ease the problem?   If so, just let me know and I will start cleaning up my mess.
How electrically robust is your meter?? https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsK99WXk9VhcghnAauTBsbg
 

Offline StillTrying

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2596
  • Country: dk
  • Country: Broken Britain
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #267 on: July 25, 2020, 04:21:45 pm »
I post nothing compared to others but still see the errors.
Post 2 of everything then a few hours later delete the spare or faulty versions. :-/O  :)
« Last Edit: July 25, 2020, 04:23:58 pm by StillTrying »
CML+  That took much longer than I thought it would.
 

Offline joeqsmith

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6860
  • Country: us
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #268 on: July 25, 2020, 04:30:32 pm »
I was thinking that it's overall just too much data for the software to handle.    Looking at my attachments, there's 121 pages of 25 images/page or over 3000 images spanning 5 years.   That's a lot of images.     
How electrically robust is your meter?? https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsK99WXk9VhcghnAauTBsbg
 

Online mnementh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9638
  • Country: ca
  • *Escaping The Suck*
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #269 on: July 25, 2020, 06:21:34 pm »
I think there's a problem only with the first attachment slot. If you skip the first one and use the other one it appear to be working fine.


FWIW: This workaround is still working for me.

mnem
*knocks on wood*
 
The following users thanked this post: SilverSolder

Online Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6728
  • Country: gb
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #270 on: July 25, 2020, 06:26:28 pm »
I was thinking that it's overall just too much data for the software to handle.    Looking at my attachments, there's 121 pages of 25 images/page or over 3000 images spanning 5 years.   That's a lot of images.   

That's a really, really small number of files.

It seems more like a database replication issue.
 

Offline joeqsmith

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6860
  • Country: us
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #271 on: July 25, 2020, 07:26:55 pm »
I cleaned up most of what I consider my worthless posts.   I would need to take down some of my larger threads to really make a dent in it but even if I cleaned everything out,  I don't see it helping with this particular problem.   

How electrically robust is your meter?? https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsK99WXk9VhcghnAauTBsbg
 

Online mnementh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9638
  • Country: ca
  • *Escaping The Suck*
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #272 on: July 25, 2020, 11:27:40 pm »
I was thinking that it's overall just too much data for the software to handle.    Looking at my attachments, there's 121 pages of 25 images/page or over 3000 images spanning 5 years.   That's a lot of images.   

That's a really, really small number of files.

It seems more like a database replication issue.

This is the latest I know of from gnif when he was available to work on the problem:

...I usually use Firefox on my PCs; I brought up the thread on my iPad/Firefox and still FUBAR the same way, so not a local cache issue. Same behavior in Edge.
 
This may be related to another bug that has been happening for months; when posting multiple images, IF the posting process is interrupted for a new post warning, the damned thing just forgets the first pic. It attaches the rest of the pics normally, but that first one you ALWAYS have to go back and attach again...  [edited for brevity]

mnem
Déjà vu: Best enjoyed as a garnish with wine, cheese and baguettes.
SMF doesn't care about the filename, it stores all attachments as a hash of the file contents and references them via a table. There are two possible reasons why this happened:

1) The bug you mentioned
2) The maintenance last night was intended to correct some sync issues between the web servers as the database cluster had lost sync. Normally this would be fine, but there were other factors at play at the same time that prevented them from determining who was the "latest" and both were accepting update/insert queries at the same time (split-brain).

I should have been clearer I am sorry, if this is seen on new posts as of today, please let me know. Feel free to fix any that are messed up from prior.

Since then it has been off & on, though server loading does affect it. It def happens a lot more often on weekends.

mnem
 :popcorn:
 

Online mnementh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9638
  • Country: ca
  • *Escaping The Suck*
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #273 on: July 27, 2020, 01:55:51 pm »
I think there's a problem only with the first attachment slot. If you skip the first one and use the other one it appear to be working fine.


This workaround is still working for me. Last night I posted a mini how-to with 10 pics; deliberately did not wait for all the pics and just hit [POST]. eevBlog gagged on it for a few seconds, then popped up a THERE HAS BEEN A NEW POST warning. But after I clicked [POST] again, all the pics came up without issue; they were even in the right order for a change.

mnem
 :popcorn:
 
The following users thanked this post: SilverSolder

Offline tooki

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5640
  • Country: ch
Re: Server Error Reports
« Reply #274 on: July 27, 2020, 09:11:14 pm »
OK, so here's another data point for you, Gnif!

I just posted a thread reply with an inline image attachment. I didn't pay attention to whether the attachment icon showed up on the post before going in to modify the post. After saving the modified post, I noticed that while the inline image still appears properly, it shows no attachment icon, and clicking on Modify again also shows no attachment to remove!! (I've verified that in another pre-bug post with inline attachments, they still show up as attachments in the Modify screen.)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf