Poll

Has the hackabiliy of the E4 made you buy one :  

Yes, I was already looking at the competition at a similar price, but the hack swung it to E4
238 (26.3%)
Yes, I'd not considered buying a TIC before, but 320x240 resolution at this price justifies it (as either tool or toy!)
425 (47%)
Yes, I was going to buy an E5/6/8 class of unit but will now get the E4
43 (4.8%)
No, but am looking out for a cheap i3 to hack
41 (4.5%)
Not yet, but probably will if now that a closed-box hack becomes is possible
158 (17.5%)

Total Members Voted: 780

Author Topic: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown  (Read 2633775 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline anonyman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7575 on: December 21, 2015, 12:27:33 pm »

Quote
2 Anonyman,

screw it... these pi?els, unless they are on radiometric image permanently, is not a trouble at all... they appear there because of a simple masking bug of E4 interface. One may be able to correct this, but I won't do this in my view unnecessary work associated with increased risks to ruin something important in the camera. My advise - live with that as I do :)

Advice Taken,

Thanks All for your advice.
 

Offline ElectricGuy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: pt
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7576 on: December 21, 2015, 10:27:48 pm »
hi Guys;

I think this information can be useful to someone.
I bought i few toys last week on Batter Fly.
You can see the post of the Toys here - https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/the-official-2015-christmas-pressies-thread/msg826013/#msg826013

I few days before the purchase of the Flir E4, I searched a lot on this forum about the hack, and notice the apparent difficulty of doing the hack with new firmware 2.8.0.
I notice that Batter fly had E4 in stock and i thought that could had lucky to get one with the old firmware. And yes, i was right.
The Flir E4 arrived today, and it has the 2.3.0 firmware. Now lets do the Hack.
youtube video - https://youtu.be/uGSiunW_9SI


Batter Fly E4 - http://www.batterfly.com/shop/flir-e4?filter_name=flir%20e4

Thank you!
Regards
ElectricGuy
 

Offline anonyman

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: us
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7577 on: December 22, 2015, 06:50:25 am »
CONFIRMED!!

I'm down to 2.3.0. I also took picks from the previous version. I won't post them publicly.

Matmoe is the MAN.  :clap: Repeat. Matmoe is the man.  :clap:

I would follow Matmoe's directions. Read them carefully.

I used Window XP 32bit  SP3 and Fl tools 4xxxxxxx.

It took me about 2 hours to get the nerves to do it and then it took around 15 mins for the work.

Now I will be working on step two tonight.



UPDATE:  DONE.



« Last Edit: December 23, 2015, 10:28:41 am by anonyman »
 

Offline matmoe

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: de
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7578 on: December 22, 2015, 04:27:05 pm »
 ;D  :-+
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15059
  • Country: za
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7579 on: December 22, 2015, 05:10:33 pm »
Tried in a VM, but no go, so now doing Windows update on a copy on bare metal that has not been booted since 2009, so I can get SP3 for it. Apparently the tools need SP3 to install, otherwise they fail in an endless restart required loop.
 

Offline matmoe

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 19
  • Country: de
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7580 on: December 22, 2015, 08:13:16 pm »
For your information. I used Windows 10 64Bit for Downgrade. I onlystill have problems with rndis network connections after restarting the camera, also on Win7 64.
 

Offline LizardLik

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: ua
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7581 on: December 22, 2015, 11:26:51 pm »
Hello everybody! :) I have a very important question. Last year I bought Flir E6. Can I also flash it as E4? :scared:
 

Offline Solare

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 134
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7582 on: December 23, 2015, 01:10:39 am »
Certainly, you can NOT.

But you can re-flash it as FLIR E6 :)

Seriously, what hardware/ software versions do you have? Pls. take a look in the menu and write us about the details.
 

Offline LizardLik

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: ua
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7583 on: December 23, 2015, 08:48:12 am »
Quote
Seriously, what hardware/ software versions do you have? Pls. take a look in the menu and write us about the details.

Model: E6 1.2L
Serial number: 6393XXXX
Software: 2.3.0
 

Offline Solare

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 134
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7584 on: December 23, 2015, 11:17:50 am »
Yes I believe this cam can be hacked with the latest hack to get 320x240 resolution. Although, the hack was designed for the E4, so there are potential problems of incompatibility. If you are handy, you can adapt one, and then install the extended menu. However, if you are not too experienced I recommend that somebody help you.
 

Offline ElectricGuy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: pt
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7585 on: December 23, 2015, 02:14:45 pm »
The Flir E4 arrived today, and it has the 2.3.0 firmware. Now lets do the Hack.

Hack Done! Used Win32 Xp.

Now back to the Windows 8.1, installed Flir IR Camera Player 2.3.5, but it can't get image. Anyone with this problem?
Is it possible to record the live stream video with flir tools?

Thanks
Thank you!
Regards
ElectricGuy
 

Offline bookaboo

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 603
  • Country: ie
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7586 on: December 23, 2015, 02:36:07 pm »
Flir Tools should live stream any E4 via USB. Check you didn't leave the camera in RNDIS mode.
 

Offline ElectricGuy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: pt
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7587 on: December 23, 2015, 02:53:14 pm »
Flir Tools should live stream any E4 via USB. Check you didn't leave the camera in RNDIS mode.

Yes, i can get live stream from flir tools, my question is if it is possible to record the live stream?
Thank you!
Regards
ElectricGuy
 

Offline bookaboo

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 603
  • Country: ie
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7588 on: December 23, 2015, 03:28:37 pm »
I *think* recording mode is just for E30-E60. Another user came up with this a while back:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/capturing-video-from-flir-e4-to-portable-device/msg365918/#msg365918

That said a UVC stream should be able to be captured using something on your normal PC, never tried it though.
« Last Edit: December 23, 2015, 03:31:19 pm by bookaboo »
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15059
  • Country: za
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7589 on: December 23, 2015, 03:39:04 pm »
Live stream does record with VLC, it is just another video device to it.
 

Offline ElectricGuy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: pt
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7590 on: December 23, 2015, 03:41:37 pm »
Live stream does record with VLC, it is just another video device to it.

humm.. interesting.... i will check this!
Thank you!
Regards
ElectricGuy
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15059
  • Country: za
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7591 on: December 23, 2015, 03:52:32 pm »
Live stream does record with VLC, it is just another video device to it.

humm.. interesting.... i will check this!

Here we go, did a quick one. Zipped to avoid the annoying filename quirks of SMF. Just extract the inner file, which did not compress at all.
 

Offline ElectricGuy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: pt
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7592 on: December 23, 2015, 03:55:43 pm »
Live stream does record with VLC, it is just another video device to it.

humm.. interesting.... i will check this!

Here we go, did a quick one. Zipped to avoid the annoying filename quirks of SMF. Just extract the inner file, which did not compress at all.

thans for you rtime SeanB.

Are you using USB ou RNDIS?
Thank you!
Regards
ElectricGuy
 

Offline SeanB

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 15059
  • Country: za
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7593 on: December 23, 2015, 04:06:39 pm »
Plain USB, though I am using Linux, where the camera shows up as a video device naturally. Still have to get it running properly on Windows, looks like i will have to dig up a Win7 instance instead of the XP one, which I only use when absolutely needed. Hint, it was last booted in 2009 according to the logs......
 

Offline ElectricGuy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: pt
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7594 on: December 23, 2015, 04:09:37 pm »
Plain USB, though I am using Linux, where the camera shows up as a video device naturally. Still have to get it running properly on Windows, looks like i will have to dig up a Win7 instance instead of the XP one, which I only use when absolutely needed. Hint, it was last booted in 2009 according to the logs......

I'm at work, but as soon i get to home i will try in win 8.1 and them i give feedback!
Thank you!
Regards
ElectricGuy
 

Offline solarforce

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: 00
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7595 on: December 23, 2015, 04:45:08 pm »
My E4 works with Flir IR camera player. I'm using Windows 7 64bit ( i used it to hack my camer too, and it works, i do it several times :)).
But the captured video is mirrored, i don't know why.
 

Offline VincentJ

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: fi
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7596 on: December 23, 2015, 05:19:12 pm »
I bought my E4 today and sucsesfully downgraded to 2.3.0 from factory installed 2.8.0. Then I followed http://fubar.gr/hacking-the-flir-e4/ instructions and semibricked my E4 meaning it never showed in ipconfig and now its not showing in any program. I think I killed its USB interface. E4 works fine but I can't get USB connection establish. I think its stuck on Set_RNDIS_permament.fif.
It only shows up in Device manager (see pic.)

Can someone help?  :-BROKE :-\

EDIT/UPDATE:

Everything is fine now, I just forget to install driver pack... Now I have E4 fully updated to E8 specs and resolution!
Thank You guys for your hard work!  :-+

« Last Edit: December 23, 2015, 08:01:23 pm by VincentJ »
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3330
  • Country: ca
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7597 on: December 23, 2015, 07:12:17 pm »
Try disconnecting your computer from the network to avoid possible IP address conflict, then connect the camera and check with ipconfig if you have camera IP now showing. If it is there you then can connect to the camera via ftp and delete file

flashfs/system/appcore.d/factory.d/zrndis.rsc

This will return the camera to USB mode after reboot.

Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline Sofia

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7598 on: December 23, 2015, 07:12:40 pm »
I bought my E4 today and sucsesfully downgraded to 2.3.0 from factory installed 2.8.0. Then I followed http://fubar.gr/hacking-the-flir-e4/ instructions and semibricked my E4 meaning it never showed in ipconfig and now its not showing in any program. I think I killed its USB interface. E4 works fine but I can't get USB connection establish. I think its stuck on Set_RNDIS_permament.fif.
It only shows up in Device manager (see pic.)

Can someone help?  :-BROKE :-\



Restore factory settings in the camera you tried?
 

Offline ElectricGuy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 238
  • Country: pt
Re: Flir E4 Thermal imaging camera teardown
« Reply #7599 on: December 23, 2015, 08:02:21 pm »
Plain USB, though I am using Linux, where the camera shows up as a video device naturally. Still have to get it running properly on Windows, looks like i will have to dig up a Win7 instance instead of the XP one, which I only use when absolutely needed. Hint, it was last booted in 2009 according to the logs......

I'm at work, but as soon i get to home i will try in win 8.1 and them i give feedback!

SeanB, I got it. It worked well in VLC. Thanks
Thank you!
Regards
ElectricGuy
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf