Author Topic: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers  (Read 256173 times)

maximevince and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 581
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1175 on: July 02, 2020, 01:23:19 pm »
The uImage file to reflash that portion with can be extracted from any of their firmware files

This one is from 2.2.1.2.5
 
The following users thanked this post: Precut

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1591
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1176 on: July 02, 2020, 03:55:26 pm »
So, the contents of MTD1 (kernel) is the uImage file that Elasia shared.

You go in uboot and flash that file in the MTD1 address.

That will solve the Kernel problem. Then send the boot log to see how it ends.
 
The following users thanked this post: Elasia, Precut

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 581
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1177 on: July 02, 2020, 10:29:41 pm »
So, the contents of MTD1 (kernel) is the uImage file that Elasia shared.

You go in uboot and flash that file in the MTD1 address.

That will solve the Kernel problem. Then send the boot log to see how it ends.

I suspect that will take care of it.. as the fact that its corrupt should mean he either stopped it or it crashed mid flash of that partition and the others should be ok

Then if his program partition is full that can be easily fixed up with some basic clean up like i had to do
 
The following users thanked this post: Precut

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1178 on: July 03, 2020, 04:45:49 pm »
Here are 2 ZIPs with the stock firmwares of both SVA and SSA (latest versions).  I unpacked the .ADS files for you.

Below is the NAND map of the SSA X+:
[attachimg=1]

Study the stuff.

(Maybe you can ask someone to send you their NAND dump and you flash the necessary MTDs.)
Everything works like a charm. Big thumb up to you! :-+
« Last Edit: July 03, 2020, 04:49:11 pm by Precut »
 

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1179 on: July 03, 2020, 04:48:09 pm »
So, the contents of MTD1 (kernel) is the uImage file that Elasia shared.

You go in uboot and flash that file in the MTD1 address.

That will solve the Kernel problem. Then send the boot log to see how it ends.

I suspect that will take care of it.. as the fact that its corrupt should mean he either stopped it or it crashed mid flash of that partition and the others should be ok

Then if his program partition is full that can be easily fixed up with some basic clean up like i had to do
Yes, it boots normally after flashing MTD1.  :-+
 

Offline Elasia

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 581
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1180 on: July 03, 2020, 05:12:52 pm »
Good job, glad to hear
 
The following users thanked this post: Precut

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1591
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1181 on: July 03, 2020, 05:54:55 pm »
Everything works like a charm. Big thumb up to you! :-+

You owe us a beer!  :popcorn: 

Now, go slowly and do the crossflash as required.   ;)
 
The following users thanked this post: tautech, Precut

Online TurboTom

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 783
  • Country: de
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1182 on: July 03, 2020, 09:39:01 pm »
Beforehand, it would be a good idea to back up all the FLASH partitions, especially the firmdata0 one since it contains the calibration data. After that, you can commence much more relaxed withe the task of "improving" your instrument...  ;)
 
The following users thanked this post: tv84, Precut

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1183 on: July 04, 2020, 02:00:10 pm »
Everything works like a charm. Big thumb up to you! :-+

You owe us a beer!  :popcorn: 

Now, go slowly and do the crossflash as required.   ;)
Certainly  :clap: :popcorn:

BTW, after uboot loading the kernel image, login is needed. blank user name and password do not play trick here... any hints?
 

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1184 on: July 04, 2020, 02:06:53 pm »
wanna find a "untouched" version of rootfs.cramfs to flash/reset mtd5 partition in my ssa. does it come with FW?  Thx
 

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1185 on: July 08, 2020, 01:54:40 pm »
Just update my progress. After several rounds of trials, my SSA eventually becomes a 3.2GHz band of SSA and SVA hybrid. Many thanks to tv84, elasia and folks.

But before the ultimate conversion, my SSA went bricked again. This time is due to missing of some critical files (ecomb_p, vncserver etc) and directories (/usr/bin/siglent/usr/*) under /usr/bin/siglent (mtd7). The kernel was loaded successfully but it stuck in the splash screen. Telnetd did not work as the "Firmware Update" menu could not be reached. Badly, these files were also missing in my mtd7 backup image ... :palm: 

Since the filesystem of mtd7 is UBIFS, the only solution came to my mind is to mount the mtd7 backup image on a linux box, and extract the missing files from the stock FW and copy them back to mtd7. After tons of hassles, my SSA becomes functional again. :phew:

Interestingly, I didn't rename ecomb_p to ecomb; just did the rename-to-x and licence blocks tricks. Currently, vsftp and udc-xilinx.ko are still missing in my SSA but everything just goes fine. :-DD
« Last Edit: July 08, 2020, 01:58:53 pm by Precut »
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1591
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1186 on: July 08, 2020, 02:03:00 pm »
I think you don't have a reliable setup. You didn't follow the instructions correctly or else you wouldn't be in such troubles.

In order to verify that all is correct, try to upgrade the equipment with the latest stock SVA firmware.
 

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1187 on: July 08, 2020, 02:08:34 pm »
I think you don't have a reliable setup. You didn't follow the instructions correctly or else you wouldn't be in such troubles.

In order to verify that all is correct, try to upgrade the equipment with the latest stock SVA firmware.

I did the firmware update again right after the SSA resumes function. The missing files are still missing however...
 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1591
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1188 on: July 08, 2020, 02:13:30 pm »
Don't call it SSA. Now you should call it SVA.   :)

The files are not in these latest FWs. You add them manually or will have to wait for a FW that contains that part of the filesystem.

Don't understand why you didn't reflash the whole MTD7 from uboot...  :-//
 

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1189 on: July 09, 2020, 02:03:20 am »
I did reflash the mtd7 from uboot but the files was still missing. I found these files are also missing in my backup mtd7 image. Don't ask me why. ???  :palm:  Indeed, I only backup (not nanddump) the whole filesystem from telnet before trying my first attempt of FW update.

To fix the problem, I had to fix my backup mtd7 image. The simplest solution was to ask you all to share with me an untouched mtd7 image and reflash it. I didn't do so simply because I wanna fix it by myself first.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2020, 03:04:56 am by Precut »
 

Offline tomud

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: pl
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1190 on: July 09, 2020, 11:00:44 pm »
I did reflash the mtd7 from uboot but the files was still missing. I found these files are also missing in my backup mtd7 image. Don't ask me why. ???  :palm:  Indeed, I only backup (not nanddump) the whole filesystem from telnet before trying my first attempt of FW update.

To fix the problem, I had to fix my backup mtd7 image. The simplest solution was to ask you all to share with me an untouched mtd7 image and reflash it. I didn't do so simply because I wanna fix it by myself first.

http://lantech.pl/SSA3000X_Plus/mtd7
 
The following users thanked this post: Precut

Offline Joel_l

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1191 on: July 10, 2020, 01:19:57 am »
Does post #963 still work with the latest shipping SSA3021X Plus?
 

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1192 on: July 10, 2020, 12:25:39 pm »
Does post #963 still work with the latest shipping SSA3021X Plus?
Yes, works like a charm.  :-+

P.S.shipped directly from SZ and received it by the end of June.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2020, 05:28:57 pm by Precut »
 

Offline Joel_l

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 242
  • Country: us
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1193 on: July 10, 2020, 02:21:20 pm »
What was the stock firmware version yours shipped with?
Thanks!

Does post #963 still work with the latest shipping SSA3021X Plus?
Yes, works like a charm.  :-+

P.S. My SSA was shipped directly from SZ. I received it by the end of June.
 

Offline Precut

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 16
  • Country: tw
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1194 on: July 10, 2020, 05:31:25 pm »
2.2.1.2.7
 

Offline MathWizard

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 114
  • Country: ca
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1195 on: July 11, 2020, 07:11:29 am »
Someday I'll probably be getting 1 of these. If scopes in general have way more features than they did in the 1980s, what all extras are on modern digital SA ?
 

Offline brokeit

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1196 on: July 14, 2020, 05:05:44 pm »
So, Long time lurker but first poster. Awesome work going on here!

I'm rather ashamed my first is to ask for help.... but here goes!

Just got my hands on a SSA3021X Plus.

Used SSA3000X_Pluas_telnet.ADS to gain telnet access, no issue.

Followed  post #963, including adding the telnet line. No issues. Had to remount rw to edit the files  and did some syncs (and indeed remounted ro) before I rebooted.

Used reboot on the command line and the box came back up.

Used the system -> firmware update menu to upgraded to SVA1032X_2.2.1.2.5_EN from siglentna.com.

Box reboots, and comes back up, no issues. It did seem to reboot twice, but don't know if thats just a normal part of the upgrade process or not.

Going to System -> System Info I now says it's a SSA3032XPlus ! (Not an SVA!)
SW1 2.2.1.2.5
SW2 20191022-5
SW3 000000D4
HW 00.00.00

Options are all Time limited except TG, which was Permanent out of the box.

Hitting Span full span only goes to 2.1G even though it now thinks it's a SSA3032!

Now the mode button Does include Vector Network Analyzer and Distance To Fault but both of these are greyed out. I'm pretty sure these are not there at all before hand.

The thing that's stopping me dig into this further is that despite adding the telnetd line it didn't come back with telnet working.  The SSA3000X_Plus_telnet.ADS trick no longer works.

Is there anyway I can get back into this without opening up for a serial console ?

I could try repeating the upgrade. Not sure if it would even let me upgrade to the same version?


Shout if I can provide more info.
Thanks!

~
Mike

 

Online tv84

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1591
  • Country: pt
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1197 on: July 14, 2020, 05:27:49 pm »
Going to System -> System Info I now says it's a SSA3032XPlus ! (Not an SVA!)

All is good. The machine is a SVA but shows previous model. No problem there as it has no consequences and I'm not in the mood for photoshop ops.

The procedure that is public doesn't include the licensing of the options. ;)

The telnetd line was a backup plan before the crossflash operation. After you finish crossflash, that script is replaced by the stock one.

You have changed the equipment to SVA so, now, you must use the telnet script for a SVA machine.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2020, 05:41:04 pm by tv84 »
 

Offline brokeit

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1198 on: July 14, 2020, 06:46:54 pm »
Hi tv84,

Thanks for the pointer, I'm back in the console.

I must have misunderstood, I thought the 3GHz span was a done deal on the pluses. Kind of sucks as I need it for 2.4GHz work  :palm: (there's probably a moral to that story).

I'll have a dig around but need to make some serious backups first.

~
Mike
 

Offline brokeit

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: gb
Re: Siglent SSA3000X and SSA3000X-Plus Spectrum Analyzers
« Reply #1199 on: July 14, 2020, 07:07:26 pm »
Ok, terrible form replying to myself but I've got it up and running with 3.1GHz span and options just with a XXX serial number.

That'll do for now but not sure what a legit firmware upgrade would do to that. I think I'd be reverting it first unless anyone knows otherwise.

~
Mike
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf