Author Topic: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope  (Read 1635928 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline nanofrog

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5448
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2075 on: March 10, 2016, 11:16:25 pm »
and what about a link that unlock all teh features?
Hint: go to your favorite search engine, and type in "Riglol 1.03d".

Once you get to the page, type in your unit's S/N in the first field, type in DSER in the Options field, and leave Privatekey blank. Then click Generate. Enter the generated key into the scope, and that's it (how-to is in the .pdf manual).

Doesn't get any easier than that.  ;D
 

Offline ftonello

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: br
    • FTTENG
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2076 on: March 10, 2016, 11:36:30 pm »
and what about a link that unlock all teh features?
Hint: go to your favorite search engine, and type in "Riglol 1.03d".

Once you get to the page, type in your unit's S/N in the first field, type in DSER in the Options field, and leave Privatekey blank. Then click Generate. Enter the generated key into the scope, and that's it (how-to is in the .pdf manual).

Doesn't get any easier than that.  ;D

  - IT WORKED WITH DSER OPTINS..THKS
Hi from Brazil!!!
 

Offline lundmar

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 354
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2077 on: April 02, 2016, 09:30:49 am »
@bingo, how fast is the screen capture on the DS1000z scope? I would think that because it supports png it's probably about 5.5 seconds to transfer a 37KB file already in png format but still transferring data at a mere 57344 bps

I'm getting ~4 seconds using the rigol screenshot utility from lxi-tools (http://lxi.github.io). Tested on Ubuntu Linux:

Code: [Select]
$ time rigol_1000z_screenshot 10.42.0.42 test.bmp
Saved screenshot to test.bmp

real    0m4.094s
user    0m0.000s
sys     0m0.044s

The image is 800 x 480 x 24 and ~1.1MB in size.

Thats a transfer speed of ~2.3 Mbps - I don't think you can get much faster than that on the Rigol 1000z series scope.
https://lxi-tools.github.io - Open source LXI tools
https://tio.github.io - A simple TTY terminal I/O application
http://dc-power-supply.github.io - OSHW DC power supply project
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2078 on: April 02, 2016, 12:08:09 pm »
The image is 800 x 480 x 24 and ~1.1MB in size.
... I don't think you can get much faster than that on the Rigol 1000z series scope.

I can !
With my programm via LAN I can get the screen in ~0.9 .. 1.2s
The format is png 800x480 size ~30KB .. 60KB (depends on content).
« Last Edit: April 02, 2016, 12:11:50 pm by ankerwolf »
 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1666
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2079 on: April 02, 2016, 12:52:44 pm »
The image is 800 x 480 x 24 and ~1.1MB in size.
... I don't think you can get much faster than that on the Rigol 1000z series scope.

I can !
With my programm via LAN I can get the screen in ~0.9 .. 1.2s
The format is png 800x480 size ~30KB .. 60KB (depends on content).

DSRemote does the job in less than a second.
 

Offline lundmar

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 354
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2080 on: April 02, 2016, 04:37:07 pm »
The image is 800 x 480 x 24 and ~1.1MB in size.
... I don't think you can get much faster than that on the Rigol 1000z series scope.

I can !
With my programm via LAN I can get the screen in ~0.9 .. 1.2s
The format is png 800x480 size ~30KB .. 60KB (depends on content).

DSRemote does the job in less than a second.

I just gave dsremote a try - to me it seems to also be in the 4 seconds range? (my ethernet link speed is 100 Mbps)

As far as I can tell the image data transferred from a ds1000z series scope is bitmap only and it seems there is no way to change it to png (however, ds2000 series seems to support png).
https://lxi-tools.github.io - Open source LXI tools
https://tio.github.io - A simple TTY terminal I/O application
http://dc-power-supply.github.io - OSHW DC power supply project
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: at
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2081 on: April 02, 2016, 05:36:50 pm »
... the image data transferred from a ds1000z series scope is bitmap only and it seems there is no way to change it to png ...
Why don't you believe me? Transmitted as png and under 1 second.
Look here for testing:
http://homepage.univie.ac.at/zelinkaw54/upload/_Rigol-DSClient.rar

Programming Guide 07-2015 p.79:
  :DISP:DATA? ON,0,PNG     // transfers a screen as PNG
 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1666
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2082 on: April 02, 2016, 05:57:44 pm »
The image is 800 x 480 x 24 and ~1.1MB in size.
... I don't think you can get much faster than that on the Rigol 1000z series scope.

I can !
With my programm via LAN I can get the screen in ~0.9 .. 1.2s
The format is png 800x480 size ~30KB .. 60KB (depends on content).

DSRemote does the job in less than a second.

I just gave dsremote a try - to me it seems to also be in the 4 seconds range? (my ethernet link speed is 100 Mbps)

Try again via USB.

 

Offline elgonzo

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 690
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2083 on: April 02, 2016, 06:01:57 pm »
... the image data transferred from a ds1000z series scope is bitmap only and it seems there is no way to change it to png ...
Why don't you believe me? Transmitted as png and under 1 second.
Look here for testing:
http://homepage.univie.ac.at/zelinkaw54/upload/_Rigol-DSClient.rar

Programming Guide 07-2015 p.79:
  :DISP:DATA? ON,0,PNG     // transfers a screen as PNG

Seems that PNG support did come with one of the firmware updates
(because the programming guide dated 09-2014,  page 2-63, does not mention any parameters for the DISPLAY:DATA? command).
« Last Edit: April 02, 2016, 06:10:47 pm by elgonzo »
 

Offline lundmar

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 354
  • Country: dk
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2084 on: April 02, 2016, 09:11:59 pm »
... the image data transferred from a ds1000z series scope is bitmap only and it seems there is no way to change it to png ...
Why don't you believe me? Transmitted as png and under 1 second.
Look here for testing:
http://homepage.univie.ac.at/zelinkaw54/upload/_Rigol-DSClient.rar

Programming Guide 07-2015 p.79:
  :DISP:DATA? ON,0,PNG     // transfers a screen as PNG

Seems that PNG support did come with one of the firmware updates
(because the programming guide dated 09-2014,  page 2-63, does not mention any parameters for the DISPLAY:DATA? command).

Indeed, after updating my firmware I now have the PNG feature available :)

@ankerwolf: Thanks for the tip. My fastest download now hits about 0.8s .
@karel: I forgot to mention that my interest is ethernet only, not usb but thanks anyway.

Why o why does one have to submit a request form for Rigol firmware and then wait an arbitrary amount of time for someone at Rigol to mail back a link to the firmware??? |O |O |O

My god Rigol, will ya just make the bloody firmware readily available for direct download on the related product pages - no hiding! Please!
https://lxi-tools.github.io - Open source LXI tools
https://tio.github.io - A simple TTY terminal I/O application
http://dc-power-supply.github.io - OSHW DC power supply project
 

Offline tlu

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 142
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2085 on: April 15, 2016, 01:22:04 am »
and what about a link that unlock all teh features?
Hint: go to your favorite search engine, and type in "Riglol 1.03d".

Once you get to the page, type in your unit's S/N in the first field, type in DSER in the Options field, and leave Privatekey blank. Then click Generate. Enter the generated key into the scope, and that's it (how-to is in the .pdf manual).

Doesn't get any easier than that.  ;D
Will this work with any firmware? I'm thinking of picking a brand new one up sometime this week. Please advise. Thanks
 

Offline nanofrog

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5448
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2086 on: April 15, 2016, 01:28:40 am »
Will this work with any firmware? I'm thinking of picking a brand new one up sometime this week. Please advise. Thanks
Yes.  :) The unlock code that's generated is based on the unit's S/N, not the hardware/firmware/software revisions.
 

Offline tlu

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 142
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2087 on: April 15, 2016, 02:00:39 am »
Will this work with any firmware? I'm thinking of picking a brand new one up sometime this week. Please advise. Thanks
Yes.  :) The unlock code that's generated is based on the unit's S/N, not the hardware/firmware/software revisions.
Thanks for the clarification. Very much appreciated and now I feel at ease about the purchase  ;D.
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2028
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2088 on: April 15, 2016, 06:07:43 am »
(snip)
Why o why does one have to submit a request form for Rigol firmware and then wait an arbitrary amount of time for someone at Rigol to mail back a link to the firmware??? |O |O |O

My god Rigol, will ya just make the bloody firmware readily available for direct download on the related product pages - no hiding! Please!

Just look at it as some kind of little joke.

http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

 :-DD

-- and if you think that's funny... wait until you actually install the latest firmware update. Then you'll really be laughing.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2016, 06:15:24 am by alsetalokin4017 »
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline Karel

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1666
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2089 on: April 15, 2016, 06:25:13 am »
and what about a link that unlock all teh features?
Hint: go to your favorite search engine, and type in "Riglol 1.03d".

Once you get to the page, type in your unit's S/N in the first field, type in DSER in the Options field, and leave Privatekey blank. Then click Generate. Enter the generated key into the scope, and that's it (how-to is in the .pdf manual).

Doesn't get any easier than that.  ;D
Will this work with any firmware? I'm thinking of picking a brand new one up sometime this week. Please advise. Thanks

Works fine here with the latest fw and the version before that.
 

Offline ftonello

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
  • Country: br
    • FTTENG
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2090 on: April 15, 2016, 09:57:34 am »
and what about a link that unlock all teh features?
Hint: go to your favorite search engine, and type in "Riglol 1.03d".

Once you get to the page, type in your unit's S/N in the first field, type in DSER in the Options field, and leave Privatekey blank. Then click Generate. Enter the generated key into the scope, and that's it (how-to is in the .pdf manual).

Doesn't get any easier than that.  ;D
Will this work with any firmware? I'm thinking of picking a brand new one up sometime this week. Please advise. Thanks



It did worked for me! I bought a brand new one from tequipament, one month ago. Used the DSER with no problems.
« Last Edit: April 15, 2016, 10:09:28 am by ftonello »
Hi from Brazil!!!
 

Offline Mark

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 221
  • Country: gb
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2091 on: April 19, 2016, 07:40:38 am »
One of my DS1054Z units has a problem, it won't boot, all I get is all lights on and a continuously clicking relay (at approx 5Hz).  Anyone had the same problem? 
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 134
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2092 on: April 19, 2016, 08:33:26 am »
Gremlins, I am sure !
 

Offline bitseeker

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8704
  • Country: us
  • Lots of engineer-tweakable parts inside!
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2093 on: April 19, 2016, 04:09:39 pm »
I have not heard of nor encountered a boot failure like that. If it's no longer under warranty, then it'll be interesting to see what the cause is.
I TEA.
 

Offline Fennec

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 134
  • Country: 00
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2094 on: April 19, 2016, 04:20:17 pm »
If it is no longer under warranty, I would check if it is possible to upload a new firmware via JTAG.
 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2095 on: April 19, 2016, 05:25:57 pm »
One of my DS1054Z units has a problem, it won't boot, all I get is all lights on and a continuously clicking relay (at approx 5Hz).  Anyone had the same problem?

A quick search on the interwebs revealed this:
http://www.jackenhack.com/rigol-ds1054z-oscilloscope-hangs-boot/

Only problem with the factory reset procedure is that the menu defaults to Chinese, so you'll have to change that back.
As far as they state on that post, it does retain upgrades if any were made.

Edit: but the freeze on boot on that case showed the Rigol logo so I'm not sure if it is the same problem, worth trying I think.

« Last Edit: April 19, 2016, 05:28:29 pm by miguelvp »
 

Offline ytterligare

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: it
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2096 on: April 20, 2016, 12:34:38 pm »

http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

This page points to a document that says last firmware is Version?00.04.03.02.03 Date?2015-10-20

My 1054Z came today and it says : Software Version 00.04.03.SP2


Which one is the latest ? Is it worth to update ( downgrade ?) to 00.04.03.02.03 ...?  :-//
 
Anyhow...Riglol did his duty...  8) 8)

A.
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2028
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2097 on: April 20, 2016, 11:54:53 pm »

http://beyondmeasure.rigoltech.com/acton/fs/blocks/showLandingPage/a/1579/p/p-0019/t/page/fm/0

This page points to a document that says last firmware is Version?00.04.03.02.03 Date?2015-10-20

My 1054Z came today and it says : Software Version 00.04.03.SP2


Which one is the latest ? Is it worth to update ( downgrade ?) to 00.04.03.02.03 ...?  :-//
 
Anyhow...Riglol did his duty...  8) 8)

A.

00.04.03.02.03

is the latest user-installable firmware version (the scope calls this "software version"). In the normal (partial) System Info screen this version is identified as
 
Software Version 00.04.03.SP2

You can display the _complete_ System Info screen by pressing the Trigger section buttons (extreme right hand side)  Menu-Menu-Force-Menu very fast, then Utility-System-System Info.  If you don't see the complete system info screen, keep trying, you might not be pressing the Menu-Menu-Force-Menu sequence fast enough.

It is not possible, as far as I  know, to "downgrade" or roll back to an earlier firmware (software) version once a later version is installed.

Another way to tell if you have the 00.04.03.02.03 firmware installed is if you have the Pulses and Edges counters in the Horizontal Measurements menus, and the "Pluses" spelling error when you display these as Measurements.

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2028
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2098 on: April 21, 2016, 12:04:10 am »
One of my DS1054Z units has a problem, it won't boot, all I get is all lights on and a continuously clicking relay (at approx 5Hz).  Anyone had the same problem?

A quick search on the interwebs revealed this:
http://www.jackenhack.com/rigol-ds1054z-oscilloscope-hangs-boot/

Only problem with the factory reset procedure is that the menu defaults to Chinese, so you'll have to change that back.
As far as they state on that post, it does retain upgrades if any were made.

Edit: but the freeze on boot on that case showed the Rigol logo so I'm not sure if it is the same problem, worth trying I think.

Not the same problem, no. Jackenhack is probably describing the "freeze bug" that I discovered and reported on last year, which seems to afflict many but not all DS1054z scopes with Boot Version 0.0.1.2 when certain user settings are input. Scopes with Boot Version 0.0.1.3 don't seem to suffer from this particular bug. 

Yes, it would be nice to know if the Factory Reset (5th left grey button) procedure fixes the problem Mark has.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline Skimask

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1431
  • Country: us
Re: New Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope
« Reply #2099 on: April 21, 2016, 12:06:00 am »
Do the "enhancements" described in this thread apply to the MSOxxxxZ-S versions as well?
I've got my eyes on an MSO1074Z-S or MSO1104Z-S...
« Last Edit: April 21, 2016, 12:07:46 am by Skimask »
I didn't take it apart.
I turned it on.

The only stupid question is, well, most of them...

Save a fuse...Blow an electrician.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf