Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10 Next
Power/Renewable Energy/EV's / Re: Totem Pole PFC is over-hyped?
« Last post by Faringdon on Today at 07:00:54 pm »
Sounds like you are fighting some good winning battles in getting it working.
You say you need bidi, and yes, for this reason the Totem pole PFC sounds good.

Otherwise, at 3.3kW , i wonder how much more efficient that would be when compared to a Dual interleaved PFC with UCC28070?
https://www.ti.com/product/UCC28070

...thats two PFC's each with  just 4.125A of output current.

Make the rectifier bridge synchronous and its even more efficient.
I doubt the totem pole is going to be much , if at all, more efficient than that.
Beginners / Oscilloscope recommendation
« Last post by CAG on Today at 06:59:52 pm »
Hey all, new user, not proficient with the search function, apologies in advance.
I'm an automotive mechanic by trade. I have recently been tasked with dealing with all the more complex electrical diag work at the shop. I have limited experience with an oscilloscope. I know only the bear bones basics. Time to get one for myself, mostly for work but I'm also interested in some hobby electronics stuff and audio signal analysis. The pico scopes are popular in my trade but the price and need for a laptop turn me off. I hoping to stay under $800 or so. Looking hard at the rigol 800 and 900 4ch scopes. Looking for opinions from anyone in a similar situation. Based on my understanding the rigol has more than enough bandwidth and voltage limits for automotive testing. The 900 peaks my interest mostly due to double the memory. Some of the tests I will be doing will not require very fast sample rate but would be helpful to be able to record a signal for a longer time. Is it possible to dial down sample rate and increase recorded signal time on the rigol? Is there a formula so I can work out how long I can record/view at a given sample rate? Does this question even make sense? Lastly should I be looking at a diffe